We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel with lovely mountain views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with lovely mountain views”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Alpenrose in late June so that we could be close to a variety of hiking trails in the Jungfrau region and be somewhat close to Jungfraujoch. The hotel has very positive reviews on Trip Advisor and everyone we encountered at the hotel said they had been coming to the Alpenrose for many, many years and just love it. The atmosphere is very quiet and relaxed and almost all guests seemed to be 30 + years older than us.

The hotel is located just a short 7 to 10 minute walk downhill from the train station (the train station is in the center of town). However, the hotel will pick you up when coming/going with luggage. You can find walking trails very close by, the Mannlichen Cable Car, the Tourist Information Center, a couple grocery stores, shops, restaurants, etc. A pharmacy is on the other end of town (a few minutes passed the train station). Wengen is a nice town, but we felt like we had seen everything in a couple hours. We did get to enjoy a cultural evening in town (bell ringers, dancers, horn player).

I had emailed the hotel asking for specific instructions on how to travel there from Zurich by train. I did receive a prompt and polite reply, but didn't get specific routing. We figured it out of course.

We had a superior room with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and beautiful mountains in the distance. The room was very clean and spacious, and the bathroom was large with 2 sinks and a large countertop. There was a flat screen TV with a lot of channels. Wifi worked well and was included in the rate. No fridge and no room service (not expected based on the type of hotel; just FYI).

We weren't able to book the hotel on booking.com or their website so I contacted the hotel via email to inquire about the rates. I was offered a room with breakfast and dinner included (no other rate offered), so I accepted. However, I didn't realize that you must be seated for dinner between 7-8 pm, and that the hotel reserves you a specific table (same table) for every meal. They probably take great care in preparing the evening meal and do expect you to be there. We don't always eat at the same time of day and it's hard to know your schedule when you are out hiking, etc. We canceled our reservation a couple times and felt as though we were given the "eye" of disappointment by our waiter the next time we saw him. Note to hotel: The salad dressing bottles at the buffet were all very sticky.

The breakfast buffet was okay. The coffee pot brought to the table was quite nice.

We only met the owners once toward the end of our stay and they were really friendly and kind. Fantastic people. The other person (who I corresponded with via email and in person) was certainly fine, but not as personable.

While we enjoyed ourselves and think very highly of the owners, I don't think it was the best fit for our travel style.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xctour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    52
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
206
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Friends of ours have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and had recommended it to us.
We were so happy that we were able to stay here. Our room with large balcony was perfect in every way, The view was breathtaking! The room was spacious and very clean, with plenty of storage space. The bathroom was a great size with a towel rack that really warmed up quickly. Ursula and her staff were wonderful in every way.She was great about telling us of interesting walks and was always available for any questions.The half board was a great way to go, because the food was delicious. It was so nice to come back from a day of hiking and not have to think about where to eat or what to order. It truly was like being pampered. I have read about the table assignments. I'm not sure that it is based on frequency of visits., but it wouldn't matter to me if it were. We had a lovely booth on the back wall, then were later moved to a window table and this was our first trip to the Alpenrose. I just think the table assignments must help them in some way. This place is so fantastic, I would never be bothered with where I sat in the lovely dining room. The breakfasts were delicious with many choices. There are several lounges to enjoy after a walk or dinner. We thought this was a wonderful place to stay with views of the mountains and valley that we will never forget.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies on the south side have a view that will amaze you. Room 403 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJSKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit to Switzerland and we decided to spend the first 3 nights at Wengen.
This family-run hotel has a wonderful old world charm, the rooms are very chalet- like , with a superb view!
Ursula and her team are very welcoming and helpful.
The half board is value for money with a nice breakfast and
5- course dinner.
The only negative part is that they have a fixed table in the restaurant for each room, with "tables with a view " given to old customers..... they should give tables on "first come, first
served" basis.
The food is good, and the staff efficient.
Wengen is a quiet hill station, but well connected with lots to do even in summer. The various walks and trails around it take you to mind- blowing Swiss country side......
Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights. Our room was clean, very comfortable and the view of the valley and mountains was spectacular. It was in a perfect location, approx 10 min walk to the train station, which made access to all the major attractions a very easy commute. The hotel is a five generation run hotel, and Ursula and her parents do a wonderful job of keeping up the excellent traditions. The food in their restaurant, both breakfast and dinner, was delicious. Definitely the place to stay when visiting Wengen or the area.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the hotel which has the perfect view of the valley and mountains from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the family-run hotel and especially enjoyed the views from our room and the hotel's lounge areas. Margaret and Rachel were friendly and welcoming. Our large room had a nice porch and basic furniture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk downhill from train station, and the hotel provided shuttle service for luggage. The hotel's food wine was of average quality.
Views and easy train access to the regions major attractions are the major features of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband has been coming to Wengen for many more years than he would care to remember but we have been coming to this wonderful family run hotel for the past 5 years and will continue to do so from now on! We have tried other hotels in Wengen but the hospitality & friendliness of Ursula & her parents - along with all their staff - are in a league of their own and that makes their guests feel very special and want to return year after year. Every whim is catered for with minimum fuss. The food is outstanding and I agree with the last review - The Alpenrose really is the best kept secret in Wengen……

Room Tip: They have an arrangement with Central Sports to leave your skis & boots in the lockers there….a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ems280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Although I have visited the picture postcard perfect village of Wengen on a number of occasions since the early 1980s, this was my first stay at the Alpenrose. I had been recommended to stay here by a good friend and the recommendation turned out to be exemplary.
From the moment you walk through the doors of the Alpenrose, you just know it is going to be a very special stay. Family owned and run, this hotel has a long (130 year) heritage to maintain and they do it exceptionally well. The staff are genuinely friendly and efficient, the rooms are scrupulously clean and the five course dinners are really memorable. The quality of food and standard of cooking are extremely high. The bar and surrounding area is incredibly comfortable. It is like a home away from home. And yet the prices are not high at all, especially when one considers the value for money aspect.
The views across the valley are quite spectacular, if like me you had a room with a balcony in front.
My skiing trip was all too short and I cannot wait to book at the Alpenrose next year. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room with balcony. The views are simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 20 in Wengen
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose Wengen

Property: Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#12 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our alpine hotel with its long family tradition ! The Hotel Alpenrose is the oldest hotel in Wengen and has been owned and run by the same family for well over a hundred years. The 40 rooms and the lounges have been recently renovated in alpine chalet style using lots of wood and the hotel’s own antique furniture. A log fire in our lounge adds to the welcoming atmosphere after a day in the mountains. In our dining room a hearty breakfast is served from our buffet and a fine half board set menu is served in the evenings. The Hotel Alpenrose is situated about 10 walking minutes below the train station and the village centre in a quiet and pleasant location with stunning views into the beautiful valley of Lauterbrunnen and the surrounding snowcapped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing