We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Flats for a Steal”
Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jungfrau
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Flats for a Steal”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel itself, but rather in our own little flat across the road, which Hotel Jungfrau also offers. Our flat was spacious, our rooms were very nice, the flat well stocked with cooking implements, the price was excellent considering we had three bedrooms, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The only thing I didn't like was the price of the breakfast, 18chf, but that seemed typical for the area and I believe could have been arranged for cheaper had we done so prior to checking in.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    53
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
47
93
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a beautiful place. The hotel people were quite handy and helpful getting our luggage from the funicular to the hotel and the star were warm and friendly. The hotel itself is quite nice, good size and the views are spectacular. The morning buffet was excellent, with eggs cooked to order and everything else you could want to eat. The hotel itself is smack dab in the middle of the whole deal with cable cars and funiculars to take you up the mountain. The hotel was clean and well kept, I would certainly go visit the Jungfrau Hotel again on my next trip to Murren.

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view. We choose the three bedroom apartment so as three couples we could all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelthePK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at hotel jungfrau in July and had a wonderful experience there. General manager Martin and his staff were so friendly and helpful. The food in the dining room was absolutely delicious. One night I had the best salmon ever! The wait staff was so accommodating and interesting to chat with. Yes, the room was small but it had everything we needed and the view out our window was great. If you are going to Murren, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOYH412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very small rooms but a perfect location and view. Upon checkin was disappointed but within hours forgot the small room. Staff is fabulous and go out of the way to meet your needs. Common area has free wifi but does cost to use in your room. Food was different for the three nights that we stayed and was good. Plenty of nooks and crannies to sit in and enjoy the view. Close to numerous hiking, skiing and restaurants. There is a bar on site and breakfast is served. Lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel fits perfectly in picturesque murren. The views are to die for, and our room had a little patio area that made them even better in the morning. I would definitely stay here again...simple complimentary breakfast, decent wifi, good showers, etc. One of the closer hotels to the cable car station, as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment in Haus Mosca. It was a very nice apartment, clean, great views from one of the bedrooms (no views from the living room). So I do wish I could give this place a better review. However, we specifically booked this hotel because it advertised that it had wifi, but we never had working wifi during our four day stay. We asked for the wifi password when we checked in, but we were told (wrongly) that there was no wifi for Haus Mosca. I spent one evening sitting in the lobby of the hotel across the street, instead of in the apartment I paid for, just so I could use the wifi over there. When we complained about the lack of wifi to the person at the reception desk on our last night here, we were told there WAS wifi after all. When we expressed our disappointment at being given wrong information at check in, he offered us a discount of only 5 francs to make up for this (for a four-night stay). And then the password we were given that night didn't work, so even after all of that, we still had no wifi (we were given a four digit password and the network required an 8-digit password). The reception person refused to help with the wrong 4-digit password, claiming that it works for everyone else (I don't see how that's possible when the network requires 8 digits).
When we told him that we would give him a bad Trip Advisor review because of his continued inability to get us the wifi that was promised when we booked, he said, "You are welcome to do that." So here it is, as promised, written while I'm sitting outside in the cold on the steps of the hotel, because that's the only place I can get service.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved our stay here and our visit in Murren overall. The food was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was also very nice. We loved having a little patio to see on in the morning with that amazing view of the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimTheSnarkHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#7 of 11 in Murren
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Property: Hotel Jungfrau
Address: Gruebi 1051B, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#8 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing