We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Mind-blowing views of the 3 monts”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Murren is a no vehicle zone and Edelweiss is just a short walk away from the Murren Gondola station. I spent 3 days here and each day had its rewards. The day we arrived it was snowing like crazy. I guess this is bad weather for most, but for us , we had a first hand experience of the snowfall and it was an amazing experience . Yes we could not go out much but we enjoyed staying in the hotel that day with lovely food served . The next day was awesome. The sun came out in all its glory. And what a transformation the place had. Eveything white and the cleanest blue skies all around you. There are a lot of walking trails the one can enjoy and get the most amazing views of the 2 monts. The Eiger , The Jungfrau and The Monk.

The 3 rd day was heavy rains. and the hotel staff was kind to accommodate us at no extra cost. The breakfast was amazing and I have absolutely no complains as I was able to see 3 different conditions in such a short time. One helluva experience for me and my family..

I will go here again and again .. My stay was too short here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashdsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Situated on the ridge facing the Alps-breathtaking- right in the little quiet town of Murren- we loved it- our room was clean, roomy and quiet- all i cud hear at nite was the rushing of water from the river below in the valley and the cow bells- enchanting**** everything i hoped for in the Alps- we were able to ride the cable car down and catch trains to anythere we wanted to go-excellent locaiton -

Room Tip: view rooms are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurrPurr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights in one of their suites. Loved it! Would highly recommend.

PROS:

1. Location/View is mind blowing!

2. Cleanliness. Our room was as clean as a room can get!

3. The staff. Very helpful. Very genuinely interested in helping our stay be great.

4. Free breakfast was quite satisfactory!

5. Room size. The suite had plenty of room and felt really inviting. Enjoyed the large tub. Enjoyed the separate shower. Plenty of hot water.

CONS:

1. No mini fridge. But the outdoor temps at night were about 3-4°C so we put our beverages outside which was fine. Maybe not possible in winter as things would freeze.

2. I'm not a fan of down pillows. But I realize many people love
them.

I read one negative review about the glass bathroom. The suite is like a master suite for a couple. If your traveling partner is not someone you want to see naked thru the shower glass... Or if you have some weird deal about not having your shadows seen (thru white fogged glass wall) by your partner while on the toilet, then you may want to stay somewhere else. These things were very acceptable with my wife and I. We would build our home with similar technique.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dngilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

POSITIVE
- Breathtaking view from the restaurant and room (the ones facing the mountains, of course)
- Very nice restaurant staff
- Delectable food at the restaurant, their pizzas most especially and tomato soup. Servings were huge, though which sometimes means "waste" when the rest of the world is starving.
- very close to the cable car station
- Murren is the best place to stay more than the others (Wengen, Grindelwald, etc) if you love the mountains (rock and snow)

NEGATIVE
- always the same breakfast
- cold and unfriendly reception staff (not everyone)
- don't expect great rooms as they are not worth for the money you pay; you're more paying for the view and not the room
- we could hear footsteps from the room above and it was for a few times disrupting our sleep
- the duvet/quilt though very nice to feel and lulls you to sleep was too hot during our summer visit.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are facing the mountains so make sure to specify it. Perhaps it's more expensive b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xhai Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. Our stay was excellent and we wouldn't change a thing about the hotel or service. Highlights of the stay-
1. Hotel room was smaller than the average hotel room in USA but was manageable.
2. View from the balcony was jaw dropping.
3. Bathroom was pretty big with a great tub.
4. Service was excellent.
5. Food was good. Very friendly staff.
I would go there again second time around if I got the change.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view. It makes a lot of difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kola_pra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can only echo the other positive reviews for this hotel. We spent 4 nights with a room that looked directly at the Jungfrau--we were so close that when taking a picture from our balcony I could not get the whole mountain in the picture! We also loved watching the clouds and para-gliders move through the valley below. We had a package that included the half board (a four course meal) for dinner and we loved every meal, every course (and our standards are high for food). This hotel began to feel like home to us and we were sad to leave. FYI--there is no pool/spa on the premises but they give you a complimentary pass to the community pool with whirlpool and it is just a 3-5 minute walk. Hoping to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We are staying here for 3 nights in August. The building is modern but the views are incredible from our balcony. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable and the showers hot. Breakfast is standard fare. Wifi is included and is excellent. We had dinner here the first night and the food was very, very good with good service.

It is a family run business and the location is excellent. Murren is a wonderful spot as a base.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony. Unobstructed view of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
285 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#8 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range: £113 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The congenial Hotel Edelweiss is conveniently located in the heart of the Bernese Oberland in Murren. It offers breathtaking views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountain scenery. Guests of our 3-star superior Hotel also appreciate the perfect location close to ski slopes and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing