We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a vieuw”
Review of Hotel Alpenruh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenruh
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“what a vieuw”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We staid for 4 night in this Hotel. The Hotel is located next to the cableway and has an amazing vieuw. We had a good room with a beautiful vieuw. From our bed we saw the mountain Jungfrau und eiger. Pitty the bar Closes early , 22.00H, Special thanks goes to mss Muller who gave us great advises for trips in the surrounding and was always helpfull. We had a great stay in Murren.
Perry and Ann, Houston, USA.

Room Tip: Take a breakfast in the Restaurant PIZ Gloria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riek0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    81
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
124
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Murren itself is a picture postcard resort, a small village made up of timber houses and a few hotels, . situated at approximately 5000 feet in the Swiss Alps, with stunning views of the best of the mountains. The Hotel Alpenruh is on the edge of the village with views directly over the Jungfrau, Monch and Eiger mountains, when we weren't walking in the area, we were very happy just to sit on our balcony overlooking this spectacular view. The food is very good - the breakfast is a buffet breakfast with a good choice of typical Swiss fare such as bread, meats and cheeses as well as the normal cereals and fruit; the dinner is a 4 course meal with a very varied selection through the week that we there, with the quality of each course on each dinner being excellent. The package that we had also included a packed lunch which was simple but good - a choice of a hearty sandwich, some fruit and of course chocolate! The package that we had also included one breakfast in the Schiltorn restaurant... ...this was fantastic and one of the highlights of our week. The service from all the staff was first class, although the hotel manager was a bit too typically Swiss in that he could work a bit more on his patter and geniality! This was our second visit to this hotel and it certainly won't be our last.

Room Tip: rooms on the south have the mountain view, the ones on the north don't have any view. The higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel Alpenruh is a wonderful choice for a convenient, beautiful hotel in Murren. It's located at the end of town, with jaw-dropping views of the Alps, particularly from its restaurant, which offers meals that are competitively priced for Murren, and are delicious. Try the local speciality: rosti. It's the best hash brown potatoes you'll ever taste, with choices of veggies, or cheese, or other add-ons.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and very nice. It's a great spot after a long day of hiking to return to, kick off your hiking boots, and settle in on the patio of the restaurant for a meal and the best views in the world. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the cable car that takes you up to the mountains where you can choose from several gorgeous hikes, and is adjacent to another cable car that takes you to the "James Bond" restaurant. I'd highly recommend this hotel. And Murren is a wonderful destination: terrific hikes and much less touristy than its sister city across the Lauterbrunnen Valley, Wengen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed in Hotel Alpenruh almost 15 years ago, whilst on a family holiday and it always stuck in my mind as exactly how I expected Switzerland to be. Fast forward to last month and I decided to stay a couple of nights in there with my girlfriend whilst on holiday. The entire way there I was nervous that my childhood memories would be ruined but I'm very pleased to say that the magic I remembered is still well and truly in the air. Of course Murren itself and the entire Lauterbrunnen valley have to take a fair bit of the credit for this as the area remains one of them most stunning places I've ever been to, and I'm quite well travelled.

That said, Hotel Alpenruh itself stands out from the crowd of boring, larger hotels in the village simply by having a genuine atmosphere. The timber framed building looks like a swiss chalet should, the staff are all so smiley and friendly and you really do get a personal service. The restaurant is charming and the food hearty and delicious, made from local ingredients, just what you need after a day's hard hiking/skiing/boarding. I was there on a couply holiday with a bit of walking and we had a fabulous time all in all. I'd imagine it would also be perfect for ski tourists who want something more genuine than the faceless chain hotels.

Tip 1: They have a deal on with Piz Gloria (the rotating restaurant atop the Schilthorn) to swap one of your breakfasts in the hotel for a breakfast there. Take them up on it! You have to pay for the cable car up there which isn't cheap (though nothing in Switzerland is) but you won't regret it. We had breakfast there and it was one of the highlights of our whole trip

Tip 2: Get one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the valley. It's so so worth the extra you pay. Best balcony view I've ever had.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lovely Hotel in the Swiss alps. No cars allowed. Arrival in the village of Murren via Train or cable car. Hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. Beautiful views of the mountains. Excelent choice of Food which is well cooked and presented. Plenty of choices for simple walks or for the fitter hill walking. Recommend the breakfast on Schildhorn - but needs to be a good clear day to enjoy the most.This can be booked through the Hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CH-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We liked:

- the (male) owner. He was really helpful and seemed to care that his guests were having a good time. he recommended the Schilthorn breakfast trip but warned us to check the webcam in our room first (Channel 1) as without the views it would hardly be worth it. We went on a cloudless day and were entranced. The breakfast was a huge hot and cold buffet (including waffles) and was delicious. We sipped coffee and stayed for almost three hours, watching the mountains as the restaurant revolved and spending time outside on the viewing platform.

- the outside terrace. It was a great place for coffee or tea or evening drinks.

- the food. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent. The latter was on a half board basis and was five courses including soup and pudding.

- the fridge in the room

- the girl who served us - blonde with glasses. Very sweet and helpful.

Not so keen:

- the cramped room (but it was just a standard double) looking across to the street. It was very stuffy but if you opened the windows the nets opened too and everyone could see you from the street a few feet away. We just had to remember to put a dressing gown on.

We would go back there but probably pay for a better room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in mid June. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Bread and rolls from the local bakery. meat from the local butcher. Great views of the mountains from the balcony and the restaurant. This is a very good place to stay if you are in Murren.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#7 of 11 in Murren
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blumental Murren
Hotel Blumental Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenruh

Property: Hotel Alpenruh
Address: Eggli 954B | Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenruh 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style holiday hotel with comfortable rooms, stylish restaurants and large sunny terrace. Arrival by car via Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen to Stechelberg (large parking area). Then take the cable car to Murren (Schilthornbahn). Arrival by train via Interlaken Ost to Lauterbrunnen and there by post bus to Stechelberg's cable car Station (Schilthornbahn). Then take the cable car to Murren. The Hotel Alpenruh is located at only one minute walking distance from the cable car staion Mürren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing