We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

In three weeks spent traveling across Europe, two hotels stood above the rest, and this was one of them. I was here for two nights in September 2013 and couldn't have asked for more in the way of hospitality and comfort.

The proprietor, Ema, is the tireless engine upon which this place functions smoothly. When she's not tending to paperwork in her office, she can be found pouring a drink behind the bar or hustling food to tables. Despite all this, she has time to sit down with some of her guests and chat. No wonder the locals who drop in for the bar and restaurant display an enthusiastic warmth toward her.

Even if I'd never met Ema, however, I'd have loved this place. It's conveniently located across from the train station, which is greatly appreciated when you've traveled a long distance to get there. The staff is courteous and friendly. And while there were certainly other places to eat in Mürren, I never saw any reason to visit them after the first night because breakfast was better than adequate and dinner was excellent. I had a rösti one night and a schnitzel the next and both were better than anything I ate in Germany or Austria save for one meal in Munich and another in Salzburg.

It's a bit of a different place in that the entrance is given over to food and drink. There's no front desk per se, just the angled bar and a big, round table. This entrance is flanked by two dining rooms, one of which is set aside for breakfast. In the evening this area has great atmosphere and warmth; clearly, the locals like being here and the tourists are thrilled to be in a place like Mürren, which is truly breathtaking.

I can't speak to other places in Mürren. I'm sure there were other fine establishments. This was my first trip there and I chose the Guesthouse because it was available on the dates I wanted, priced reasonably and had been given good reviews. Seriously, I'd have been satisfied if it simply had been a comfy place to lay my head. But if I'm ever lucky enough to go back, I'll stay here as long as Ema's still in charge.

Note to disabled travelers: There's no elevator here. But the staff seems to be quite accustomed to helping guests with their belongings up and down the stairs if need be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NxNWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    109
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
168
333
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Eiger Guesthouse. We only gave it 4 stars because the room was just average, but it was clean and roomy enough. What sets this place apart is Emma, who owns the hotel. She came up to us during our first breakfast there and made sure that we had all the information we needed to go on a nice hike during the day. We had to leave very early the second day, so she made us a lunch the night before to take with us, since we would not be there for breakfast. The bartenders were very nice and the food was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place in Murren.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Perfect location....great prices....delicious food served outside with gorgeous views.
Casual & relaxed...but only in good ways.
very friendly and attentive staff.
best place in town for those not needing linen table cloths at each meal!

Room Tip: the fitness center is down the road....but who needs a fitness center when you are in Murren?? The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We did a few nights in one of their rooms with a small balcony and mountain view. The Eiger Guesthouse was a great place to use as a jumping off point for hiking in the region. It is right by the train station. Halfway through a Europe trip, it was amazing to not have to hike across town with your luggage. There is coin laundry in a place about a 5-10min walk away, so we were able to get all our clothes ready for the second half of the trip. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant downstairs was so good, we ate there 3 nights. Free wifi is a huge plus. In short: convenient, great staff, beautiful views, comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: East side has views of the Jungfrau & Eiger Mountains. Right across from the train station, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our five nights at the Eiger Guesthouse a the end of September were the most enjoyable of our two weeks in Switzerland. The room was just right and the staff makes you feel like you are visiting family. Our room had a bath with tub/shower and a terrific view.
We chose to go with the half board and were glad we did. The food and service were excellent!
If you are going to Murren, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
144 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The guesthouse is just opposite to the BLM train station which has a convenient connection to Lauterbrunnen. We parked our car in the big parkig lot at the Lauterbrunnen train station and then took the cable car and the train to Murren. The connection is convenient and easy.

We had a room with a small terrace and a very nice view to the famous peaks. The room is not large but tidy and enough to fit ourselves and luggages in. The color and decoration of the room are delightful. Free wifi is available in the room.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Also the Portugal style restaurant offers great food. Breakfast is also nice. Murren is a fancy small town and we really enjoyed walking in this lovely place.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Eiger Guesthouse in late September. Ema and her staff treat you like family, they offer suggestions for hikes, excursions, etc. The views from the hotel are wonderful, the hotel is so convenient for everything. The rooms are small but had everything we needed including a small balcony off to the side. We had views of the Eiger from our room; the beds are very comfortable, rooms are quiet and very clean, bathrooms updated and modern.
Murren and our stay at the Eiger Guesthouse were definitely one of the highlights of our Switzerland trip! The breakfasts are included and they are very filling and good too. We also ate dinner most nights in the restaurant and thought the food was top notch! We loved everything we tried. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to the Murren area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#7 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Property: Eiger Guesthouse
Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing