We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the whole of Switzerland!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Wengen, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel in the whole of Switzerland!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The sunstar wengen hotel is really 5 star quality. It has a lovely bar, fantastic big warm indoor pool, sauna, kids play room, segways and much more!
I personally enjoyed the segways at the hotel had to offer and u didn't even need a driving licence! All u need to do is way more than 45kg to go on the parkour, I leaned how to learn the Segway almost instantly with the help of the instructor. And then I was wizzing around everywhere. And he always watch me and even warned me of when I was going to fast. After that we enjoyed the luxury pool which even have water fans to massage your back! Afterwards we enjoyed a gourmet five star meal at the hotel.
Overall I would rate the hotel 10/10

Room Tip: There all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wary97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    110
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
200
218
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is about the eighth time we have stayed at this hotel and we cannot speak highly enough of the staff, facilities and location - the only thing we can't predict is the weather. The staff are friendly, knowledgable about the local area and nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is perfect for the train station and cable cars - and the traffic free environment of the village is perfect for a relaxed stay. Walking around the local area is strenuous (it is the Alps, after all) but delighful and all the walks are well marked and accessible even for those of us who are getting older. The food at the hotel is of a really good quality and "non-menu" options are always available. We look forward to returning soon. And while we tend to visit in the summer for the walking etc, we have stayed here in the winter and the holiday was just as good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter and have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My 20 year old son and I stayed here for two nights as part of a package walking tour and were only sad that it was two nights only. Despite our late arrival (plane and train delays) we were given a very friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was excellent, five courses, and it made us doubly regretful that we had arrived late the first night as though we had been gven a plate of fresh salad meats, cheese and wonderful breads, we had clearly missed out on a banquet!
We both felt that the real success of this hotel was combining a personal 4* service with the needs of walkers, so that turning up to breakfast dressed up ready for the day's hike was encouraged rather than frowned upon.
Single room a bit on the small side, but service and food earns this an excellent rating from us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We enjoyed so much our stay for two nights at Sunstar. The hotel is located just a minute from the station and shops around it were opened even Sunday and until late evening (it’s quite unusual in Switzerland), so it’s very convenient. Also it’s easy access to a cable car station, a mini-golf course, tennis courts, the tourist information center etc. We found it that Wengen is a small charming village yet very international, which is very nice.

And the hotel services would be categorized as an internationally high standard; each staff was always attentive so you feel it you are treated well. Also, we liked a large pool with spectacular mountains view. It was too late to enter but there are also a sauna and steam bath. We will come back to enjoy the wellness area. The kitchen was also excellent; we enjoyed well-prepared dinners which were four-course menues during our stay. A decent room – it was booked junior suite- was clean and comfortable. Its bath room was a bit small for us but it was practical.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepBlueSky_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were surprised to arrive in Lauterbrunnen and find out that our hotel was actually only accessible via train. It is SO worth taking the train up to Wengen and loved the town. Beautiful little village and would love to ski here sometime!

We were greeted at the hotel but the manager, Oliver, who was delightful! Excellent service by all staff, perfect room, and unbelievable view!

I would highly recommend and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We've stayed in other hotels in Wengen but since staying at the Sunstar, we wouln't go anywhere else. We have always found a very friendly and curteous welcome from all the staff, they are always helpful and responsive. The rooms are always clean and tidy, the food is excellent.The pool has fantastic views of the valley and the mountains. Wengen is an excellent base for walking and travelling by train or cable car and the hotel is just in the right place in the village to start all three. We have seen the hotel improve over our visits there and they are not afraid to innovate. This year, we experienced their first outside buffet in the hotel gardens which we enjoyed emmensely but sadly had to leave the day before their first Segway tour of the village and surrounds.

Room Tip: Always ask for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHAThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A great hotel right in the centre of Wengen, a few minutes walk from both the train station and Mannlichen cable car. We stayed in the Sunnstar in July for 10 days and had an excellent holiday. Oliver and Katja and their staff were so friendly and helpful and food was excellent with an extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast, and substantial 4 course evening meal (normally with 2-3 choices for main course and dessert). The Swiss Buffet on Wednesday evening and Dessert Buffet on Fridays were particularly special. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side overlook the main street and upwards to the Mannlichen, whereas rooms on the west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 20 in Wengen
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing