We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb traditional family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We first came to this wonderful traditional hotel for a walking holiday in 2005 and have been coming ever since. Previously we had stayed in other hotels in Wengen all of which were very good but what sets this one apart is the warmth of the welcome, not only from the owners but also the staff many of whom come back to work there year after year.

The hotel I think is one of the oldest in the village, it has wonderful views and it is worth getting one the rooms at the front with a balcony, particularly in the summer and lighter winter months if finances allow - you will never forget the view but you will soon forget the few extra pounds on the credit card. The upgraded rooms are very nice and are a similar style to the main lounge/reception area with warm colours. The lounge/reception area is well designed with lots of seating areas so different parties/groups can sit together in distinct areas. There are some very interesting books on the history of the area which is where downhill skiing really got going. The food is pretty good and seems to have got better since our last visit. Its actually worth asking the maître d for his recommendation on the wine list, we deliberately chose swiss wines all week but it was only on the last day we asked what he would recommend from the swiss ones - the one he chose was the best of the week and actually a bit cheaper.
The hotel is located down the hill a bit from the centre which sounds a pain - it isnt. The hotel has a couple of minbuses to whizz people up and down to the village and is very efficient, even though most guests were skiing we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to get a lift up the hill. The walk is in any case pretty short and if you are skiing or walking in the summer is actually a pretty good way to fire up the engines in the morning. If you call them when you are on the train to Lauterbrunnen they will be waiting to pick you and your luggage up by the time you get to Wengen. If you are skiing you can leave your skis/boots etc in the rental lockers at central sport in the centre of the village next to the main cable station so it means you can walk up and down in shoes not ski boots - bliss.
The hotel does some package deals including lift passes at certain times which are very good value, in fact incredible value when you think that Mr Brown and his band of economic illiterates crashed the value of the £ from about 2.40 francs to 1.45 francs to the £.
All in all a great traditional hotel with genuinely friendly & helpful staff worth staying in the winter or summer.
There are only two things I would change - more UK TV channels on the telly (a lot of guests come from the UK) and a shower room for the loons like me who want to ski until the last possible moment and get changed long after checking out before jumping on the train to the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for room at front with balcony upgraded rooms even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is the forth visit we have had to the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience once again. All of the dining room staff were helpful and polite as usual as well as the hosts. We look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have more british TV channels than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkmc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is an excellent, traditional, family-run hotel with staff who really do everything they can to make one's holiday a success. The rooms are comfortable; the food so good one does not want to eat anywhere else - particularly when they have one of their buffets.
It is a short walk up to the village but for anyone who is there to walk or ski it is nothing and there is always transport on hand if required.
We will happily return and recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wallowsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed as a group here (our second time) and had a great holiday. The staff are very friendly and put a lot of effort into making your stay a good one. It was nice to be given a lift up to the centre of Wengen (about a 7-minute uphill walk) in the mornings.

The dinners are excellent - five or six courses each night. The breakfast is good, but could be more varied when you're staying there for a week.

The foyer and bar area is very comfortable and easy to relax in.

British travellers beware - there are no tea and coffee-making facilities in the rooms, but we took a mini kettle. Or you can order drinks in the lounge area.

They've put new TVs in recently, which have loads of TV and radio channels from around the world, so we enjoyed waking up to BBC Radio 4 in the mornings.

The only main drawback is the lack of spa or pool, which is often a nice way to relax after skiing. We went to the Victoria Lauberhorn one afternoon, which has a lovely (if fairly pricey) spa.

Overall, a nice, peaceful, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel is family run and made us at home immediately.
friendly relaxing hotel.
we occupied a chalet just across road from hotel and it was very spacious and had spectacular views across the Lauterbrunnen valley.
Food was a good standard & I loved the communal lounge.
Nevre had to wait mopre than few minutes for hotel transport up to station.
Hope to return next time we visit Wengen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel with nice rooms. Took a south facing balcony room which was expensive, but would be happy with cheaper room next time. View was top and staff friendly, particularly the owners who are very down to earth.
Breakfast and meals were nice, but the whole experience was budget-crunching! I would still stay here again though - I just need to save for longer! If you want a convenient place to stay for visiting Jungfraujoch and walking the Eiger trail, this is definitely one of them. Not cheap though, and the place attracts the wealthy. A Swiss Pass gets you to Wengen and a mountain railway pass is needed to go further.

Room Tip: Front south facing rooms are expensive but have the view and the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daftduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and this was no way near enough! The room we had, food and overall experience were excellent.

The hotel offer a shuttle service for guests arriving at the Wengen train station, well worth taking advantage of as the hotel is down at the front end of the village. We had a south facing room that looked out over the valley with a spectacular view. The breakfast offering was very good with a great choice. Dinner is a set menu and on each of the 4 nights the food was excellent, really could not fault it. The wine list is very pricey as in most of Switzerland, but they will happily keep any left over wine for the following nights dining. The rooms are a very good standard and what you would expect of a mountain village.

Neither my wife or I skied so we spent the four days sightseeing, a trip up the Jungfrau is a must but if you have a spare day take a trip accross the valley to Murren and up to The Schilthorn, we had a clear day with stunning views.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen_Hinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 20 in Wengen
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schoenegg
Hotel Schoenegg
#7 of 20 in Wengen
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose Wengen

Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#12 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £114 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our alpine hotel with its long family tradition ! The Hotel Alpenrose is the oldest hotel in Wengen and has been owned and run by the same family for well over a hundred years. The 40 rooms and the lounges have been recently renovated in alpine chalet style using lots of wood and the hotel’s own antique furniture. A log fire in our lounge adds to the welcoming atmosphere after a day in the mountains. In our dining room a hearty breakfast is served from our buffet and a fine half board set menu is served in the evenings. The Hotel Alpenrose is situated about 10 walking minutes below the train station and the village centre in a quiet and pleasant location with stunning views into the beautiful valley of Lauterbrunnen and the surrounding snowcapped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing