We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Baeren
Nearby Hotels
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel(Wengen)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Regina(Wengen)
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
354
46
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
46
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardevery nighttrain stationswiss chocolatecourse mealbreakfast and dinnerbalcony roomrooms overlookinghalf farelauterbrunnen valleyhighly recommend hotelhomemade jamsfamily roomwonderful hostsfresh ingredientsyogurtowners and staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We are just about to finish our 9 day stay in the beautiful town of Wengen. The hotel Baeren is a lovely hotel with amazing views, good food and lovely staff.
We stayed in their superior room with a balcony the hotel is lovely and clean with great facilities and obviously well loved and cared for by the owners. the town is car free and the station is close by get a jungfrau pass to fully appreciate the area at 250chf it appears pricey but believe me it is value for money you can use it on all the trains in the region along with the cable cars.
This has been a wonderful stay and highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location is conveniently located within 8-10mins walk from Wengen station. Just look out for Co-op, and while keeping Co-op to your left, you will find a downward slope towards a "tunnel". Just walk through the short "tunnel", and after a 2-mins walk, u will find Hotel Baeren.
We were blessed with a room with a balcony facing the mountain. We were awed by the view! Simply breathtaking! Makes u wanna stay at this place forever!

Room was cosy and clean.

We were so glad that our accommodation package had included both breakfast and dinner. We could see how the chef had put his heart in each dish, as the portion was generous and had used fine quality ingredients for the dishes. All the dishes were tastefully decorated and were almost like art pieces for admiration. Services provided by the waitresses were commendable, as they would tentatively ask if the pace of serving the dishes is alright, and to check if u were satisfied with the food.

The dining tables, rooms and even the washrooms in the lobby were all beautifully decorated with flowers and ornaments. From the little details that the owners had put in, we can sense that they really take pride in their hotel. Thumbs up for the excellent management of the hotel!

After the hefty meal, we strongly encourage u to go for a short stroll around the hotel. We were recommended to take a 30mins stroll behind Wengen up the slope where we enjoyed a wonderful view of Lauterbrunnen with lotsa nice benches. I forgot the exact name of the place. U can ask the friendly staff at the hotel for direction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breezer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are glad to have stayed at Baeren during our visit to Switzerland. The reviews given by others have driven us to stay at Baeren. What a splendid stay it was!!!

The views of 3 peaks from our room balcony is unforgetable. The room itself was cosy and decorated simple yet it carries the elegance. The kids room was nice too.

We took the half meal board. Recommended option....it was great dinner set up and food was tasty. We enjoyed everything in Baeren.

Breakfast was superb with home cook delights. Great food again.

The owners were very friendly, pleasant, kind and helpful in a lot of ways. They even assisted in guiding us with the map on the activities that we can carry out at Wengen. They arranged luggage transfer to train station during our checked out time.

Only problem we had was dragging our luggage to the hotel on our arrival....hahaha....struggling to drag it there....that memory still lingers....

We will definitely stay here again. Baeren will always be our first choice in Wengen....a great stay....friendly owners and staffs....beautiful view of the 3 peaks EMJ....great hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank LOGESHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently stayed for 4 nights and after visiting most of the towns in the Oberland, Wengen is the place to stay (large enough town, not overly touristy, well positioned for exploring) and Hotel Baeren is the hotel!

The owners go out of their way and the staff is friendly and accomodating. The rooms are updated and bright, the bathroom is large. The views amazing. We stayed in the Lobhorn room (well worth the little extra$, the bath awesome); very spacious, large balcony and reasonably priced considering a meal plan is included in the rate. Breakfast was plentiful and it was so nice after a long day of exploring not to have to find a restaurant. The chef is wonderful and the 3 course meals delicious.

We highly recommend this hotel and speak of it foundly to our friends!

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and stay in the Lobhorn room- totally worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Hotel Baeren is a lovely place to stay. After two days of hiking in the relentless rain, we took the train from Grindelwald to Wengen and were shown to our room even though we arrived early. We were given a room with a balcony facing the mountains, and throughout the day we would occasionally catch glimpses of the imposing peaks. We were thrilled as it really was our first view of the mountains since starting our hiking tour. The room was open and airy and the bathroom a good size. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of tasty foods and good coffee. Wengen is a special place, and we enjoyed wandering around the village and meeting people, and how wonderful to return to such an inviting hotel as The Baeren and their extremely welcoming hosts. The service and hospitality were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you for the review. We are sorry about this weather this summer but we are glad you still enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Bären as well as the Village Wengen.
We hope with your next visit you will have more sun, then the mountains are even more impressing.

Therese & Willy Brunner with the Bären Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews