We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
portland, or
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

I wish we'd checked TripAdvisor before we left for our first European vacation and seen the poster that reported rude owners. If we had, we would have cancelled rather than go through what we encountered at this very expensive hotel. Sandra, while cold, was fine overall. Her restaurant manager (tall, dark hair) was abhorrently and vehemently rude to no end. We kindly inquired about using the internet station after a 12 hour train ride to check our bank balances and were told in a raised voice, "you can't wait 10 minutes?! she'll be back in 10 minutes and I don't have the password! it's not my fault you need to use the internet when our receptionist has the day off!" With great disbelief, I reiterated that the hotel brochure said that internet was available until 10 pm and it was only 3pm. It was also okay for nobody to be there but her response was NOT okay. I've never been treated so rudely by someone that I've paid a LOT of money to stay in their hotel. Then, she went into the office, "found" the password and the internet connection didn't even work! We had to go down the street to another hotel. The point is, don't be rude to paying customers, no matter what reason you think they are at fault for. It was none of her business why we needed the internet but when she was SO rude, she lost our business for good.

  • Liked — The only advantage was that the Jungfrau was outside our balcony (but it's outside everyone's balcony and on the street anyway)
  • Disliked — The service and attitude was unforgivable and made the price even more outrageous.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank highplainsdrifter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    52
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
50
106
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

Despite the fact that the "Edelweiss Hotel" has a fabulous view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau, we found that the chilly persona of the owner Sandra clouded an experience that could have otherwise been magnificent. You might think, just ignore her..which is what we wound up doing..BUT that is difficult because she is around ALL THE TIME. We were soo looking forward to our stay at The Edelweiss Hotel in Murren...We traveled an extremely long way and were so excited when we arrived....That feeling of excitement quickly vanished when Sandra blankly stared at us when we checked in...never said hello and then coldy handed us our key....this was her consistent behavior with the rest of our stay for the entire week!!!! Do not stay here if you are looking for a warm welcome or any other kind of hospitality and tranquility! The mood does not match the mountains...

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank goldenusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

We spent two nights as the Edelweiss in late August, 2007. Although no-one is likely to mistake the Edelweiss for a five-star property, we had a great visit with no complaints.

The property is a very short walk from the Murren railway station; very manageable even with a bag to roll. If you come up the other way (from the Stechelberg-Gimmewald cable car) you'd have a bit longer of a hike, but still no problems since the road is pretty level. The front desk staff was very helpful, telling us everything we needed to know about the hotel, the town, and the surrounding activities.

The room was small, but clean. Who really needs a huge hotel room anyway? I mean, what are you doing in there? The only oddity was the shower door which -combined with the unusual placement of the shower head- caused minor floods at each shower. Not a big deal, but I pitied the staff that had to wring-out the bath mat each time.

The view is the real keeper. Most hotels in Murren have views out over the Lauterbrunnen valley, but the Edelweiss seems almost to hang over the edge of the valley itself. Some of our most enjoyable moments came from just staring at the view of the Eiger, Jungfrau and Monch, or watching the clouds move through the valley.

To sum it up, Murren was one of the highlights of our Swiss vacation, and we were very pleased that we chose the Edelweiss as our base.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eauboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2007

The Hotel Edelweiss has a magnificent view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. This hotel is reasonably priced and you get what you pay for...clean rooms, above average view and great location. The accomodations and service are acceptable. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lacking, having us wish that we had opted for the local bakery. The restaurant had a good view, but we did not eat there after the breakfast experience. The Hotel Edelweiss was bright, but boxy. Other hotels had a more traditional Swiss Alp feel.

  • Liked — Location and view.
  • Disliked — The Hotel Edelweiss was very plain compared to other hotels in the town. There was nothing special about the appearance or the room. There were no real negative, it was just lacking in charm.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txsunshine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

Murren is an amazing Swiss mountain village. You have to take a cable car and train to get there which just adds to the excitement. Seems most tourists go to the (bigger) Wengen which is on the opposite side of the valley. I would strongly recommend going to Murren instead.

The hotel Edelweiss is one of many hotels in the town. The view out of the room (or balcony, if you have one) is the amazing trio of the Eiger, Moench and Jungfrau mountains.

The rooms are neat and relatively modern. The staff are very friendly. The lounge had a communal PC with Internet access for 5 francs for the entire stay. That's the cheapest rate we found anywhere in Switzerland.

The food in the downstairs restaurant was fairly inexpensive and quite good.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — View and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Flies in the dining area but it seems the locals find this normal.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#8 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#9 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The congenial Hotel Edelweiss is conveniently located in the heart of the Bernese Oberland in Murren. It offers breathtaking views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountain scenery. Guests of our 3-star superior Hotel also appreciate the perfect location close to ski slopes and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing