We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit to Switzerland and we decided to spend the first 3 nights at Wengen.
This family-run hotel has a wonderful old world charm, the rooms are very chalet- like , with a superb view!
Ursula and her team are very welcoming and helpful.
The half board is value for money with a nice breakfast and
5- course dinner.
The only negative part is that they have a fixed table in the restaurant for each room, with "tables with a view " given to old customers..... they should give tables on "first come, first
served" basis.
The food is good, and the staff efficient.
Wengen is a quiet hill station, but well connected with lots to do even in summer. The various walks and trails around it take you to mind- blowing Swiss country side......
Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    52
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
206
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights. Our room was clean, very comfortable and the view of the valley and mountains was spectacular. It was in a perfect location, approx 10 min walk to the train station, which made access to all the major attractions a very easy commute. The hotel is a five generation run hotel, and Ursula and her parents do a wonderful job of keeping up the excellent traditions. The food in their restaurant, both breakfast and dinner, was delicious. Definitely the place to stay when visiting Wengen or the area.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the hotel which has the perfect view of the valley and mountains from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the family-run hotel and especially enjoyed the views from our room and the hotel's lounge areas. Margaret and Rachel were friendly and welcoming. Our large room had a nice porch and basic furniture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk downhill from train station, and the hotel provided shuttle service for luggage. The hotel's food wine was of average quality.
Views and easy train access to the regions major attractions are the major features of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband has been coming to Wengen for many more years than he would care to remember but we have been coming to this wonderful family run hotel for the past 5 years and will continue to do so from now on! We have tried other hotels in Wengen but the hospitality & friendliness of Ursula & her parents - along with all their staff - are in a league of their own and that makes their guests feel very special and want to return year after year. Every whim is catered for with minimum fuss. The food is outstanding and I agree with the last review - The Alpenrose really is the best kept secret in Wengen……

Room Tip: They have an arrangement with Central Sports to leave your skis & boots in the lockers there….a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ems280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Although I have visited the picture postcard perfect village of Wengen on a number of occasions since the early 1980s, this was my first stay at the Alpenrose. I had been recommended to stay here by a good friend and the recommendation turned out to be exemplary.
From the moment you walk through the doors of the Alpenrose, you just know it is going to be a very special stay. Family owned and run, this hotel has a long (130 year) heritage to maintain and they do it exceptionally well. The staff are genuinely friendly and efficient, the rooms are scrupulously clean and the five course dinners are really memorable. The quality of food and standard of cooking are extremely high. The bar and surrounding area is incredibly comfortable. It is like a home away from home. And yet the prices are not high at all, especially when one considers the value for money aspect.
The views across the valley are quite spectacular, if like me you had a room with a balcony in front.
My skiing trip was all too short and I cannot wait to book at the Alpenrose next year. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room with balcony. The views are simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We first came to this wonderful traditional hotel for a walking holiday in 2005 and have been coming ever since. Previously we had stayed in other hotels in Wengen all of which were very good but what sets this one apart is the warmth of the welcome, not only from the owners but also the staff many of whom come back to work there year after year.

The hotel I think is one of the oldest in the village, it has wonderful views and it is worth getting one the rooms at the front with a balcony, particularly in the summer and lighter winter months if finances allow - you will never forget the view but you will soon forget the few extra pounds on the credit card. The upgraded rooms are very nice and are a similar style to the main lounge/reception area with warm colours. The lounge/reception area is well designed with lots of seating areas so different parties/groups can sit together in distinct areas. There are some very interesting books on the history of the area which is where downhill skiing really got going. The food is pretty good and seems to have got better since our last visit. Its actually worth asking the maître d for his recommendation on the wine list, we deliberately chose swiss wines all week but it was only on the last day we asked what he would recommend from the swiss ones - the one he chose was the best of the week and actually a bit cheaper.
The hotel is located down the hill a bit from the centre which sounds a pain - it isnt. The hotel has a couple of minbuses to whizz people up and down to the village and is very efficient, even though most guests were skiing we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to get a lift up the hill. The walk is in any case pretty short and if you are skiing or walking in the summer is actually a pretty good way to fire up the engines in the morning. If you call them when you are on the train to Lauterbrunnen they will be waiting to pick you and your luggage up by the time you get to Wengen. If you are skiing you can leave your skis/boots etc in the rental lockers at central sport in the centre of the village next to the main cable station so it means you can walk up and down in shoes not ski boots - bliss.
The hotel does some package deals including lift passes at certain times which are very good value, in fact incredible value when you think that Mr Brown and his band of economic illiterates crashed the value of the £ from about 2.40 francs to 1.45 francs to the £.
All in all a great traditional hotel with genuinely friendly & helpful staff worth staying in the winter or summer.
There are only two things I would change - more UK TV channels on the telly (a lot of guests come from the UK) and a shower room for the loons like me who want to ski until the last possible moment and get changed long after checking out before jumping on the train to the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for room at front with balcony upgraded rooms even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is the forth visit we have had to the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience once again. All of the dining room staff were helpful and polite as usual as well as the hosts. We look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have more british TV channels than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkmc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#7 of 20 in Wengen
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose Wengen

Property: Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#12 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our alpine hotel with its long family tradition ! The Hotel Alpenrose is the oldest hotel in Wengen and has been owned and run by the same family for well over a hundred years. The 40 rooms and the lounges have been recently renovated in alpine chalet style using lots of wood and the hotel’s own antique furniture. A log fire in our lounge adds to the welcoming atmosphere after a day in the mountains. In our dining room a hearty breakfast is served from our buffet and a fine half board set menu is served in the evenings. The Hotel Alpenrose is situated about 10 walking minutes below the train station and the village centre in a quiet and pleasant location with stunning views into the beautiful valley of Lauterbrunnen and the surrounding snowcapped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing