We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
474
127
22
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
127
22
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar cable car duplex room large swimming pool raclette evening pillow menu train station valley view excellent holiday reception staff the main street friendly hotel his wife steam room ski school mannlichen lift summer holiday
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We have visited Wengen and the Sunstar Alpine three times over the years. This year my wife and I were again delighted with the friendliness and cuisine at the hotel.
We have always enjoyed the Sunstar but this year more than ever. The things that stood out for us most were the choice of outstanding dishes at the evening meal, the exceptional swimming pool that was always at a perfect temperature, and all the very helpful staff at the hotel.
We hope to visit again before too long, and are very happy to highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Both front rooms facing the quiet main road & cable car and the rear valley view bedrooms are equally good in their own way
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandWellpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Sunstar in Wengen and it is still very good although that is not to say there is not scope for improvement. For example there were no coat hooks in the room, although there was plenty of wall space for them, and only one small one in the bathroom. This is an area where people do outdoor activities and coats, rucksacks etc. need to be hung to dry. The hotel will take clothes to their laundry to be air dried but it is a bit of a fag! There is a ski room for winter visitors. An umbrella is provided and walking poles can be borrowed. Some of the woodwork in our room was starting to look a bit knocked about. The staff are all very helpful, friendly and professional and deliver a very good service across the board – reception, dining room, cleaning etc. It comes from the top of this well managed hotel. The Wi-Fi works well and we could get our usual, main British channels on the TV. The room fridge is restocked with complimentary beer, still and sparkling water, apple juice etc. each day – a very much appreciated gesture and useful for keeping fresh milk for a morning cuppa! There is also a kettle with tea bags and instant coffee. We paid extra for a valley view room which has a balcony with 2 comfortable wicker chairs and a table which overlooks the Lauterbrunnen valley. The nearby church has benches which afford a much better view so it’s worth the very short walk to sit there. Not being religious, I always thought that church bells were used to summon people to church but the nearest church in Wengen rings it’s bells every half hour day and night! The room had no ventilation except the door to the balcony so in summer it can get hot when the sun comes round. If it was windy leaving the door open would not be practicable. Occasionally we had smoke drifting in from other nearby balconies, where smoking is allowed (but not in the rooms). When we asked we were provided with a fan but you don’t want the noise of that when trying to sleep as well as church bells! (I luckily brought some earplugs). Light sleepers – be warned! There is no air conditioning as this is principally a ski resort village. To be fair, other hotels in this part of Wengen have to put up with the church bells so this is not a criticism of the hotel – just the lack of consideration of the Church. Wengen is a great place to stay to explore the Jungfrau and Bernese Oberland region from especially if you buy a travel pass (expensive but worth it if you make use of it every day). The food in the restaurant was very good throughout our 10 day stay. Wine in the restaurant is expensive but the beer is reasonably priced. There is a nearby Co-Op which is well stocked, a pharmacy, a good deli on the back lane between the main church and open air swimming pool, and a decent range of other shops in the village. We would like to come again but will probably forego the valley view next time. Rooms on the village side also have balconies overlooking Männlichen and get the sun in the morning, rather than the evening.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MerlinwizardYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Very nice location in the centre of Wengen. Nice selection of shops including Coop. Comfortable bed with lovely white cotton duvets/pillows. Bathroom ok but rather small but adequate. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Tea/coffee making facilities in room. Friendly staff who speak English.

Room Tip: We had room 207 which had a balcony with table and chairs
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Within easy walking distance of the Wengen train station. Breakfast is included. Nice pool, sauna, bar, game area. Front desk can help arrange train tickets, ski passes, tours, and rentals. They are going through and updating the rooms. One room had new windows and doors. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time to leave a Review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, the service of our reception, breakfast and Wellness area.
We would be very happy to welcome you back soon.
Best regards from Wengen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our week at the Sunstar Alpine in Wengen. Brilliant position just 2 minutes from the station, right across the road from the Mannlichen Gondola, and close to a number of bars and eateries in the village.
Rooms are slightly small but comfortable and the restaurant is excellent, making dinner time a really enjoyable experience every night. Staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly Cyril our friendly waiter.
Pool and spa area were all great too with a great size pool to swim in.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear guest
Thank you so much for your great review.
We are very happy you enjoyed our services and we will forward your comments to Cyril,
you will be really really happy about this Feedback.
Warm regards from Wengen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews