We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed as a group here (our second time) and had a great holiday. The staff are very friendly and put a lot of effort into making your stay a good one. It was nice to be given a lift up to the centre of Wengen (about a 7-minute uphill walk) in the mornings.

The dinners are excellent - five or six courses each night. The breakfast is good, but could be more varied when you're staying there for a week.

The foyer and bar area is very comfortable and easy to relax in.

British travellers beware - there are no tea and coffee-making facilities in the rooms, but we took a mini kettle. Or you can order drinks in the lounge area.

They've put new TVs in recently, which have loads of TV and radio channels from around the world, so we enjoyed waking up to BBC Radio 4 in the mornings.

The only main drawback is the lack of spa or pool, which is often a nice way to relax after skiing. We went to the Victoria Lauberhorn one afternoon, which has a lovely (if fairly pricey) spa.

Overall, a nice, peaceful, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    52
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
83
199
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel is family run and made us at home immediately.
friendly relaxing hotel.
we occupied a chalet just across road from hotel and it was very spacious and had spectacular views across the Lauterbrunnen valley.
Food was a good standard & I loved the communal lounge.
Nevre had to wait mopre than few minutes for hotel transport up to station.
Hope to return next time we visit Wengen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel with nice rooms. Took a south facing balcony room which was expensive, but would be happy with cheaper room next time. View was top and staff friendly, particularly the owners who are very down to earth.
Breakfast and meals were nice, but the whole experience was budget-crunching! I would still stay here again though - I just need to save for longer! If you want a convenient place to stay for visiting Jungfraujoch and walking the Eiger trail, this is definitely one of them. Not cheap though, and the place attracts the wealthy. A Swiss Pass gets you to Wengen and a mountain railway pass is needed to go further.

Room Tip: Front south facing rooms are expensive but have the view and the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daftduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and this was no way near enough! The room we had, food and overall experience were excellent.

The hotel offer a shuttle service for guests arriving at the Wengen train station, well worth taking advantage of as the hotel is down at the front end of the village. We had a south facing room that looked out over the valley with a spectacular view. The breakfast offering was very good with a great choice. Dinner is a set menu and on each of the 4 nights the food was excellent, really could not fault it. The wine list is very pricey as in most of Switzerland, but they will happily keep any left over wine for the following nights dining. The rooms are a very good standard and what you would expect of a mountain village.

Neither my wife or I skied so we spent the four days sightseeing, a trip up the Jungfrau is a must but if you have a spare day take a trip accross the valley to Murren and up to The Schilthorn, we had a clear day with stunning views.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_Hinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis, maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived early having traveled all the way from the states and Ursula did her best to get us into our room before two. We sat outside enjoying the magnificent view and thought that heaven must be spelled Switzerland. It was a great way to begin our two week trip. We had a large room overlooking the mts with a balcony and found everything abut this family run hotel to be charming. We will recommend highly to all our friends. Don't miss Wengen if you are traveling to Switzerland. It is the best!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We returned here after a 30 year break and for once i am glad to say that nothing had changed. I sort of get the points some people make about regular guests getting the best tables but then its not like all the other tables are a problem. This pace is a great place to enjoy the Swiss country side and the service and food is excellent. The staff are very helpful and you are always greeted with a friendly smile.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were here only for one night, but I could have stayed longer.

After a long days walking the welcome was warm and genuine. The rooms were superb with a balcony and stunning views into the valley below/surrounding mountains.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent.

I can't fault this place - one of the best Swiss hotels I stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose Wengen

Property: Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#12 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our alpine hotel with its long family tradition ! The Hotel Alpenrose is the oldest hotel in Wengen and has been owned and run by the same family for well over a hundred years. The 40 rooms and the lounges have been recently renovated in alpine chalet style using lots of wood and the hotel’s own antique furniture. A log fire in our lounge adds to the welcoming atmosphere after a day in the mountains. In our dining room a hearty breakfast is served from our buffet and a fine half board set menu is served in the evenings. The Hotel Alpenrose is situated about 10 walking minutes below the train station and the village centre in a quiet and pleasant location with stunning views into the beautiful valley of Lauterbrunnen and the surrounding snowcapped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing