We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveller rating
480
130
25
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
130
25
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar cable car duplex room pillow menu large swimming pool raclette evening valley view train station swiss buffet excellent holiday reception staff the main street lovely hotel his wife steam room ski school skiing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 649 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Went there a couple of weeks ago on a 'fam trip'. The building is friendly and in keeping with its surroundings. On the Monday evening there was a British duo (think Simon and Garfunkel) providing entertainment in the lounge. On the Tuesday night we enjoyed a Raclette Evening in the shed in the garden which was great fun. Looking forward to going back next year.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

This was my first Sunstar experience but won’t be my last! The service was impeccable from the reception desk to the dining to housekeeping. The room we had faced the tram and had a great balcony to sit on and enjoy one of the complimentary beers (which they restocked each day)! Location was perfect. The breakfast was included and exceeded our expectations. So many choices and everything was great. Truly something for everyone to enjoy.
Rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. If you weren’t happy with your pillows they had other to choose from. Complimentary robes in the room for the sauna, steam room, and pool. That area becomes a kid free zone at night and is a great way to relax.

For our last night we had the reception make us a reservation for dinner. We went with the 5 course meal. 53CHF per person which compared with a lot of area restaurants was a great value when comparing amount of food and the quality. Also had a tasty bottle of Pinot Noir with dinner for a reasonable price.

As mentioned this was our first Sunstar experience but couldn’t have been more pleased. It was simply lovely!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank allimaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Everything about this place was great! Our view was perfect. We were right in the middle of everything. The bed was actually comfy and not a brick. They stock your minibar everyday and don’t charge you a penny for it. The breakfast is huge and filling. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. And you get 30% off of most things around Wengen. I really can’t say enough nice things about the staff. They go the extra mile on everything they do.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 805jeffreyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear guest
Thanks so much for your lovely review.
We appreciate that you are mentioning our friendly staff, as they really do a great Job.
Therefore they are very happy if they get such nice feedback from our guests.
We would be very happy to welcome you again!
Best regards from Wengen
Oliver & Katja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Excellent cocktails in bar, dining satisfactory. The faux fireplace gave us a bit of a laugh. The dining room is a bit “commoditized” probably due to large groups. Salad bar is excellent and 3 course dinner a good value. Service a bit spotty but acceptable.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear guest
Many thanks for your review.
Best regards from Wengen
Oliver & Katja Kienzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

the food was such a surprise on the first night, real top quality. the hotel itself was lovely with a menu for your pillows ! The staff were friendly and the location... wow
amazing view out the bedroom window, great idea for the relaxing mediation swimming in the evening with low lighting soft zen music and a lit up Buddha. What a lovely way to relax them aching muscles. Bar area was inviting, it was just generally all round pretty perfect. totally enjoyed my stay and would love to go back if I can ever afford to again..

Room tip: They are all good and you are so tired in the evening you wouldnt notice anyway
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear guest
Thank you so much for your great review.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sunstar Wengen,
especially the food, bar and "Buddha bath"!
We would be very happy to welcome you back one day.

Warmest regards from Wengen
Oliver & Katja Kienzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews