We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food only review: Hotel Alpenruh”
Review of Hotel Alpenruh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenruh
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food only review: Hotel Alpenruh”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The portion sizes are good, but the food was overly salty/not particularly tasty. The restaurant staff have a rather rude and non-professional attitude in general, but in particular when I asked about the wait time for a table in the shade. One staff member who wasn't involved in the discussion made noises indicating that she thought it was a stupid question to ask. When I commented to her about it, her response and attitude were equally non-professional. There are several hotel and restaurant options even in this small and amazingly beautiful village; I suggest to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBrotschi, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Matt G

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences.

We can not reconstruct this incident and it certainly does not describe how we treat our guests. Please contact us so we can resolve this case directly.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    79
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
50
123
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. It's a hotel where you are made to feel comfortable and relaxed and we noticed several guests travelling alone who looked very comfortable in the hotel environment. The four-course meals were excellent and varied. The view from the room was stunning, overlooking the mountain range with a spacious balcony. As previously stated in other reviews the transport communications are extremely convenient, right next to the cable car station. The manager is more than happy to help advise on which trains, etc to get in order to reach Murren from the airport. Email contact with the hotel prior to your stay is handled in a very efficient and helpful manner. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit this lovely Swiss village.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room facing the mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoozing_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBrotschi, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Snoozing_Cat

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the kitchen met your desires.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I don't think the gentleman who owns this property ever sleeps. He was there to check us in and help with our bags; he was there in the dining room at dinner time, and he was there to be sure our breakfast was good.

The room was OK/nice (we took the most expensive room-option) but the reason this place gets 5 stars is not about the room. We just had fabulous, fabulous service from the owner who was at the front desk.

The room (again, the most expensive) had OK roominess by European standards. A lovely deck overlooking the Alps. There was a small fridge for the great cheeses one can buy at the nearby COOP.

The place is very convenient to the cable-car, and only about a ten minute walk to the train.

The nice owner who is always attendant made this a fabulous place and i'd go back in a second.

The dinner was definitely five-star. Very good Swiss food for reasonable (by Swiss standards) prices. Great local wines. Dinner was about U.S.$130 for two.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cessnapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBrotschi, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Cessnapilot

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the helpfulness of the staff.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Even though we stayed here at the dead-end of the winter/spring season - the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had a great balcony overlooking the valley. The location of the hotel is great for skiiers - it's practically on the lift!

The food in the restaurant was delightful. Local ingredients and cuisine (not just cheese) allowed us to get a taste of the alps during our stay.

The only downside is the mattresses on the bed. Two singles pushed together do not make a queen or even a double. I've seen this in other European hotels - it's uncomfortable for those of us who like to snuggle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBrotschi, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Gustavius

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and apologize of not having met your expectations for the beds.

Your feedback gives us the chance to improve our service continuously and to fulfil the wishes of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Literally steps from the cable car/tram. Tidy, efficient, Swiss clean. This is not resort quality but it matters not in Murren because it's Murren and not much else matters but the scenery and people. Rooms are smallish ... Book mountain view room .... Worth it. Desk staff very very friendly and helpful (changed my room upon request). Warm comfort food. Note: take the tram! If you arrive by the train, this is on the opposite side of the village. No wifi ... But who cares because it's Murren.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeryclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBrotschi, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Emeryclare

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your impressions.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and apologize for the WiFi not being working during your stay. We are not able to reconstruct this case, but WiFi is usually available in the hotel.

Your feedback gives us the chance to improve our service continuously and to fulfil the wishes of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the Alpenruh over Christmas of 2010. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and willing to help with anything you needed or wanted. The location could not have been better. We also paid for the dinners upfront and glad we did. The food was great and it was nice not having to try to find a place to eat ontop of the mountain at the end of a day of skiing. I would recommend staying here to anyone and would love to visit again myself.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB-TTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBrotschi, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear KB-TTU

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences.

We are glad that you have enjoyed Christmas and the stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our dining offers.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel is conveniently located a stones throw away from the Murren gondola so it was great to step off the gondola and into the warmth of the hotel. Clean hotel with everything you need. We opted for the double room with a balcony facing the mountains. I feel you would be disappointed and be missing out on the scenic aspect of Murren if you didn't get a mountain facing room as really that's what you go up to the mountains to see - the mountains themselves! We loved sitting on the balcony taking in the views of the snow capped mountains drinking some red wine and eating Swiss cheese.

The room was extremely clean and big enough for a weekend getaway. Comfy bed although bad pillows. Basic in what it offered in terms of bathroom accessiories and no kettle but that wasn't an issue and certainly not a deal breaker. The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

It seems we went in shoulder season so there was nothing open, and I mean next to nothing. Two restaurants, one being the hotels restaurant/cafe next to the gondola, and a little supermarket. Most of the hotels were shut as were pubs and even sourvenior shops. I wish we had of realised this as we would have picked a slightly busier town - so suggestion is to be conscious of the time of year you're going and the type of holiday you want.

The walks around Murren were lovely and with everything being shut it was very quiet and peaceful.

Food was very expensive, at least in the 2 places which were open, and nothing to write home about. The supermarket had a great range and prices fine so I do suggest grabbing some things from there and having a picnic on your balcony and taking in the view.

Although it may sound quite involved (and expensive) getting to Murren the actual trip up and back is pictureseque so you really don't mind. From Zurich it's almost 3 hours and involves a few trains, a bus and a gondola. Despite this it was much nicer staying in the moutains as opposed to staying at the base of the mountanis in Interlarken.

Room Tip: Mountain facing balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreeHassanein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#7 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenruh

Property: Hotel Alpenruh
Address: Eggli 954B | Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenruh 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style holiday hotel with comfortable rooms, stylish restaurants and large sunny terrace. Arrival by car via Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen to Stechelberg (large parking area). Then take the cable car to Murren (Schilthornbahn). Arrival by train via Interlaken Ost to Lauterbrunnen and there by post bus to Stechelberg's cable car Station (Schilthornbahn). Then take the cable car to Murren. The Hotel Alpenruh is located at only one minute walking distance from the cable car staion Mürren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing