We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We just returned from having a glorious ski holiday in Wengen!! The Sunstar hotel was recommended to us by a travel journalist. The staff at the hotel were always very helpful. They were friendly and always smiling which to me is a good sign. We were half board and a bit worried that the evening meals maybe a bit disappointing. Well we were pleasantly surprised. Not only was the food gorgeous, the wait staff were professional and very good. The children always had 3 choices and they too loved their food. The beds were very comfortable which is a must after hard skiing. The owner was very helpful and always very cheerful. Very hands on. The hotel is situated right where you would want to be. Right in the middle of the town. No slogging up hills to cable cars or trains. Just a flat gentle 3 min walk. The bar with the fire and cocktails was always very inviting. The only complaint I would have is that the pool was too cold. My children went in but there was no way I was. However the pool area and spa was like the rest of the hotel, spotless and fantastic!!! Will be back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the village side of the hotel so that we would have views of the Eiger. Yes we had ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have stayed at the Sunstar 7 times. Housekeeping are very accommodating as they always provide a duvet on top of the mattress for me as I find them very hard.

We did notice this year that the hotel was was not full and there were less waiting staff in the restaurant so service was slower. Mistakes were made with my order which took over 10 minutes to recftify by which time my partner had finished his course. I had ordered melon which on the menu was served with ham. As a veggie I asked for the melon only. It came with the ham and when pointed out the plate disappeared back into the kitchen only to have the ham taken off and returned. The marks where the ham had laid clearly visable on the plate. When I complained I wasn't offered a replacement as my husband had eaten the melon while I tried to get the waitresses attention. This is the first time I have experienced such poor service at this hotel.

They have reinstated a sauna (which only comfortably seats 4 people)

The activities at the hotel never change, perhaps it is time.

Room Tip: You pay less for village view, and the valley view we got on our first stay was of the tennis cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Second visit with our group of 30 to the Sunstar. Once again the service was excellent - all of our needs catered for. The free minibar is a definite plus. Hotel is ideally situated opposite the Mannlichen lift and a short walk to the station. Hotel Mangers Katja & Oliver Kienzler and their staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Had a fantstic week at Wegen in August the place is absolutely breathtaking as everywhere you look its just magical. The journey to the hotel was a bit of a trek 2 planes and 2 trains. Hotel is noce and clean the food is typical germanish lots of hams etc. Loads of walks and hikes available right from the front of the hotel. Loads of cable cars and trains very near to take to different valleys. The altitude had me struggling to sleep as it is so high uo and had a sore throat, but aprt from that the place is like heaven with the views so stunning and the colours so vibrant.

Room Tip: ones that look aver the Lauterbrunnen valley are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Sunstar several times a few years ago, with pleasure. In January 2011 we returned with two grandchildren. We found the hotel had abandoned its once very good spa and converted it into a steam bath full of English adolescents in swimming costumes who used the swimming pool as their plunge bath. It was both unhygenic and unpleasant. In the past, the hotel made it clear to guests that, for reasons of hygiene, they could not use the spa wearing swimming costumes. This has been abandoned. Despite the hotel's other strengths, we will not return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CEvans451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had a wonderful time in Wengen, and the Sunstar hotel had much to do with that. The service here is outstanding, exceeding what I would expect at a 5-star establishment. The owner introduces himself to all the guests, and went out of his way on trying to help us plan our excursions. My daughter is allergic to dairy and could only drink soymilk, so the waitstaff immediately promised to go out and buy some specifically for her. When talking with another waitstaff member about hiking with our 3-year old, she offered lending us her own jogging stroller that she uses for her little one! The exceedingly friendly and helpful staff cannot be beat. The facilities are also comprehensive and perfect for families - a playroom for kids, an outdoor trampoline, lots of DVDs for movie nights, and an indoor heated swimming pool. Inclusive breakfast and optional dinners made life so easy. The only challenge we had were that the rooms were a bit small for a family of five (we stayed in a duplex) and because it was so warm and there was no air conditioning, our room on the top level of the hotel stayed pretty warm. This is a great value gem for families visiting during the non-peak ski season!

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the clock tower - it rings every 15 minutes even in the middle of the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacDonaldE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

First of all, Wengen is an absolute must if travelling in this area. If you go, the Sunstar is a very nice option. The service/staff are very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is perfect, on the main street, two minutes from the train station.

The rooms are "okay" although the bathrooms are quite small. If you can get a room facing the mountains, you won't be disappointed. The balconies in the rooms overlook a truly sensational landscape.

The other key thing in this hotel is the pool, quite a large one in fact. It is ideal for swimming after a long day of hiking or walking. The pool, like the rest of the hotel is clean and well maintained.

The food at the restaurant is good, not great, but certainly good. The breakfasts are excellent, and the dinners adequate. However, the restaurant is still one of the best in the town, so there aren't many options for truly "fine dining."

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
654 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 20 in Wengen
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#7 of 20 in Wengen
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £155 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing