We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, quiet, luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed at the Wengen Sunstar 3 times, and sure hope to go back again. The rooms are comfortable and airy and offer great views of the mountains and valley below. The service is always fine. We had most of our meals at the hotel restaurant, where both decor and menu are a bit dated, but still a good value. We hear that the restaurant will be redone in 2014, which is good news. (Hoping they keep the Swiss buffet night, and the breakfast buffet!) The pool, steam room and sauna are wonderful to use, especially after a long hike. The hotel is in the center of Wengen, which itself is perfectly situated to take advantage of the hiking, skiing and other outdoor activities that are so plentiful here. Get a pass for the Jungfrau railroads and enjoy.

Room Tip: The two-story suites are great, especially for families. King size bed upstairs, 2 singles or bunk b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

As a travel pro at dmvacation.com This is a wonderful traditional hotel for the Swiss Alpine region. While the outside has a modern appearance the inside is traditional. The staff is welcoming and very helpful. They do go out of there way often. This is especially true of the restaurant staff. The rooms are of reasonable size, but not large. Bathrooms are clean though on the small side.

The location is excellent as it is an easy 2 min walk from the train station. Note that it is on a bit of upward slope. They will on request send a bell man to meet you at the train station to help you. You can call from the train station you will change at to get here with the free hotel phone there.

Food in Switzerland is expensive everywhere. The food here is good and in line with other places. They do have a few options to save money. If you pre-book your dinner you can save 5 SFR per person. They do have a kids menu that is reasonable as well. You can also have them make a box lunch for your day outings and if you do so by 6 pm the night prior you can save approx. 5 SFR as well. You should also consider going to the local grocery store which is located just 2 min away across the street from the train station.

At breakfast you can ask for them to cook an omelet for you. You need to ask as this is not advertised.

The one reason I did give it a lower rating was only the fact that the maid came into our room twice without knocking. To me this is one of the most basic rules that hotel staff have to follow and having site inspected hundreds of hotels I can tell you that this rule is followed without exception around the world.

I would suggest you consider buying the VIP train pass that takes you up and down and all around most of the mountain. This is good for 3 days. If you need more days they have a 6 day pass but you will need to pay additional for the Top of Europe visit which the 3 day pass includes.

If you found the review helpful please be kind enough to give it a helpful vote. Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view, the question is do you want the million dollar view or the half million doll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Beautiful setting, no cars, but very near to the train station, any questions about the region Oliver is the man, a wonderful atmosphere, good food, we used this hotel as a start to a walking holiday, rooms are v comfortable with a safe and mini bar (free) which has water and soft drinks with a couple of beers, the only downer I would point out is it would have been nice to have just the one bottle of beer and a half bottle of wine to keep the ladies happy.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

An excellent welcome and brilliant start to our Swiss tour.
As soon as we arrived at the Sunstar we felt at home, we were welcomed by the receptionist and the hotel manager, Oliver, who could not do enough for us. They kept the restaurant open after hours and the food was amazing and service excellent!
We had a room upgrade, which was a real surprise with a lovely seating area and a wonderful balcony with beautiful views. The free mini bar was also an added bonus!!
We only stayed 2 days, which flew by, especially as there were so many places around to visit. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

What an excellent hotel!. I have just stayed there for seven nights with a small group and we all thought what a wonderful place to stay, both the hotel and the village. We were welcomed at the station and our cases were taken the very short distance to the hotel for us. The village is traffic free. At the hotel we were greeted with a welcoming drink and a review of the hotel facilities including the swimming pool. The hotel is run by Oliver and Katja Kienzler and a fantastic staff who could not do enough for us. The rooms were very comfortable and the mini-bar, including beer, was restocked each day without extra charge. The hotel has its own professional chef who served excellent food, varying the menu through the week.
The hotel is some 45 mins by train from Interlaken but all our party were agreed that it was worth the extra journey because of the quality of the hotel and the scenic nature of that journey. Without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
Chris Lewis

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the main route through Wengen. However, as it is traffic free, nothing dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislewiscll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Ideal situation close to rail station and cable car. All staff friendly and helpful, good food, pleasant room. Extremely good value for Switzerland, no charges for extras (free mini bar, free wi-fi, drinks in restaurant not over priced). I have stayed here the last 2 years and certainly plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have been to Wengen many times and always stay at the Sunstar hotel which we regard as our second home. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we always feel very comfortable there. Wengen on a sunny day is just the most beautiful place to be!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms overlooking the valley have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
654 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 20 in Wengen
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#8 of 20 in Wengen
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £158 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing