We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visited Hotel Baeren in Wengen in June 2014 and it was such a place. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very nice and roomy compared to other European rooms. We had a balcony looking out at the mountains which we thoroughly enjoyed. The only con was that we had smokers next door who sat out on their balcony and smoked continuously (you can't smoke in the rooms) which was very aggravating. The restaurant was delicious as well! Salad was outstanding!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a balcony but if not, definitely request one with a balcony to enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    42
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
192
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
319 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Baeren and have nothing but wonderful things to say about our experience there. We are a family of 5. Our kids range in age from 18-24. We needed two rooms and hoped for valley views. Therese, the owner was so helpful via emails in describing our room options, and then getting an extra bed into our second room in order for our three kids to room together. We decided on the two rooms on the top floor with valley views. WOW. If it is within your budget to do so, definitely get the balcony rooms facing the valley. It was like a dream every time we walked out onto that balcony. The views are so spectacular, they don't seem possible.

Our rooms were perfect. My husband and I had the "Lobhorn" room. This room had a king bed (two twins, attached and with separate bedding) and a sitting area with two chairs and a cafe table. The bathroom held a real treat- the huge, freestanding tub. Not only was it gorgeous to look at, but it was absolutely divine to come home to a nice hot bath after a rigorous day of hiking. The tub was super comfy. The bathroom also has a shower. Nice, thick towels. Pretty sink and good sized countertop area. The toilet is in a separate room, with its own small sink. There is a hairdryer in the rooms. The shower has an all purpose shampoo/shower gel. There is no conditioner or bar soap, so bring these from home if you desire them.

Our kids had the room right next door to us. By removing a pc of divider wood, we were able to open up the balcony to one large area and access our kids' room from there. We both kept our balcony doors open much of the time, so it was easy to go back and forth between the rooms. The kids' room had 3 single beds. Their bathroom was a bit smaller, but still very nice. The beds in this hotel are firm but very comfortable and the bedding soft and fluffy.

The housekeeping is outstanding. Our rooms were kept spotless. The whole hotel feels very clean and tidy. The staff is all very friendly and speak English well. The owners, Therese and Willy are such nice people and provide great hospitality.

We chose the half-board option and were very glad that we did. The food was delicious! Willy is an experienced and talented chef. Dinners started out with fresh bread/butter and then the first course of piping hot soup. Every soup we had was complex and wonderful even though they might have looked like a simple consommé. On the last night, we were served "mustard" soup. Very unique and amazing combination of flavors. I asked our server if the chef would share the recipe. Not only was he willing to share it, but he came out of the kitchen later and stood there and personally dictated the entire recipe to me and discussed the technique. I can't wait to try making it on a cold day! The second course was always a salad, along with a cold appetizer or pasta side. The main dishes were perfectly prepared meats, along with sides of vegetables and a starch. We enjoyed the light, pretty desserts as well.

This is a small inn with friendly, personal service. A peaceful place to come home to after a busy, active day in the mountains. Simple, attractive, and spotless rooms. We would highly recommend this hotel and absolutely hope that we can return there one day in the future!

Room Tip: A balcony room facing the valley is well worth the money. We have never, ever had a view out our ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved our stay so much last summer, I booked the same room again this summer and was not disappointed. This is one of the hotels that I consider a "home away from home," in that I feel so relaxed and comfortable. Housekeeping does a wonderful job and the rooms are kept very clean. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I should add that there does not seem to be much turnover in their staff as I recognized about everyone from last summer (to me this speaks volumes). The kitchen is still wonderful and well-worth the half-board (we have never been disappointed). New this year is the elevator. This was added last fall and is very nice after a day of hiking. Also, it appears this June they added scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage to the breakfast options. I would highly recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: room with a balcony overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennesseetraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel, staff fantastic, food fabulous.

We had a great stay here for 6 days in June. We opted for the half board option, well worth it, the menu changes daily and provides good value, along with the breakfast.

Rooms relatively basic (but it is primarily a ski resort (town) but still lovely and beds super comfy. We had a balcony room on the second floor.

Special mention must go to both Jana and Jennifer for their hospitality and friendly service, it really added to the overall experience.

Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDags78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Room was very comfortable, newly fitted out and immaculately clean. Looks like the pictures on website. Our room had an amazing view of the valley.

Staff were extremely warm, genuine and very helpful.

Food - both breakfast and the four course dinner - was very good and fresh, with much of the vegetables coming from the hotel's own garden.

Other points - Each day housekeeping left the room immaculate, very easy to reach (3 mins) from Wengen station which is a good base for exploring the Jungfrau region.

As a smaller hotel it was not overrun by some of the (very loud) large groups tours seen elsewhere in this neck of the woods.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed the Baeren although if you are carrying a lot of luggage, arrive before 2 pm or walk the 1/4 mile to the hotel down a very steep road. Otherwise they will pick you up.
Town is small and fun. Hotel is well placed and has rooms overlooking mountains.. choose those.
Hikes and fun and the train to the top of europe right out the door.
Food was great and kudos for making an effort to give me fish vs the meat offered. Very thoughtful indeed. In short, a great hotel and small and comfy. Rooms modernish and refined. Not retro
"alps like." LIke the woman who runs it who really cares. Book here, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for view. Get a high floor. And remind them you need help if you have some serious luggage to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malibutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in Hotel Baren for 2 days in family room.Very cosy and comfortable rooms with sliding doors between sections,immaculate housekeeping,clean toilets,laundry etc.

Best part of the place was the very warm and friendly attitude of the management and staff which made you feel at home.From accommodating vegetarian meals to local guidance for travel ,to luggage drop at station everything was done with a big smile.

Dinner served was brilliant three course meal with flexibilty as per your needs.

Over all had a great stay and hopefully would love to come to come back.

Rohit Seth

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohitseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schoenegg
Hotel Schoenegg
#5 of 21 in Wengen
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Am Acher 1363B, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wengen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#4 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Baren Wengen
Zum Baren Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing