We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in Wengen”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service in Wengen”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very enjoyable stay here 1st to 8th February. The hotel is well situated for transport to ski areas and it is possible to ski back almost to the hotel. Meals were very tasty and plentiful with a buffet at breakfast ( great coffee ) and five course evening dinner with salad bar. The spa ( Wellness Center ) was excellent with two saunas. We used our credit vouchers to have Fondue in the hotel's a la carte restaurant one evening. A nice touch is complementary tea and cake served between 4-5p.m.
Our rooms were spacious with good bathrooms and kept very clean. The only criticism would be that the rooms were overly hot despite having all the radiators switched off. We controlled this by having the balcony window open all day and closing it at night.
Wengen is lovely with very good tourist services and a lovely wee Anglican church. We went to the evening service and really enjoyed it. Be aware that although the skiing is extensive there is a bit of travelling involved to access the slopes either by train or cable car. We skied over on the Murren slopes and went up to Schilthorn and the revolving 007 restaurant one day which was fun.
There are well marked paths for walkers if not into skiing.
All in all a great holiday with great accommodation. I would be happy to stay at the Silberhorn again any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    114
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
121
131
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My family & I (2 adults & 2 children) stayed at the Silberhorn from 27th July for 2 weeks last year.

In many ways this hotel was excellent. It is situated amongst the shops, 5 minutes from the Mannlichen cablecar and just 82 strides (yes we counted them) from the railway station.

Our room (428) overlooked the valley, the Jungfrau and the railway station. Not only were the views magnificent, but also the noise from the railway station wasn't a disturbance at all. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to get a decent night sleep most nights. You could also get free wifi in your room although disappointingly you had to renew the passcode every 3 days. The only other negative I have about the room is that it was very dark, however when my wife mentioned this to the manager he was very helpful and supplied us with some extra lighting.

The staff on the hotel reception were generally very helpful and efficient and dealt with all our enquiries promptly.

The restaurant was very pleasant and mostly the staff all seemed happy and friendly, although more on this in a minute. The food was generally very nice. Breakfast was lovely with a mixture of cooked and continental style foods available. Evening meals, whilst generally very nice, were slightly 'hit and miss' . Everything was very tasty and nicely cooked and most nights I was able to choose something I liked for my main course, but sometimes it was a case of having to choose what I disliked the least.There was also a menu for the children which has some fairly standard fare (chicken nuggets & chips etc).

Now I have to come to the only really negative things I found about the Silberhorn. In the restaurant you had to order what you wanted for your evening meal (adults and children) at breakfast time by marking your choices on a printed menu left on your table. Although it wouldn't prevent me from returning, I was rather disappointed that they chose to do this as I would rather have chosen my food for the evening when I sat down to it, not 9 or 10 hours earlier. The only other negative thing is also related to this. One morning we had forgotten to order the evening meals for our two children. When we arrived for our evening meal, my wife was promptly told off by Gerri who , up to this point had been a happy and smiling prominent member of the restaurant staff. I didn't appreciate my wife being spoken to in this manner, so please, get rid of the advance ordering!!

However, I have to say that these were only fairly minor negatives in what was an otherwise very pleasant hotel and I would happily return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent a week here. Hotel is centrally sited and excellent for catching the mountain train up to Kleine Scheidegg or down to Lauterbrunnen. Wearing ski boots it's only a minutes walk to the train, or 3-4 minutes over to the Mannlichen cable car. The first night we had one of the older but more spacious rooms overlooking the street which was a little noisy with people leaving the bars later on, so requested a quieter room next day. The staff were brilliant and found us another room in the newer part of the hotel, which was smaller but modern and quiet with a balcony. We opted for half board and the food was indeed plentiful. Massive breakfast buffet. You have to order your main course for the evening at breakfast time, with a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian, so not a huge choice. The evening meal was good but most days we found the main course dry, probably from sitting under the heat lamp. The chef also likes his salt! We did put this on the hotel feedback form so maybe they will reduce it now. If you desire something different you can get a voucher from reception for CHF25 towards a meal in the a la carte restaurant downstairs. Great steaks!

The hotel ski storage room was useful with boot warmers and ski rack locks available from reception.

We used the Wellness centre a few times and enjoyed the indoor and outdoor jacuzzis after a hard day skiing!

Overall, all the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Not the cheapest place to stay in Wengen but I would certainly recommend this for a relaxing and enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing balcony (Jungfrau view) room if you can afford it. If not and you have a vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I congratulate the Silberhorn on the standard of their single rooms. Opening the door to room 201 it was such a pleasure to find a double bed, a south facing balcony, and a lovely bathroom. l usually find at a lot of hotels a broom cupboard that costs me a fortune!! So thank you Silberhorn. for an excellent guest experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here on a ski holiday & location was ideal for the trains & cable car, No more than 3 minutes walk at most. Very friendly attentive staff, nice room & fantastic views. Very impressed with the food, good choice & to a high standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just back from spending Christmas in Wengen at the Hotel Silberhorn for the second year running. Lovely room with a tremendous view of Jungfrua. Really nice breakfast and evening meal. Staff very friendly and helpful. First class location with loads of alpine charm.

Room Tip: Our room was 531 and had amazing views of the mountains and valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KETCHIKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location pretty much outside train station. Very wooden Nordic sauna style room suited the mood perfectly and was warm and comfy. Nice breakfast. Nice gym and a crazy ice covered slightly dangerous hot tub area

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_the_Wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#10 of 20 in Wengen
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Dorfplatz, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#10 Family Hotel in Wengen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silberhorn 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Silberhorn is found in car-free Wengen, surrounded by impressive mountains in the Bernese Oberland at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is located right in the center of the village and is the perfect starting point for various excursions around the Jungfrau region. The hotel is in the opposite of the Jungfrau railway station Wengen - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! As per our device ,,everything under one roof" the Silberhorn offers all amenities to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. At the hotel you find our new spa and wellness area, the Swiss ski school, the sports shop Alpia, a jewelry shop as well as our a la carte restaurant ,,Silberhornstube". Due to the big advantage of its location, right in the heart of the village, you are able to create your holiday perfectly: next to the hotel Silberhorn you find in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car, right next to our hotel, you reach within 5 minutes walk the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the breathtaking view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silberhorn
Best Western Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing