We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Agoura Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights out of a 2 week trip to Switzerland that started in Zurich and ended up in Geneva. We love beautiful scenery and simple hikes. This stay could not have been more perfect. One day while describing our long day to Daniel, the owner, I mentioned how amazing it was to return "home" to the spectacular views of the Jungfrau. We both recognized right away that this feeling of being at home is better than any 5 star hotel! A couple of things are worth mentioning. First, the chef at the hotel is wonderful. He does a 4-course meal almost every night which was worth the 25 chf that it cost. He uses fresh ingredients from the garden. The soups were my favorite. Secondly, Daniel is a wealth of information. It was very beneficial to go over the map and plan excursions with him. We purchased a Swiss Saver Pass for our basic transportation needs and museums, but to access some of the amazing sites at higher elevations, including the wildly popular "Top of Europe" you have to pay extra for the cog trains and gondolas that take you there. It was worth it because if you go to Switzerland for the beautiful alpine views and some hiking, then you just have to pay for it. One of our hikes to Schnigge Platt from Mannlichen was not quite as pleasant at the end because of a very steep ascent that I was not prepared for. My husband talked me through it, but it would have been better had we consulted with Daniel and staff beforehand so that we would know this was an alternate route due to a path closure. Finally, I have to mention that this hotel sits fairly low in the village as do many of the hotels so it was a real workout every morning to climb the hill back up to the train station. This was not a problem for us, but more than once we thought about some of our friends, who like us are in their 60's but are not in terribly good physical condition and therefore would not be too happy with the climb. All in all, we felt that the Edelweiss was a perfect place for us!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnome2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    113
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
230
302
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is amazing. The staff is super friendly. The room are homely and comfortable. The views are to die for. The food are delicious and good value.

We stayed there for 3 amazing nights and loved every minutes of it. We were greeted by Daniel on arrival who is super friendly and a wealth of local knowledge - make sure you ask him to recommend walks around the area. The room are simple and clean and IMO matches the surrounding perfectly. The balcony was perfect for a pre-dinner drink. There is also a garden out back to enjoy the sunset. We were blessed with beautiful weather when we were there so we didn't stay in the hotel much but there are lots of facilities to enjoy if the weather didn't cooperate - table tennis, sauna, music room, library, etc.

I wish to specially thank Anja, who works in the restaurant. She is the sweetest person I have ever met and she made our stay super special - she made us feel more like family than guest. If you stay there, make sure to say hi to her.

The hotel included a wonderful breakfast every morning and offer a delicious four-course dinner at a very reasonable price. When we compared the offering to the surrounding restaurants, we didn't bother to going any where else.

Wengen is a beautiful area to stay when visiting the Jungfrau region. It is quiet as it is not accessible by car so it's not overrun by coachful of tourists, yet it is still easy to reach other destinations via the train. It was super easy to get to Jungfraujoch as it was on the way from Lauterbrunnen. Personally, I prefer Wengen over Murren as the train allow for easier access to other destinations in the region. We had a wonderful time exploring Wengen - the scenery is heavenly and remind me of The Sound of Music - see my pictures below.

This is a superb hotel and I would definitely stay here again when visiting Jungfrau region.

Room Tip: This hotel is located at the bottom of a hill. There is a bit of a steep climb up to the train stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights, and really enjoyed my stay. All the staff are lovely and very happy to help with anything. They provided delicious gluten free dinners for me which I really appreciated! I loved the fluffy pillow and cover in my room. They have rooms where you can sit, have a coffee/tea etc, plus a nice garden to enjoy the sun and views.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our favorite hotel for our vacation. The staff was incredibly nice, the rooms were clean and there were incredible views from our room. The dinner was by far the most wonderful food we had in Switzerland and the least expensive! It was a great location to check out the valleys without having to stay around the hordes of people staying in other locations.

Room Tip: Any room that looks at the Eiger and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0nyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night but left with a great impression. This is a wonderful hotel run by a very friendly staff. Daniel takes great care of the place and his guests. During our stay, he guided us on the scenic hikes and provided us with all the information we needed about the place. There were even walking poles that we could just take along for hikes. The food here deserves a special mention - a full 3 course meal (great even for vegetarians) for only 25 CHF. We had fondue, soup, salad and a dessert and each one was delicious.
Overall, it's a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose with the valley view - I think ours was 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shailendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Situated at the base of the Jungfrau Mountains in a small hamlet / town called Wengen ( few hours from Zurich and about 45 minutes from Interlaken ) - This hotel almost meets all needs and requirements of any tourist or traveler. Very courteous and friendly staff; Excellent location, Good Food, Comfortable rooms -- What else do we Need!!

A small want though which was not fulfilled (made me give a rating of 4 instead of 5) - We were asked to Vacate immediately at 10 AM during checkout - When I requested for a little time extension(With Payment & Without options offered and asked) - I was Bluntly Refused and asked to keep my luggage in the room next to the reception-- Expected a bit more Friendliness after being given Very good treatment till then --- Guess nothing is perfect :)

How to Reach : Go to Jungfrau by Train; Visit all tourist spots at the Top - Observation Desk, Ice Castle and the Lot

Room Tip: Take room with a View (Most of them do have). Take a room looking towards the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for the first few days in June 2014 and our stay was very pleasant. Daniel and his wife were very accommodating and helped us plan our day trips, meals, etc. The breakfast included in the booking was excellent (healthy foods and lots of choices), and the 4 course dinner was delicious and an excellent value. We felt right at home during our entire stay and when back in Wengen, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
3.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Am Acher 1366A, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel EdelweissA place which makes you feel most welcome, very well looked after and where you wish to stay on and on and on....Enjoy the magnificient skiing- and hiking area of the famous Jungfrau-Region!Daniel and Susanne Eisenegger will help you to have an outstanding and inspiring experience in the Swiss Alps. Formality is replaced with a warm welcome. The Hotel Edelweiss is your home whilst you are with us; relax, unwind and let us take care of you! We hope that you will join our lifestyle; a lifestyle based on quality time, on fun and laughter and on living life to the full. The opportunities and natural attractions of the Jungfrau Region are hard to top. Explore the various mountains, glaciers, gorges, water falls and the breahtaking scenery by hiking, cable cars, trains, gondolas and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing