We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beausite Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
1 review
“Outstanding views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first visit to Wengen and we were pleased with the hotel. The view from our balcony
was outstanding, even from the second floor. The service was fine both for the room and in the
restaurant. Most of the dishes at the dinner were good, a few missed the mark (wrong combination)
The dinner is not gourmet but it is quite nice and we would recommend this hotel. They have
a large indoor pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with balcony on the Jungfrau side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RailwayFanFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    64
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
216
270
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first visit to Wengen which is a very pretty Alpine village. The Beausite Park hotel sits just above the village and their taxi collected us from the station to take us and our luggage to the hotel. We booked a room with a balcony and a view of the Jungfrau. The room was a reasonable size and well equipped. The balcony had loungers and magnificent views to the Alps. Staff were pleasant and helpful and meals were good. We met a number of people who were regular returners to Wengen and this Hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a balcony with view to the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having just returned from our 7th visit to this hotel we were incredulous to read the recent review entitled "all show and no substance ".
The room with its wonderful views, the food, the staff were all up to the usual high standard. The owner, Frau Leeman, and managers, Daniel and Denise, are competent, courteous , welcoming and friendly.
The evening meal was excellent - elegant , quality food prepared and served imaginatively and if a guest preferred something different the chef was always ready to accommodate them with an alternative if possible.
Sadly we and other guests were embarrassed to sit near the group mentioned in the critical review, there were frequent loud comments about how awful the food was and how they would teach the chef to cook properly etc . It was hardly surprising if the dining room staff found it difficult to respond in a friendly or positive way as is alleged in the review.
We loved our stay and , all being well, will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DRERH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel from June 20 to 27. My parents who have visited this hotel several times travelled with us. We travelled with Inghams and I have to say their two representatives at this hotel were a credit to them and they went above and beyond to be helpful especially in my case as I am disabled. Sadly we cannot say the same about the hotel.
The hotel itself is very nice with comfortable spacious rooms. We found the management to be very offhand most of the time only speaking when they felt like it except for Mrs Leeman the previous owner who always spoke whenever she was around. The restaurant manager was awful. He spoke to us if he felt like it and even then would ask a question at the same time as he was trying to get away as quickly as possible. Why ask a question if you are not interested in the answer? The other staff we found to be lovely and really friendly. I felt really sorry one night for our waiter who was told off in front of us for speaking to us. This is really bad management and they have no people skills.
The breakfast each day was really good with a good selection. The dinner was a five course affair each evening and was poor. We paid a lot of money for this holiday and don't expect to be served packet soups and frozen food that was either undercooked or raw a lot of the time. This was given fancy names every evening to try and pass it off as fine dining. During our stay we saw several people send back food that was either not to their liking or undercooked.
To be fair the waiter did ask us several times if we would like an alternative which we did to start with but gave up as it was all the same.Only once during our stay did we have any food that resembled anything Swiss or German which was a surprise.
My parents have said that a hotel that was so good has now been ruined and that they would not return and sadly even though Wengen is a lovely village and the people lovely and so helpful we would also NOT return to this hotel and agree wholeheartedly with the review by Marj W.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank annie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our 2nd trip to Beausite Park, this time with friends. All aspects of this hotel are well above average. The service is friendly, the food is superb, and if required caters for restrictive diets. The view from the mountain facing rooms is probably my favourite in the whole world. We will return again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoRoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from June 3 to 10, 2014. We booked this hotel based on previous positive reviews in the TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. What a beautiful hotel!
After hours in the train from Zurich Airport, we finally arrived at Wengen Station. The hotel offered to pick us up at the station which we declined; after all, we were in Wengen to trek! A ten-minute walk along the main street of this village brought us to a slight slope looking up to this imposing hotel.
The check-in was very fast. Mrs Margrit Leemann, the proprietress, showed us our room. The hotel had a lift which made it easy to move our bags to the fourth floor. Mrs Leemann was very gracious and made us feel comfortable from the start.
The room was large and spotlessly clean, with en suite bathroom which was very big and bright, well ventilated and heated at night. The bathroom had a stand up shower, a long bathtub and two basins. Towels and floor mats were very clean and white (we do not like coloured towels commonly provided by some hotels). Bathrobes were provided, again in white. Needless to say, the bed sheets and pillows were also white. The balcony overlooked the valley and green pastures dotted with wooden cottages amidst colourful wild flowers. Cows were grazing, bells ringing. What was most awe-inspiring must surely be the mountains! Gigantic glistening snowy mountains were in full sight, day and night – majestic, prehistoric, in all their glory!
The hotel had a main dining hall where all guests had their breakfasts and dinners. Although the dining hall was large, classically furnished, the guests were casually dressed. Guests were seated at the same table everyday – just like on a cruise. This made it easy for the guests as well as the staff.
Breakfasts were substantial. An assortment of breads and cheeses was displayed in the adjoining room, buffet style. Cold meats, bacon and hard boiled eggs were daily fare. A cook was present to prepare made-to-order omelette, fried or scrambled eggs. There was also the usual breakfast food – muesli, corn flakes, cheese, yogurt, fresh and dried fruits. Not to mention that the coffee was good - strong enough, unlike those on cruises!
Dinner was a highlight in this hotel – the main event. All staff members were involved in serving, moving at a hectic pace, yet had time to chat with diners. Mrs Leemann, hosts Denise and Daniel, the captain and three cheerful wait staff worked in a systematic way. Very efficient, friendly and courteous. Superb service!
Dinner was a five-course affair – starter, soup, salad buffet, main course and dessert. The menu varied every day. The main course had a choice of three dishes – meat, fish or vegetarian. The presentation of the dishes was excellent and the food was gourmet. The salad buffet was fantastic – fresh vegetables, corn, beetroot, dried fruits, nuts, fresh fruits and cheese were in abundance. The wine selection was good, prices reasonable. To round the dinner off nicely, we had cappuccino. Super!
We tried the heated Jacuzzi and heated indoor swimming pool in the evening as there was no nightlife in Wengen. There was also an outdoor swimming pool.
What made this hotel stand out must surely be the superb service. Mrs Leemann, the kind lady we came to like, has to be complimented for putting together such a marvellous operation. If you want to enjoy Wengen for all its beauty, a stay in this hotel will definitely make your holiday even more memorable. It was with a tinge of sadness when Mrs Leemann bade us farewell at the front steps.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the valley, not the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SINtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've just returned from a weeks holiday at the Beausite Park Hotel and have had a most enjoyable stay. Considering that this was the last week of the season the managers and their staff were still offering outstanding service when our past experience has shown that staff in other hotels can sometimes be tired and service as a consequence can suffer. We were in awe of how professional and hard working the waiting staff were in the evening when towards the end of the week there was only one waiter/waitress working all the tables.

Food was of a very good quality with a good breakfast buffet selection and a very substantial 5 course meal in the evening. We found ourselves on quite a few evenings only managing 3 out of the 5 courses. As a non-meat eater the staff were very quick to offer a non-meat starter for the set menu which was much appreciated. There was only one meal during the week which wasn't to our taste but Daniel, the manager was very quick to pick up on this and asked for feedback.

We opted to spend a little extra and have 2 mountain facing rooms which is definitely worth the extra cost as the view from the rooms is truly wonderful. It would be nice to have WiFi available in the rooms as free WiFi is only available in the lounge and bar areas which can sometimes be intermittent and travelling with 2 teenagers is almost a must.

The spa facilities are very good and we made good use of the gym which although compact was more than adequate and it was really nice to have this facility after getting back from the slopes.

It's the quality of the staff and the managers that really mark this hotel out. From the moment our luggage was collected on arrival to the minute we left the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive and really couldn't do more to make our stay more enjoyable. On one evening a lovely local girl who had worked at the hotel for the season even went out of her way to say goodbye to us and wish us an enjoyable remainder of our stay which was a very nice touch. She spoke glowingly of the managers which really speaks volumes.

Would we return to the Beausite in beautiful Wengen then most definitely and it's really only a question of when. A huge thank you to Daniel and Denise and their wonderful staff for making our holiday such a memorable one.

The Miles family

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schoenegg
Hotel Schoenegg
#5 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beausite Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beausite Park Hotel

Property: Beausite Park Hotel
Address: Am Wengi 1412C, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#2 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beausite Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is majestically situated in the middle of a park in a most beautiful and tranquil location just above the village centre of Wengen. Views of the Jungfrau an surrounding Alps are breathtaking. The village centre and the mountain railway station can be easily reached on foot. In less than a few minutes, you can be hovering over the "Mannlichen-Kleine-Scheidegg" ski an hiking paradise on the Wengen-Mannlichen cable car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beausite Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beausite Park Wengen
Hotel Beausite Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing