We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be the #1 in Murren”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This should be the #1 in Murren”
Reviewed 8 August 2008

The view is the reason to book this hotel. If you can get a balcony room, the view is unreal. The balconies basically hang off the side of the cliff. The valley, and the mountains on the other side of the valley are in FULL view. It's an amazing view. The hotel is clean, nicely taken care of and the staff is very friendly. If you CAN'T get a balcony room with a view to the valley, the experience I'm sure won't be quite as breathtaking, I would probably try to get another hotel with a view, but still it is a perfectly good hotel if there are no view-rooms available in Murren. The outdoor dining area as well is very nice; right on the cliff, with the same breathtaking views. We had a wonderful time. We will come back to Murren and stay at the Edelweiss. With a balcony room.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EastmanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    59
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
56
121
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

After enjoying four weeks exploring beautiful Switzerland, one hotel stands out as the place we would like most to revisit. Hotel Edelweiss is perched on a mountainside in the midst of Alpine Heaven in Murren, which overlooks the Lauterbrunnen Valley and the surrounding high Alps encrusted with heavy snow and glaciers. The gondola whisks you from the valley up to Murren stuck on a mountain ledge.

The hotel is perched on the edge of the cliff with million dollar views from the lanais each room has. The room was beautiful, comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was included in the price of the room for 160SFR. There is also a fine restaurant within the hotel with an outdoor dining area overlooking the outstanding Alpine view. We will definitely return to this beautiful hotel and its most friendly and helpful staff.

Richard Christie
santaoncall@juno.com

  • Liked — Magnificient view of Alps
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SantaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

My mother and I have traveled to Switzerland and to Murren every summer for about 14 years. Each year we end our trip at the Edelweiss Hotel. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, service is great and the view in unbeatable. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Murren.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank badgers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I wish we'd checked TripAdvisor before we left for our first European vacation and seen the poster that reported rude owners. If we had, we would have cancelled rather than go through what we encountered at this very expensive hotel. Sandra, while cold, was fine overall. Her restaurant manager (tall, dark hair) was abhorrently and vehemently rude to no end. We kindly inquired about using the internet station after a 12 hour train ride to check our bank balances and were told in a raised voice, "you can't wait 10 minutes?! she'll be back in 10 minutes and I don't have the password! it's not my fault you need to use the internet when our receptionist has the day off!" With great disbelief, I reiterated that the hotel brochure said that internet was available until 10 pm and it was only 3pm. It was also okay for nobody to be there but her response was NOT okay. I've never been treated so rudely by someone that I've paid a LOT of money to stay in their hotel. Then, she went into the office, "found" the password and the internet connection didn't even work! We had to go down the street to another hotel. The point is, don't be rude to paying customers, no matter what reason you think they are at fault for. It was none of her business why we needed the internet but when she was SO rude, she lost our business for good.

  • Liked — The only advantage was that the Jungfrau was outside our balcony (but it's outside everyone's balcony and on the street anyway)
  • Disliked — The service and attitude was unforgivable and made the price even more outrageous.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank highplainsdrifter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

Despite the fact that the "Edelweiss Hotel" has a fabulous view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau, we found that the chilly persona of the owner Sandra clouded an experience that could have otherwise been magnificent. You might think, just ignore her..which is what we wound up doing..BUT that is difficult because she is around ALL THE TIME. We were soo looking forward to our stay at The Edelweiss Hotel in Murren...We traveled an extremely long way and were so excited when we arrived....That feeling of excitement quickly vanished when Sandra blankly stared at us when we checked in...never said hello and then coldy handed us our key....this was her consistent behavior with the rest of our stay for the entire week!!!! Do not stay here if you are looking for a warm welcome or any other kind of hospitality and tranquility! The mood does not match the mountains...

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank goldenusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We spent two nights as the Edelweiss in late August, 2007. Although no-one is likely to mistake the Edelweiss for a five-star property, we had a great visit with no complaints.

The property is a very short walk from the Murren railway station; very manageable even with a bag to roll. If you come up the other way (from the Stechelberg-Gimmewald cable car) you'd have a bit longer of a hike, but still no problems since the road is pretty level. The front desk staff was very helpful, telling us everything we needed to know about the hotel, the town, and the surrounding activities.

The room was small, but clean. Who really needs a huge hotel room anyway? I mean, what are you doing in there? The only oddity was the shower door which -combined with the unusual placement of the shower head- caused minor floods at each shower. Not a big deal, but I pitied the staff that had to wring-out the bath mat each time.

The view is the real keeper. Most hotels in Murren have views out over the Lauterbrunnen valley, but the Edelweiss seems almost to hang over the edge of the valley itself. Some of our most enjoyable moments came from just staring at the view of the Eiger, Jungfrau and Monch, or watching the clouds move through the valley.

To sum it up, Murren was one of the highlights of our Swiss vacation, and we were very pleased that we chose the Edelweiss as our base.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eauboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

The Hotel Edelweiss has a magnificent view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. This hotel is reasonably priced and you get what you pay for...clean rooms, above average view and great location. The accomodations and service are acceptable. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lacking, having us wish that we had opted for the local bakery. The restaurant had a good view, but we did not eat there after the breakfast experience. The Hotel Edelweiss was bright, but boxy. Other hotels had a more traditional Swiss Alp feel.

  • Liked — Location and view.
  • Disliked — The Hotel Edelweiss was very plain compared to other hotels in the town. There was nothing special about the appearance or the room. There were no real negative, it was just lacking in charm.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txsunshine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
3.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#9 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The congenial Hotel Edelweiss is conveniently located in the heart of the Bernese Oberland in Murren. It offers breathtaking views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountain scenery. Guests of our 3-star superior Hotel also appreciate the perfect location close to ski slopes and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing