We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have stayed there many times over the last 15 years. Although it has modernized over the last few years, it still has that family-like feeling. Murren is my favorite place to vacation. We try to make it there for 4-6 days every few years. I would recommend to anyone. The view is unmatchable. Great place to take children as they can get out in town without worries. My son has been going there since he was 7 years old.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lickcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    111
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
171
335
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Eiger Guesthouse in late April. Murren was a fairly random destination for us before we went on to France and Spain. We arrived on a gorgeous, sunny afternoon. After asking Ema about whether it would be worth our time to visit Shilthorn so late in the afternoon, she checked her phone for the weather forecast and immediately said, "Go now, tomorrow the weather is turning bad." So we hustled up to the top and experienced an unforgettable view of the Alps. Ema even called ahead to ensure we could make the last tram of the day. She and her staff provided regular advice for us during our stay.

Our room was on the third floor (be advised, no elevator). I'm attaching a photo of the view outside our window. Tremendous!

The room was clean and well-appointed. The bathroom was also clean. The shower is very euro-tiny, though.

The hotel gave us a free card with access to the town's indoor pool. This proved very valuable during our second day when it snowed about a foot.

Breakfast was delicious and during our brief visit downstairs to eat, the staff was able to get in our room and completely make it up for us.

Drinks in the bar downstairs were a bit pricey. We paid over 9 euro for a 12 oz. diet coke and a club soda with no alcohol.

I highly recommend this hotel for your stay. Top-notch service, clean, comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet. For the bargain price of the room, it's a winner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if the idea of dragging luggage up the stairs doesn't appeal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It's no surprise that the Eiger Guesthouse gets consistently high ratings. We just returned from a four-night stay in a lovely, bright, clean room. We had dinner in the dining room three times and loved the food and service. Everything about the place was a delight. The most wonderful part, though, was the staff. Emma and her staff do a great job of making you feel welcome. They care about what you did that day and if you had fun. They make suggestions on what to do.
It was the off-season, so we got to see a lot more of the staff than many do, I would imagine. Every one of them was delightful...and they spoke in English so we didn't have to massacre German in front of them!
Thanks to everyone, we had a great time at the Eiger Guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Had a great three night stay in Murren. Late April is not the best time for the area as it is too early for walking, and too late for skiing therefore most of the hotels and restaurants are closed. However we still enjoyed our stay at the Eiger Guesthouse. The manager Ema especially made our stay very pleasant. She was very helpful and made us feel welcome. The rooms are basic but very clean and the common room and restaurant is a good place to hang out between activities. The food for dinner was very good. Breakfast was fine, but more fruit would have been nice. Absolutely recommend Eiger Guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have a two nights enjoyable stay at Eiger Guesthouse, Murren Switzerland during our mid-April 2013.

The hotel is just next to the Murren BLM train station. You need to take a cable car and mountain rail train up to this station from Lauterbrunnen station. It is worth the trip up to the Murren area. Good views of three mountains: Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau, just outside our room's balconies.

In good weather, you can take a 15 minutes walks from the hotel to take a cable car up to Schilthorn mountain. You can have 360 degree view of all mountains nearby.

The rooms are good and well-spaced. The hotel manager, Emma and her staff are very friendly and chatty. The hotel restaurant served good food and breakfast is provided with the stay.

Room Tip: Request for room with balcony facing the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzytraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I was so pleased with my stay at Eiger Guesthouse. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. Everything about it was excellent. Would love to go back again. .Ate there and can vouch for their good food.
What a magic place Murren is. Just a fairy tale place, if you like mountains and scenery. Going up to The Schilthorn was breath taking. What a place..No words to describe the experience adequately enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We knew the Eiger Guesthouse of old, but, under Ema's (new to us) management and her very friendly and competent staff, our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The whole atmosphere reminds one of the best of the English pubs, and the food and wines are admirable. The location, right across the road from the station in this car-free village, makes it very convenient, the view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau is superb, and, of course, Mürren is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have the mountain view. Rooms on the third floor are smaller, and there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#7 of 11 in Murren
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Property: Eiger Guesthouse
Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing