We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can you not love about this place?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What can you not love about this place?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We returned here after a 30 year break and for once i am glad to say that nothing had changed. I sort of get the points some people make about regular guests getting the best tables but then its not like all the other tables are a problem. This pace is a great place to enjoy the Swiss country side and the service and food is excellent. The staff are very helpful and you are always greeted with a friendly smile.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    52
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
83
199
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were here only for one night, but I could have stayed longer.

After a long days walking the welcome was warm and genuine. The rooms were superb with a balcony and stunning views into the valley below/surrounding mountains.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent.

I can't fault this place - one of the best Swiss hotels I stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We returned last week after staying 11 nights at the Alpenrose; we have mixed feelings about this hotel and cannot gush about it as other reviewers have done. One reviewer mentioned that as a first timer there you are a second class guest - couldn't agree more with that statement. At mealtimes we were seated initially quite near the door to the restaurant (not nice!). I asked if it would be possible during our 11 nights there to be seated by a window (11 nights is a long time in one hotel). The reply was 'we will try but as returning guests have priority, it may not be possible'. Is our money not as good as the 'returners'. We were eventually moved to a table a bit nearer the windows but as another reviewer has said, why don't they rotate tables so that people get some variety as to where they are sitting. There's a lot of fussing over returning guests, it was a bit stomach churning to be honest and it doesn't make us want to go back.
Also the food - not always very good. This is our 3rd time in Switzerland and the first time we can complain about the food. Very heavy. I had the vegetarian option one night and couldn't eat it; undercooked aubergine topped with a mountain of melted, greasy cheese. Another night we had overcooked beef - this resulted in meat you couldn't cut or chew. Lots of complaints from other guests as well, even the returners. The breakfast was limited to the usual cereal, then eggs scrambled/fried/boiled, and bacon. No grilled tomatoes, sausage etc.
The decor of the hotel is cosy and the dining room is tastefully done.
Our room was at the back as we could not afford the premium of a front room. That was okay as we have stayed in Wengen before and have seen the views. The room was a bit basic for the price. No fridge; it is handy to have a fridge if you are providing your own packed lunches, as happens in this hotel. TV was positioned in an awkward place, very high up at a 'crick your neck angle'. The sheets were only changed once; this is not enough for an 11 night stay.
Overall the hotel is very clean. The setting is very pretty also.
Dining room staff okay; very pleasant.
If you were to ask us if we would return to Wengen we would say yes - it is a beautiful place. If you were to ask us if we would return to the Alpenrose, we would say an emphatic no.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyeleanor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We were pick up at train station by a bellhop which was very convenient. The room is clean, well furbish, and had a lovely view. The staff is friendly & helpful. There's free wifi and the food at the restaurant is very good. This hotel is a great place to stay at when you are visiting Wengen, very close to train station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szanetich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our expectations were high and we felt let down on a couple of points. Our welcome was warm and friendly and although the wine waiter was still the same loud wine bully, the remainder of the staff were friendly and helpful. He, on the other hand, approached the table with a loud 'You want wine?' After refusing the very expensive wine with a mark up of 5-6 times the supermarket price he virtually ignored us (Thank goodness). But his voice thundered around the dining room as people were persuaded to buy the wine. The quality of some of the food was not as good as we remembered. My other big disappointment was the fact that we were there a week and the bed linen was never changed. This is not acceptable, especially as the towels were changed every day. Apart from these points, this is a lovely hotel and although its a heck of an uphill trudge into the village it's worth it for the lovely position and views from our room.

Room Tip: Always pay for a south facing room as the room at the back have no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annabelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I called the Alpenrose directly. The owners couldn't have been kinder. This is a hotel that, in my opinion, is all you dreamed the Alps were about... When we entered our room and went on the balcony off of that room, I saw 3 waterfalls...and cried! Absolute heaven. My husband, son and I experienced their gourmet food, their kindly staff and wonderful location that allows you to explore and experience the beauty of the Berner Oberland! Falling asleep at night listening to
the occasional sheep bell ring is awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodymaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I cannot say enough about how incredible the Alpenrose is. Starting with the owners and continuing throughout the entire staff, these are the most sincerely nice folks that I have ever had the pleasure to stay with. Very professional and outgoing in their desire to make your stay memorable. The entire property is beautiful, clean as a whistle. Food and wait staff are exceptional. We cannot wait to return to Wengen and without question, the Alpenrose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lauterbrunen valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose Wengen

Property: Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#12 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our alpine hotel with its long family tradition ! The Hotel Alpenrose is the oldest hotel in Wengen and has been owned and run by the same family for well over a hundred years. The 40 rooms and the lounges have been recently renovated in alpine chalet style using lots of wood and the hotel’s own antique furniture. A log fire in our lounge adds to the welcoming atmosphere after a day in the mountains. In our dining room a hearty breakfast is served from our buffet and a fine half board set menu is served in the evenings. The Hotel Alpenrose is situated about 10 walking minutes below the train station and the village centre in a quiet and pleasant location with stunning views into the beautiful valley of Lauterbrunnen and the surrounding snowcapped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing