We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home - and then some”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home - and then some”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A wonderful week, thank you.
I was very grateful for a room at short notice, and very impressed with the quality of the room, the stunning view and the very friendly and supportive staff.
This is an excellent hotel and one I look forward to returning to with my family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    107
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
212
284
61
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

In our last review (3 March 2013) I finished by saying we would be back. We had no hesitation in booking into Edelweiss again for a family ski trip over the New Year holiday. We were not disappointed.

As previous reviewers have said, it is the friendly atmosphere generated by Daniel and his team in addition to the superb food which makes a stay an unforgettable experience. The New Year's Eve dinner added to our memories of this stay.

This time we were joined by our sons who could not make the previous trip. Our eldest is in the final year of a Hospitality Management degree and is very critical of the quality of service and food. He summed up our views one evening with the comment "this chef is excellent".

In a service industry mistakes do happen. When they do it is the way that they are dealt with that really demonstrates the quality of a business. We had a problem when we arrived however Daniel acted immediately to put it right and more than met our expectations.

When we return to Wengen there is only one place we will choose to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

For the second time I was in that marvellous hotel and I haven't been deceived. From A to Z everything is excellent in this hotel (compared to hotels within the same price range). They have an outstanding cook who puts a lot of love and knowledge into delicious dishes, mostly organic and made of regional products. Try the Edelweiss coffee. That's one of several reasons why I returned. Another is the warm and welcoming staff. You feel that the people like to work there. I'm looking forward to stay again at Edelweiss in 2015.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent view from the room with warm hospitality.
Had dinner there and the food was great.
Will definitely come back again!
The only thing is u have to walk a slope up from hotel to station but it's all worth it!
Thanks for everything!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and found the rooms quite comfortable. Great balcony with beautiful views of the mountains. Even through we visited in December, we bundled up and had coffee on the balcony every day! We ate two 4-course dinners in the hotel. The first night was venison, the second night we special ordered Swiss fondue. The food was fabulous! The breakfast buffet was also very good with the usual choices of sliced meats and cheeses, cereals, eggs and fresh bread. The hotel atmosphere is casual and relaxed. I would rate the overall service level as excellent. Managers, Daniel and Susanne, were very welcoming and took a personal interest in helping us with every thing from what to see, daily weather forecasts, where to have lunch and answering our many questions. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Edelweiss is a very agreeable friendly hotel near the heart of Wengen. Pleasant public rooms and excellent breakfasts for a modest price. An old teleferique cabin by the front door offers an admirable and unconventional ski-room. We were there to keep our children and grandchildren company in their apartment in InnerWengen, so we did not have a chance to sample the restaurant, but we're enthusiastic about the painstaking service everywhere else.

Room Tip: It's worth aking for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JolyonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time! Stayed in a family room which is spacious by European standards at this level. 2 adt and 3 chd, it might have gotten a bit tight/uncomfortable for a longer stay. Very clean and well organized property which is a must for us. Beautiful views. Our family loves to eat and we have a very "varied palate", if you will. We were not disappointed here. After eating at the hotel the first night, we were hooked. We thought the price was fine by Swiss standards.

The only thing missing is a luggage service from the train station for arriving guests. We had to pay 16 swiss francs for a one minute ride down the mountain to the hotel.

We would go back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3cutegirls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Am Acher 1366A, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel EdelweissA place which makes you feel most welcome, very well looked after and where you wish to stay on and on and on....Enjoy the magnificient skiing- and hiking area of the famous Jungfrau-Region!Daniel and Susanne Eisenegger will help you to have an outstanding and inspiring experience in the Swiss Alps. Formality is replaced with a warm welcome. The Hotel Edelweiss is your home whilst you are with us; relax, unwind and let us take care of you! We hope that you will join our lifestyle; a lifestyle based on quality time, on fun and laughter and on living life to the full. The opportunities and natural attractions of the Jungfrau Region are hard to top. Explore the various mountains, glaciers, gorges, water falls and the breahtaking scenery by hiking, cable cars, trains, gondolas and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing