We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service in a 2 star hotel”
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The entire team at the Eiger Guesthouse made our trip the success it was. Helpful, friendly, fun.
The room was great. The kitchen did us proud when we ate there most evenings, and do ask Ema's tips from her wine list. You will not be disappointed!
The bar is a very friendly place to mix with fellow travellers and locals alike. With an occasional night of lively live music. Which was not heard by my wife and baby up stairs by the way.
Location could not be easier. The BLM station is literally across the street.
The view...if you want to know what awesome really is. Come and check it out.

We have booked already for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view and weather permitting you will be stunned. Sorry if room 4 is unavailable...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABH321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Eiger Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We wanted a cheaper hotel near the train station and is right across the street. Friendly staff and comfy beds. I would just order your food ala carte and not include it in the room price. Breakfast is Typical European breakfast. Done very nicely though. Dinner was only OK. Steep stairs might hurt you if you are older.

Room Tip: You want a view. Street side.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hpytravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We found the Eiger Guesthouse through tripadvisor and am very happy I did. My husband and I were on our second honeymoon after 40 years of marriage and traveled in Italy and Switzerland in December and January of this year. We ended our trip in Murren and stayed 4 days at the Eiger Guesthouse. If you need an elevator to reach your room, the Eiger Guesthouse can't help you. HOWEVER, they are happy to carry your bags up the stairs for you. It is well worth the trek up the stairs to have a room with stunning views of the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau. The convenience of being right across from the train station was very appealing to us. And, it's only a 15 minute walk to get to the Schilhorn cable car. Murren is charming, small, and blissful and the Eiger Guesthouse reflects all of the charm Murren has to offer. These folks are friendly, capable, and provide a warm and inviting oasis in this gorgeous spot of Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. You'll have a small balcony and can relax and watc...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights in Murren with Ema and the staff at Eiger Guesthouse.
Breathtaking views while laying in bed are a major bonus. Our room was small, but comfortable, and very clean.

The location is unbeatable - across from the cable car.

Bonnie, the French bulldog, is the cutest bulldog on the planet, paws down. We tried to take her with us, but, we couldn't fit her in our backpacks, what with Ema and Nat hanging on to her.
:)
Rosti and fondue were excellent. We will be back to visit the friends we made in Murren. So, so nice! Thanks Ema and Nat for everything (and Bonnie and Napoleon too).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The views from the Hotel were stunning, the service was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely delicious and I enjoyed every minute of my 6 day stay. I thoroughly recommend The Eiger Guesthouse.

Room Tip: I was in a twin room no. 8, at the top, which had a sloping roof; not ideal for an adult as you can...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyd186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had a fabulous 5 night stay at the Eiger Guesthouse over the Christmas holiday. The staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The bed was cozy. The views were amazing! We enjoyed breakfast here, and we also ended up eating most of our dinners at the hotel. The dinners were delicious, a relatively good deal, and had more vegetarian options than other places in Murren.
We wish that we had booked more days here and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Definitely spring for a mountain view if you can
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efins98122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Murren at the Eiger Guesthouse. Ema and company were warm, friendly, and very accommodating. We stayed in a large room on the 2nd floor with amazing mountain views. The food was wonderful, and in fact, we ate dinner at the Guesthouse all 3 nights of our stay. The location across from the (very quiet) train station is very convenient, and Murren is a great base from which to explore the Jungfrau/Bernese Oberland region. By far one of our favorite places that we have ever visited, completely unrivaled in its beauty! So glad we chose the Eiger Guesthouse for our stay in Murren. We'll certainly be back for more :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecstucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: £110 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing