We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little bit of heaven on earth”
Review of Hotel Alpenruh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpenruh
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a little bit of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

what a lovely little hotel in the swiss alps, ideally situated next to the cable car station. A great little all day cafe/bar where you can sit on the balcony & watch the incredible views. Rooms clean compact & comfortable, staff helpful - food good & wholesome & great breakfasts. Only downside [a minor one] was internet access not available in rooms & this was difficult for myhusband who had to do business late @ night

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthiawhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    79
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
50
123
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malvern ark
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My wife and i spent one night at the alpenrun in september of last year. Had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The people could not have been better to us than they were. We were there during the slow time of the year and most of the town to ourselves. I will stay there again if i get to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br549123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

A little known fact is that the Hotel Alpenruh owns a home that it rents to vacationers. This freestanding home is a one-minute walk from the hotel as well as the Shilthorn Cable Car. Great location! You can watch the skiers and boarders come swooshing off the mountain directly in front of the the house. Newly remodeled with clean, sleek, simple furniture. Very spacious for a group of 4 (friends or family with kids). Two stories. Upstairs is a bedroom and a loft room that is used as a bedroom with a queen bed. Downstairs has kitchen and living room as all one room. Couch pulls our into a fairly comfortable double bed. We slept 4 adults, 2 young children, and 1 baby. We were cozy, but comfortable. We loved this house and would recommend it to both friends travelling together as well as families.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This is the only hotel in Muerren open during the low season. We spent two nights and were pleasantly surprised. Rooms were extremely nice in an alp-y sort of way. Wonderful couch and the balcony looking over to the Eiger, Moench and Jungfrau was wonderful. Small but functional bathroom, great down comforters on the beds (good for cold alpine nights), and a wonderful location right next to the Schilthorn gondola.

But Muerren isn't for everyone - this is not touristy Grindelwald - there are no 5 star hotels or restaurants that exist to empty the wallets of tourists. If you don't know, that's a good thing. Muerren is sleepy, quiet and everything closes after dark. There is no nightlife. Thank God. You go there to sit on top of a 2000 foot ledge and watch the mountains. Don't expect to do anything but hike. Don't miss the alpkaese. It is wonderful.

But skip the restaurant at the hotel. We ate both nights at Staegerstuebli (those ae's and ue's are actually a's and u's with umlauts). There are more locals downing beers than tourists. Again, a good thing. English menu, friendly English-speaking staff, WONDERFUL Swiss food.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craftylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My husband and I spent 4 days in Murren, Switzerland in mid-August of 2009. We traveled by train from Paris to the Bernese Oberland area, and as we ascended into the Alps we were stunned by the beauty of the region. You do have to go through Interlaken and take a couple of trains and cable cars just to get to Murren, but once you are there you realize that the travel time is well worth it. Plus, the Swiss train & cable car system is like clockwork so you never have to wait too long for your next connection.

Murren is a small town with beautiful wooden buildings (mostly hotels, restaurants and homes) with flower boxes and gardens everywhere. It's hard to believe that such a beautiful place really exists. Murren has a number of things to do once you are there. It is set on the side of the Schilthorn mountain that faces the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains and the view is unbelievable. Murren has several different trails to take that are well marked and for different levels of difficulty. You can also rent mountain bikes, take the cable car to the top of the Schilthorn, and for the more adventurous types you can paraglide off the side of the Schiltorn with a guide. I have to HIGHLY recommend the paragliding to the valley and then hiking back up to Murren. You get a breathtaking bird's eye view of where you are staying and the hike back up is filled with beautiful streams and waterfalls.

We stayed at Hotel Alpehruh which has very nice rooms with balconies that face the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. The staff is very friendly and willing to help you with just about anything. The restaurant at the hotel has wonderful food, but I would also recommend eating at the Bellevue Hotel. We were told that the owner hunts for the meat for some of the dishes - we tried two venison dishes that were very unique and delicious. Plus the view from the terrace where we sat was so beautiful.

I will be returning to Switzerland in my lifetime and I hope to spend some more time in Murren. I would recommend Murren to families and couples of all ages.

Helpful?
3 Thank ErinChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stumbled upon the Hotel Alpenruh while strolling through Murren and stopped there to enjoy lunch out on their sunny outdoor patio. After seeing the quality and cleanliness of the hotel, we opted to leave our hotel in Interlaken for this quiet, superb location in Murren. We were not at all disappointed. Murren is a delightful village that is a perfect place for hiking, which we did a lot of, and the proximity to the Schilthornban was wonderful. Murren is convenient despite its lack of car access, with two points of entry and/or departure. The Alpenruh's location next to the Schilthorn cable car made it superbly easy to roll our luggage right to the front door.

The Alpenruh is clean, comfortably appointed and simple but with some nice touches in decorating and amenities. For example, several magazines and newspapers are available daily in the lobby reading area. The room doors are decorated with small wreaths or dried flowers. There is a sauna and a massuese who will come to the hotel for massages and she was very good, according to my husband.

The rooms were average size with a desk, a wardrobe for clothes and a place to store luggage. The bed and bedding was comfortable. There is a small fridge and mini-bar stocked with local beer, water and snacks. There are plenty of in-room cable channels (in 4 languages) on a wall mounted LCD along with two options for music (cable music channels or the in-room music system). But there's no need for TV in the Alpenruh if you are in a mountain view room overlooking the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Each room has a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs with a window box of perfect red geraniums. On clear nights, we watched the sunset over the mountains turn the snowy peaks pink which was then followed by a moonrise and the stars.

The morning breakfast buffet at the Alpenruh had a great assortment including muesli, yogurt, several cold cereals, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs and a large assortment of cheeses and smoked ham or wurst. There were always fresh baked crunchy rolls, whole grain breads and brioche or croissants. There is no excuse for leaving hungry or disappointed with this breakfast! The hotel manager, Urs Brotschi, was comfortable speaking English and very helpful in his knowledge of hiking trails and the beauty of the area. He made a point of checking in with the guests every morning at breakfast to be sure everyone was doing well and to answer questions. Very nice. Another nice touch was that we got a packed lunch instead of breakfast on our last morning because we had to leave before breakfast began. This was a unexpected and apreciated since we were in transit all day.

We had dinner at the Alpenruh three times and found dinner to be well prepared no matter what we ordered. The greens in the gemischte salat (mixed green salad) were freshly picked and abundant! The local house wine was reasonably priced and very good. Best of all the main courses were prepared with care and were generous and tasty. I think the Alpenruh has the best rosti in the area, and we had it in two other local restaurants!

I would recommend the Alpenruh highly to other travelers who want a great experience in Murren.

As for Murren, we very much enjoyed it because it was so convenient to strolling as well as serious hiking. The lack of cars in the village made it feel very intimate. We liked hearing the tinkle of cowbells at night and in the morning! Be forewarned that Murren is at 5000 ft. and while this is not an elevation that lacks oxygen or should cause discomfort, keep this in mind if you have ever been to Denver and felt uncomfortable. As someone who suffers from asthma, I found the clear, dry, pristinely clean air of Muren a pleasure to breathe! Also, it is a bit colder (a few degrees) than in the valley, but the views, whether clear or with the clouds blowing around the peaks, seemed well worth it.

Last, be prepared to disconnect. There is no Wi-Fi access although there is a kiosk in the lobby where you can gain Internet access for 15 minutes for 5 SF. However, you can take your laptop down to Lauterbrunnen to a wonderful cafe (5 min walk into town from the tram/train) which has free Internet access (and great coffee!) along with baked goods and tickets for the Trummelback falls or para-gliding.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhiteMountainHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed at the Alpenruh for 7 nights and we had been there 5 days before our towels were even changed. The cleanliness of our hotel room was not very good. There was the remenants of food under the dresser in our room when we arrived and it was still there when we left. The food was well below average. The breakfast cereal was soft as it is left out all day in a bowl, only covered by a napkin. The bowls were still therein the evening, when we went for our meal. Some of the evening meals were inedible, the meat being so chewy and tough. Only a vegetarian alternative was available. The dining chairs were filthy and marked with spills, which would have been easily cleaned. Flies were everywhere in the diningroom and going all over the food, it is so unhygenic.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stubenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#7 of 11 in Murren
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenruh

Property: Hotel Alpenruh
Address: Eggli 954B | Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenruh 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style holiday hotel with comfortable rooms, stylish restaurants and large sunny terrace. Arrival by car via Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen to Stechelberg (large parking area). Then take the cable car to Murren (Schilthornbahn). Arrival by train via Interlaken Ost to Lauterbrunnen and there by post bus to Stechelberg's cable car Station (Schilthornbahn). Then take the cable car to Murren. The Hotel Alpenruh is located at only one minute walking distance from the cable car staion Mürren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing