We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views and very friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jungfrau
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing views and very friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My room was a basic double with a meadow rather than mountain view, but as it was at the side of the hotel I got the best of both from a nice small balcony.
Room basic as stated but decent sized with comfortable beds and a small bathroom but with a good shower, perfectly adequate and no issues but even out of season quite expensive
Breakfast good quality and choice and the staff were very friendly throughout giving me ideas for trips and walks.
The hotel restaurant closed during this quiet period as it seems was most of Murren, but still a fantastic place and a nice little hotel.

Room Tip: End rooms on the meadow side are great as it is at the end you get a mountain view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    53
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
90
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent three nights here in early May. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Our room had a deck with fantastic views and it was just warm enough in the sun to sit out on it with a glass of red and take in the stunning mountains.
The rooms don't have wifi, but the lounge does, and it is large and has lovely views of the mountains.
Breakfast was a nice continental meal, nice selection of cheeses.
The restaurant was closed when we were there, but the staff were helpful in giving us directions to what was open in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_the_redhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Spent four days here in October during the beginning of the off-season between summer and winter. The owner was very friendly upon arrival and answered our million questions about where to hike, go eat, weather and where to visit. Only breakfast was open during this time but the breakfast started with being asked if we would like eggs with our breakfast. Breakfast filled us up for our active-busy days.

Rooms were comfortable, clean and had amazing views of the Bernise Alps right outside our window/balcony. Enjoyed relaxing outside on the balcony reading our books and enjoying the mountains literally "right there."

Location is perfect right in the center of Murren and a short walk to the train/lifts.

We would def. come back for another visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y2j80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here as part of our Rick Steves Germany-Austria-Switzerland tour so I can't comment on the value.

As my title says it was clean, comfortable and the staff spoke good English. I had asked at the desk the best place for night star photos and they were helpful in giving directions.

The hotel location is quite good. Mürren is quite small so everything is close. The cable car station at one end of town and the train at the other end of town.

Our room was 228 and on the back side of the hotel facing the hill. It was on the small side and had a tiny tube TV in the corner. But, when you are in the Swiss Alps you probably won't be spending a lot of time in your room (unless you are over 60 and recovering from a 8 mile hike!).

We ate only one night using our own money in Mürren at the hotel restaurant and I found it a bit expensive. But, given the difficulty in transporting food here I suspect that is true at more than just this restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a front view facing the mountains unless you just want to look at green grass on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimFromAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Accommodating staff with good tips for hikes and other activities. Great views on the front side on the front side of the hotel facing the snow capped mountains. Some rooms have decks - very nice place to end the day enjoying some wine. Wifi in the lobby was very helpful to stay connected when needed. This was a good choice to easily get to Lauterbrunnen , Gimmelwald, or Schilthorn.Would certainly consider this hotel for a future visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side with a balcony or deck for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinRob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Wonderful three night stay in the Hotel, surrounded by the endless Beauty of the Swiss Alps. Had to convince myself it was real, not a postcard!
Comfy beds, good food, hot water and wifi
Murren is a delight, so many options for hiking, biking or wandering about. Easy to find your way around the lifts and gondolas.
A notice board in the lobby showed activities that were happening everyday, and breakfast table included a forecast and an activity notice also. Really helpful to plan a day!
Will plan come back to Murren again, and definitely recommend Hotel Jungfrau

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ampy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Jungfrau for few nights and find it very homely, friendly and very comfortable. The view is absolutely amazing! Waking up to a great view every morning, amazing! A great place to stay! :-) Great service with very friendly staff. I feel very welcome. Definitely going to stay here again and recommend this place to my friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Property: Hotel Jungfrau
Address: Gruebi 1051B, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#8 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing