We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room with a view”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2006

Hotel Regina is a conveniently located, classic European hotel. We had a corner room which had a breathtaking view of Jungfrau on one side and the valley on the other.

This is a first-rate hotel. Upon check-in, we were offered complimentary neck or leg massages, fresh fruit for our room, etc. The staff is very attentive and the hotel well maintained and clean.

We would definitely return to Hotel Regina.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Laz1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2006

We have stayed in many hotels in Wengen and have encountered excellent servicet here. This one however did not meet our expectation of a first class hotel. The setting is indeed beautiful. The bedrooms are very average despite ours being one of the most exclusive in the hotel. The service at meal times was poor. Breakfast often had empty containers despite there being over an hour left to serve. The choice at brekfast was basic. They did however replenish items if you asked. Service in the bar was slack with sometimes there being no one available to serve you. There were no little 'extras' to make your stay more comfortable. The minibar in the room was empty. There are many hotels which offer better service and comfort in Wengen and we will not be visiting this hotel again..

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigcatwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2006

We stayed three nights here with another family and had four young children between us. The hotel is very welcoming to children. I would recommend rooms on the first level as they share a large balcony that the kids loved. Room 110 is large with a four poster bed and plenty of room for two single beds. The staff is very kind and accommodating.

Breakfast is adequate but the dinners were wonderful. The half board deal is worth the price. The lounge area is great for enjoying a drink and the outdoor patio could be one of the most lovely views in all of Switzerland - Jungfrau, chalets dotting green hills, cow bells playing music in the distance, and waterfalls along the valley walls.

In town, Da Sina was great for pizza. The park in the center of Wengen is great. Many hikes are family friendly. All in all a lovely stop!

Stayed: May 2006
4  Thank lmh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leusden, the Netherlands
13
Reviewed 8 May 2006

This year we did our wintersport in Wengen, Swiss. It is famous having the yearly World Cup Lauberhorn Rennen. We stay in Hotel Regina, perfect located near the train station and ski lifts. Here you feel home.
The kitchen and service are excellent. Very kind people who do their utmost to give you the best stay! It was a great pleasure to stay in this hotel.
see the website [--]

This location is easily to reach by train and car. It is located near Interlaken. This region ( Berner Oberland, the Jungfrau region)is perfect for everyone, also for people who don't like skiing. For those people are many other possibilities.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Amersfoort, Holland
15
Reviewed 29 April 2006

First of all I want to thank Guido and Ariane for their help and support, We have had a really great and wonderfull time at Hotel Regina, this month, and I am sure that I can speak for all of our 46 guest, who enjoyed, and took part of our last symposium.
Compliments for all the people who are working at Regina, specially the people in the kitchen!! To Dine is one of my favourite things in life, and it was really really delicious.
Also my room, and the rooms in which my college's stayed were wonderfull, with a nice view on the hills.
We will certainly return next year!! Thanks again for a wonderfull time!!

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, TX
13
Reviewed 28 April 2006

I recommend the Regina for families, couples, and singles. The hotel atmosphere is beautiful and charming and brings an elegance to Wengen that no other hotel can claim. Unlike other hotels in Wengen, the Regina is perfect for winter as well as summer vacations. In the winter the guests can gather around the fire in the parlour, listen to the piano player, and eat in the grand dining room with the phenomenal span of mountains for a view. Summers at the Regina are elite to say the least. During the summer the front lawn and terrace of the Regina are a complete transformation from the snowy resort of winter. Guests wander outdoors for leisure and eat outside in the late months of summer. The summer experience of the Regina is amazing!! The Regina is a must on Swiss Traveler's list.

Stayed: August 2003
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Zurich, Switzerland
1
Reviewed 27 April 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 20 in Wengen
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#11 of 20 in Wengen
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Zentrum, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £218 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to Hotel Regina in Wengen, situated in our beautiful little country of Switzerland, more specifically in the Bernese Alps. Ever since this splendid building was constructed in 1894, Hotel Regina has welcomed guests from all four corners of the world. It is strategically placed in a dominant position, allowing for spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, most notably the Jungfrau and the Silberhorn, as well as a plunging view of the Lauterbrunnen Valley and its impressive waterfalls. We're very lucky to have the talented head chef Mickaël Cochet (rated 16/20 by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide) on our team. We invite you to discover our beautiful Restaurants 2 gourmet Restaurants 16 Gault & Millau " Chez Meyer's" and "La Bulle" The main restaurant "Jack's Brasserie" along with an excellent wine list.Jack's Brasserie (with an excellent wine list) In 2004, this Victorian-style hotel property was classified and recognised by the Swiss Heritage Fund. The hotel offers rooms with balconies or terraces with unique panoramic views. Furthermore, the Jungfrau-Aletsch region is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, granting us exceptional value. The gentle blend of clean air, fine food and grandeur form the perfect backdrop for summer or winter sports. We are convinced that Hotel Regina is a magnificent place, that cradles you in an atmosphere of tradition and magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing