We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Baeren
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel(Wengen)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Regina(Wengen)
US$360
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
354
46
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
46
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardevery nighttrain stationswiss chocolatecourse mealbreakfast and dinnerbalcony roomrooms overlookinghalf farelauterbrunnen valleyhighly recommend hotelhomemade jamsfamily roomwonderful hostsfresh ingredientsyogurtowners and staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Visiting Switzerland for the first time we found in Wengen everything we were looking for. It is picturesque beyond belief, wonderful walks and hikes, with slow but easy access to the surrounding peaks via the cog railways. The town itself has views, alpine meadows in abundance. All this was made even better by staying at the Hotel Baren. The service was friendly, accommodating and efficient, it seemed the staff were one big happy family. The rooms were very comfortable and the view incomparable (we had room 101) with a balcony overlooking the Lauterbrunnen Valley - seeing sunset and sunrise on the Jungfrau and the other still snow covered peaks is something we will always remember. We took the half board arrangement whereby we ate every night at the hotel, the meals always included fresh local ingredients including lettuce from the hotel's own gardens. If you are looking for flash and streamlined this is not the hotel for you, but if comfort, coziness and good old fashioned service is what you looking for, plus a view that is hard to beat, then it is.

Room Tip: 101 was excellent
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poodlewars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you liked your stay at the Bären.
We are also very glad to have all this nice staff members to work with us and hope they stay for ever!
Thank you also for the compliments to the kitchen, they always try to use fresh and local ingredients. We are also proud to have the salad and the herbs out of our Garden during the summer time.

Thank you again for your wonderful review. When you are planning your next trip to Wengen, please contact us directly again so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Kind regards Therese & Willy Brunner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great experience and visit except for some hiccups here and there.
Service- We had to wait a while for check in because the recep was not there when we reached. We took it in our stride since we weren't in a hurry that day. They do seem a bit shorthanded at times but the staff were friendly and always ready with a smile and greeting wherever we see them at the hallway or lobby that made you feel at home.
Room - The room was clean, big and had a magnificent view of the mountain ranges. Beds were very comfortable. There was a private balcony for you to enjoy the view so it was worth it to pay the extra for the view. There is no lift so be ready to lug your luggage up to higher floors.
Location - It was located downhill from the train station (5 mins walk) and fairly easy to find.
Food - We took the half board. Dinner was quite impressive in terms of taste or presentation and creativity compared to some of the other places we ate in other cities in Switzerland. It was definitely value for money.
Others - I wouldn't consider it cheap (but this is Switzerland after all) but I would definitely book the same place at Wengen if I do go back again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bungo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you have got to wait for a while when you arrived. Yes we do not always have someone at the front desk in the afternoon, but the Keys are usably ready at the front desk for the guests with a Reservation. We are very Sorry if we missed your on arrival.

We are happy you enjoyed the room and the balcony with the view.

But we are very sorry you did not find the lift. Last autumn we worked very hart to build in a lift in our Hotel. It was dirty and noisy at the Hotel from the bottom to the top of the house! But now we are so glad to have the lift and all the rooms redecorated.

We would very much looking froward to welcome you again

Kind regards

Therese Brunner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had an absolutely wonderful experience at this Hotel. The meals were very impressive and the views from balconies were unbelievable. The staff were so warm and helpful for the duration of our stay and I recommend 100%.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank KMary93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Know that for Americans, Switzerland as well as the Euro zone is expensive for us to visit thanks to poor dollar conversion but it is worth paying the price to have a hotel like the Baeren. You'll have to visit my website, TravelsWithSheila.com for all the wonderful details forthcoming. However, videos should appear on my YouTube channel, travelswithsheila with 2-3 weeks. I agonize over choosing a hotel for 10 nights and sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.

Hotel Baeren was a gigantic win on all levels. Wonderful food with choices, my favorite and crusty dark breads at their bountiful buffet which also included squeeze your own fresh juice; did you ever? Two plump and mushy pills, duvet, immaculate hotel and even the little accessories that make life so much easier, e.g., a small magnifying mirror in bathroom and plenty of space for accessories. Don't even get me started on the food since we waddled away daily, overfed to the brim.

Therese and Willy Bruner, owners were warm, friendly and can't do enough for their guests as well as their help who always had a smile on their face and were eager to help.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra to get a room overlooking the valley.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent last weekend at Hotel Baeren in Wengen and man were we impressed! The property was completely renovated before the 2013/2104 ski season and they did an absolutely wonderful job. The rooms were large with amazing views from our private balconies. Beds were beyond comfortable and the bathrooms were a Swiss perfection, something rarely seen in Swiss ski resorts!

I can't say more amazing things about this property, I literally did not want to leave. The Hotel features one of the best restaurants in the cities (note to self make reservations as they get very crowded). The staff was welcoming and extremely helpful and spoke wonderful English.

I cannot wait to go back and spend another weekend in Wengen and at Hotel Baeren!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews