We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Christmas”
Review of Hotel Alpenruh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpenruh
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the Alpenruh over Christmas of 2010. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and willing to help with anything you needed or wanted. The location could not have been better. We also paid for the dinners upfront and glad we did. The food was great and it was nice not having to try to find a place to eat ontop of the mountain at the end of a day of skiing. I would recommend staying here to anyone and would love to visit again myself.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB-TTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBrotschi, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear KB-TTU

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences.

We are glad that you have enjoyed Christmas and the stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our dining offers.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel is conveniently located a stones throw away from the Murren gondola so it was great to step off the gondola and into the warmth of the hotel. Clean hotel with everything you need. We opted for the double room with a balcony facing the mountains. I feel you would be disappointed and be missing out on the scenic aspect of Murren if you didn't get a mountain facing room as really that's what you go up to the mountains to see - the mountains themselves! We loved sitting on the balcony taking in the views of the snow capped mountains drinking some red wine and eating Swiss cheese.

The room was extremely clean and big enough for a weekend getaway. Comfy bed although bad pillows. Basic in what it offered in terms of bathroom accessiories and no kettle but that wasn't an issue and certainly not a deal breaker. The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

It seems we went in shoulder season so there was nothing open, and I mean next to nothing. Two restaurants, one being the hotels restaurant/cafe next to the gondola, and a little supermarket. Most of the hotels were shut as were pubs and even sourvenior shops. I wish we had of realised this as we would have picked a slightly busier town - so suggestion is to be conscious of the time of year you're going and the type of holiday you want.

The walks around Murren were lovely and with everything being shut it was very quiet and peaceful.

Food was very expensive, at least in the 2 places which were open, and nothing to write home about. The supermarket had a great range and prices fine so I do suggest grabbing some things from there and having a picnic on your balcony and taking in the view.

Although it may sound quite involved (and expensive) getting to Murren the actual trip up and back is pictureseque so you really don't mind. From Zurich it's almost 3 hours and involves a few trains, a bus and a gondola. Despite this it was much nicer staying in the moutains as opposed to staying at the base of the mountanis in Interlarken.

Room Tip: Mountain facing balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreeHassanein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I chose this hotel in Murren because of good reviews online. It was clean and pretty, with friendly staff and comfortable beds. The view of the 3 mountains from the window and balcony was lovely. The only negative for me was that my room was downstairs and I heard a lot of noisy footsteps along the verandah upstairs (leading past the restaurant). The hotel is right next door to the station for the Schiltorn cable car, and a short walk from the train/tram station (wouldn't be easy with large suitcases at some times of year I think, but I read somewhere that the hotel can arrange transport on request). Yes, Switzerland is expensive, especially the food, but I got a good deal with bed and breakfast at this hotel and was very happy with the experience. Murren and the Schiltorn definitely worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room - quieter if not under the restaurant/balcony. The view is better the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronnie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

For those planning a trip to Lauterbrunnen or Murren, Switzerland during a non-ski season, the Hotel Alpenruh should be given great consideration. Being more than a mile-high makes travel a bit complicated and costly - one can only get to Murren via one of the two aerial trams that take you to the top of this valley. It's a stunning trip but one must pay more than 10 CHF per-person, each leg. The Alpenruh is just a 60 second walk from the tram and easy to find. The rooms, as noted by nearly all of the reviewers are clean and quite compact. The beds were comfortable but the room (on our early-May) stay was very warm which was not comfortable. Our room was on a large balcony with an incredible view, as do the restaurant, bar and breakfast areas which are more comfortable to spend time. The desk staff is friendly, but in the Swiss manner - the servers in the restaurant seemed annoyed with whatever requests we made. The included breakfasts were good, but not lavish, and our dinner of local sausage at the hotel was delicious although like everything else currently in Switzerland - VERY pricey for what it was. Which ultimately, is the biggest challenge when one travels to Switzerland today. The price one pays to see the Alps is quite high - now that we have spent a few days in the area and enjoyed the beauty and hikes, we would be hard pressed to return to Murren. If you've never been to the area - than the Alpenruh delivers a convenient and comfortable way to be in the midst of the Alps for those willing to pay for it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joepure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Hotel Alpenruh was cozy and hospitable. The rooms were nice, comfy and clean - not very large, but not a big deal. The bathrooms were also very clean.

The spa is worth reserving for a fun activity - they will set the timer for you and you make a reservation so no one else can use it.

Much was closed in the town when we were there, but it was still a great time. The restaurant was under renovations during our stay, so we ate at the restaurant near the cable car for the "included" breakfast. We liked it there and chose to dine for dinner as well.

This hotel and town are in such a magical, relaxing location. I can't wait to go back for a summer stay.

Definitely do the hike to Gimmelwald, but pack lunch and know that the hike back is all uphill!!!

Oh, and if you take the train to the village of Murren (as oppossed to arriving via cablecar), be prepared to drag your suitcase through the snow if you didn't bring a backpack! haha, it was funny.

I loved the fresh water springs throughout the main street - fun to fill up for a refreshing drink.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarjorieSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This was the second time we came here. We loved the cosy atmosphere and the food. The people are friendly and do whatever they can to help. We were not disappointed but the rooms and beds can be better for that price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris065063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We so enjoyed 5 nights at the Alpenruh! It is a charming and well-run establishment. We had 2 rooms for 5 adults. One of the rooms was a bit small but had a small balcony with the incredible views that everyone goes to Murren for. The staff and owners couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating, especially when we asked to extend our stay for one extra night. The location and views are ideal.There is a large terrace at which I could have happily spent most of our days, just gazing across the valley to the other side and its amazing mountains. We can't wait to someday go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlastkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenruh

Address: Eggli 954B | Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range: £129 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenruh 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style holiday hotel with comfortable rooms, stylish restaurants and large sunny terrace. Arrival by car via Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen to Stechelberg (large parking area). Then take the cable car to Murren (Schilthornbahn). Arrival by train via Interlaken Ost to Lauterbrunnen and there by post bus to Stechelberg's cable car Station (Schilthornbahn). Then take the cable car to Murren. The Hotel Alpenruh is located at only one minute walking distance from the cable car staion Mürren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alpenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing