We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Swiss Hospitality!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beausite Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Swiss Hospitality!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2007

The review before this was well written, and makes excellent points. I agree with everything said, and was happy to read about the wine policy...although we never left anything in the bottle to carry over to the next night!

When we arrived at the train station in Lauterbrunnen we called the hotel, and after the scenic train up the mountain to Wengen, we were met by a friendly porter in a small van and whisked to the hotel with efficiency. Even though we were a bit early, Margrit greeted us and we were accommodated immediately. The room and the entire hotel are extremely clean and spacious. The hotel has the charm of old and the luxury of being newly renovated in cozy but stylish decor. Love the fireplace, and the huge windows everywhere.

The pool was one of the highlights, with a jet stream and a waterfall that can be turned on and off, a separate Jacuzzi and a well appointed Swiss spa area complete with an enchanting sauna area (subtle lights and music to add to your relaxation), all in pristine condition. This is Switzerland, and you do have to enter the spa area without swimming attire, however you are welcome to accommodate your need for privacy with as many towels as you need, there are stacks of fluffy white ones everywhere!!!

The view is absolutely spectacular. The location is perfect, a short walk into town, where you will find a Coop supermarket with the same prices as at all other Swiss Coop locations.

Our two daughters, aged 4 and 2, were treated like princesses. The serving staff and hosts always called them by name, and spent extra effort on them. They were offered children's menu items; however the children chose the option of eating the same food as we did. This included soup and salad. Truly impressive that the children were treated like people, and everyone there seemed to enjoy their little personalities. I can't say enough great things about the food. We really enjoyed the variety, while the service and quality remained excellent.

In fact, the first night we arrived the hotel hosted a complimentary cocktail welcome, and I brought down my eldest daughter. She was fussed over by all the well dressed guests, and sat drinking her orange juice out of a wine glass munching on peanuts, and watching the entertainment. I think she is starting to appreciate the good life!

The resort also has great lounging chairs outside, where you can lie back and take in the sun, or jump into the nature pool. We did. We nearly screamed; it was certainly refreshing!!! What can be expected of swimming in a fresh water pond on a mountain?? But the thrill of it was enticing, and it felt pretty great to lie around basking in the sun afterwards...well worth it!!

In summary, the entire resort spotlessly clean, duvets were lovely, the beds comfortable, the balcony view spectacular, food excellent, service impeccable, location can't be beat. What more could you ask for?

  • Liked — The personalized service, the pool, the overall cleanliness and the efficiency with which the hotel is run
  • Disliked — Leaving!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thistlecove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    65
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
222
278
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
715 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

This is an exellent stay in an classy resort that does not feel stuffy. We visited in late June for summer hiking in the area.

Room 103 was very spacious and had lovely views of the mountains (with a balcony.) The traditional furnishings gave us plenty of room to spread out (roomy desk, tables) and the room had many of the "extras" you find in a good hotel, i.e. in-room safe, minibar, cable TV with manys stations in many languages, etc. The drawer space was largely shelves in the closet/cabinet above the rod for hanging items, and were a little high for me (5'4"). Spotless housekeeping in the room and bathroom.

The bathroom was also very spacious, with plenty of counter space, bidet, etc. Minor picky complaint: the lighting in this bathroom is spotlighted in the sink area, which makes the tub/shower are somewhat dark. Taking a bath was grotto-like, and my husband's shower was quite dim -- perhaps a transparent shower curtain for a quick fix? Also: not much in the way of bathroom toiletries, but other supplies were there. This is picky, but for an otherwise excellent, very well-managed place, it was surprising.

The dining room was very good at both breakfast and dinner, and included in our room rate. The breakfast buffet had numerous hot and cold items: cheeses; meats; crepe-like item, pastries, rolls and breads; fresh fruit (oddly more bountiful at dinner rather than breakfast,) juices, cereals, etc. and etc. A young lady will cook eggs to order for you, but she did not have any fillings at hand for omlettes (my husband brought some cheese over from the buffet for her to use.)

Dinner offers a choice of three main courses (one a vegetarian,) a salad buffet, and a changing variety of lavish buffet options. Except for the buffet, excellent, professional waitstaff bring the hot items. One night the buffet was a large spread of cold hors d.oeuvres, but the meal also included soup a simpler dessert. The next night saw a lavish dessert buffet, but the first courses (soup, etc.) were simpler. The following night was a lavish hors d'oeuvre buffet of hot items, simpler dessert... You get the picture. Largely quite delicious, but I'm not sure what is used in the "formed" lobster claw. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. This place also has the accomodating policy that if you don't finish your bottle of wine one night, the unfinished bottle will be brought to your table the next night.

The front terrace is a nice place for cocktails with a view. There are also comfortable inside lounges. The indoor pool is at a good temperature (not too hot or cool,) and in a nice, sunny room. The new "nature pool" outside has pond-like water with decorative waterlillies and plantings in adjacent areas, and lounge chairs on the lawn. But be clear: this is a nature pool, i.e. yes, those are tadpoles you see in the water.

The hotel is well-located: a short walk from town, which makes it a little quieter than being right over the action. It is in a beautiful park-like setting. It is a short walk to the Mannlichen tram and the train station, which connect with many places for sightseeing, hiking options, exploring the area, etc.

Very helpful: there is a free phone service to many hotels (including the BP) at the train station in Lauterbrunnen. Give the hotel a call when you are ready to catch your train from there, and they will send a "golf cart" to pick you up when you arrive.

The staff here are superbly professional, friendly, helpful, and accomodating. We arrived on the later side of lunchtime, but the waiter did a wonderful job of serving lunch on the terrace. Directions at the desk were clearly given; etc. As other reviews have mentioned: this place is beautifully run and managed throughout.

The internet charge seemed a little bizarre. It was quite reasonable for 30 minutes (5 francs, I think?, but I forget) but an hour was 50 francs. We repeated the request in case she meant 15 francs -- no, she meant 50. Peraps they wanted to avoid overloading the system?

An aside: most of people at the time were visited were our age (mid-50's) or older, and generally British. They were a very fit, sociable, friendly group, but still had a sense of decorum. At breakfast, even though all of them would probably go hiking after breakfast, everyone dressed informally but nicely, i.e. the gents in long pants and a collared shirt -- NO ONE showed up at breakfast in hiking boots, crummy running shoes, shorts, etc. Okay, there was one younger couple who showed up ready to hike, but they got the picture the next morning and dressed like grownups (is it THAT difficult to make an effort and dress nicely?) The same unspoken dress code held at dinner, with a few marvelous gents who put on jackets.

To sum: great stay in a classy, comfortable, well-located place what is very well-managed.

  • Liked — Very comfrtoable room; polished, professional staff
  • Disliked — Dark areas in the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We have travelled most of Switzerland and stayed in the very best 5 star hotels. This hotel is by far the best run hotel we have stayed in. The owners Mr and Mrs Leemann are so professional in the way they run the hotel. Their attention to detail and their way of making every guest feel special each and every day of your stay here is second to none. They have an excellent reputation for food in the village of Wengen and most guests here are returning visitors. We have come every year since they owned the hotel and try to come twice a year if possible. Nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as perfect as it can be. They have in our opinion the best spa in the village with amazing facilities. This hotel, it's managing family and location make it we think the best place to stay in the Swiss Alps.

  • Liked — The location and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bossybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

This is the 5th time I've stayed at this hotel and each time it never lets me down. The south facing rooms have excellent views and the food is of an impeccable standard (especially the buffet on thursdays!)

The best feature of this hotel though is the indoor swimming pool. There's a waterfall which you can stand underneath (it's like having a massage!) and the jacuzzi fits about 15 people.

I always try to visit while the Lauberhorn downhill race is held, and this hotel is where the USA ski team normally stay.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan_Sin_Kween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusseldorf
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

Wonderful Hotel! Great food, pool, and grounds. The staff is great. It is a short walk to the main street in Wengen. The hotel has a nice quiet location. The family room is great with two separate bedrooms. The hotel is well worth the price.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank heidiwitheford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2006

This hotel surpassed our expectations in spite of the already great reviews. We had a wonderful family room / two rooms with a huge balcony looking onto the mountains and village. The room was cleaned as soon as we left for breakfast each morning and tidied again in the evenings. The food was fabulous with lots of variety and quantity. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly. We were able to have a takeaway breakfast for our "hard to get up " teenage son and there was no problem in getting alternative meals for fussy eaters! The hotel pool / sauna/ steam room/ jacuzzi were great and rarely busy. There were walks from the hotel as well as great access to other areas by cable car and train. The hotel staff were always helpful and Mrs Leeman the owner and her husband make a point of checking with every guest regularly that everything is to their satisfaction. We would definitely stay here again- some guests have been returning for years.

Helpful?
9 Thank taradoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beausite Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beausite Park Hotel

Property: Beausite Park Hotel
Address: Am Wengi 1412C, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#2 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beausite Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is majestically situated in the middle of a park in a most beautiful and tranquil location just above the village centre of Wengen. Views of the Jungfrau an surrounding Alps are breathtaking. The village centre and the mountain railway station can be easily reached on foot. In less than a few minutes, you can be hovering over the "Mannlichen-Kleine-Scheidegg" ski an hiking paradise on the Wengen-Mannlichen cable car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beausite Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beausite Park Wengen
Hotel Beausite Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing