We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing atmosphere in the swiss mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“relaxing atmosphere in the swiss mountains”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in the center of Wengen, a car free village in the swiss mountains. The hotel is situated in the center of the village, close to the station to go up to the Männlichen mountain.
The spa is great, dimmed light and warm water to float in after skiing or a day in the mountains.
Breakfast was good, a rich choice of food and coffee, even "Birchersli".In the evening , you have a 3course dinner, freshly cooked. The service is good.
You have table tennis, a room for your skies and equipment and a film area, where films about the surrounding mountauns are shown. There is a relaxing area, too, you can borrow plays as "cluedo" and enjoy a cocktail.
We liked this hotel and had a wonderful time here.Wengen is car free and so very relaxing.

Room Tip: You should try the cheese fondue, it is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneK474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    121
    24
    9
    11
See reviews for
117
104
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel a couple of times years ago and were very happy to come back to it. The Management and staff worked very hard to make our stay a very pleasant one. Breakfast was great with many hot and cold options. Dinner was expertly cooked, but sometime they tried a bit too hard and the ingredients were a bit too specialised/outlandish for a familly Christmas dinner (sweatbreads). Fantastic buttersoft beef though!!!! Being charged for jugs of tap water is something I can understand, but do not like and I believe this is something all establishments should offer freely anyway as part of their service. If they had we probably would have bought more soft drinks for the kids. Their pasta restaurant is very nice and serves decent food. The rooms varied from very small (double) to spacious (four bedded familly) and all had wifi, very comfortable beds and were spotlesssly clean. They could do with a kettle and tea and coffee in the rooms (even if it was on a one off payment kettle hire option!). The sun room was redone with comfy chairs and we loved the beach chairs with blankets outside. The bar area is quite dark and could do with updating and funking up a bit. However the lounge room (between reception and bar) was looking tired and is in desperate need of new input and comfy seating. It might be functional, but comfortable it is not! The christmas decoration was disappointing and very sparse. Surely some pine branches and baubles do not break the bank!!! The leisure facilities most efficiently run by the formidable "Helga" were as always spotlessly clean and absolutely worth visiting. The swimming pool (33c water) with bubbles, jets, streams etc etc is worth visiting every day. Steam room and sauna are naked, but adult only and away from the children, and again spotlessly clean. The "ice bath" was excellent for post sauna as well as injury icepack replacement. "Helga" runs a very efficient excellent operation!!! The hotel is ideally situated as it is within a stone throw of station, (ski hire) shops, ski lift, children's ski slope etc. etc. Wengen itself is chocolate box pretty, but is getting very very expensive. An excellent lunch on the terrace (fantastic views) of Hotel Caprice is highly recommended as are lessons from the privat skischool situated at the end of the very short high street.

Room Tip: If you are tall ask for rooms with long beds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutragedMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have had weeklong holidays in Wengen for many years. The last three times with my family at Victoria hotel. Nothing beats many hours alpine skiing and ending the skiing almost to the doorstep of the hotel, then a 30 minute workout in the gym, getting rid of stiffness from skiing and then an hour or more in the spa, dozing off in the 33 degrees saltwater pool ... Soon a solid dinner with warm soup, a big salad buffet, delicious main courses and a good vine. You sleep like a Swiss rock. In the morning You just walk a few steps to the gondola for more skiing, or curling, or any store you need - the location is ideal. When You arrive or leave, it's only a one minute walk to the train station, no steps, just straight into the hotel lobby ... smart.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very good experience.
Staff, friendly welcome, good service, smiling people, very efficient
Hotel:
Situation: ideal, near by railway station and lifts and close to shops.
Room: with balcony: marvelleous view of alps, good Equipment. nicely decorated, very quiet.
Food: breakfest and diner: have enjoyed, good food and rapid service.
Spa and fitness: part of the hotel = very handy and a great plus for this hotel.
I can recommand this hotel to couple and family.
Should I come back to Wengen, I will choose this hotel without any doubt,
Michel Raboud from Villargiroud/Switzerland

Room Tip: Should you could afford, choose a room with balcony = very good situation for viewing the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nothing changed since our visit last year: mountains still there; sun still shining; hotel still as good!

The range of walking and the punctual mountain train network around Wengen in the Berner Oberland are world class, and the resort deserves more summer visitors. We stayed half board for 8 nights at the end of July 2013 with our family.

Hotel: we arrived late to find the hotel had provided a cold collation. Our generously upgraded room was quiet and comfortable without being expensively luxurious. It had a fine view over the village and mountains. The railway station is - as ever – extremely convenient for the hotel, quiet and orderly with only a reassuring hum from the passing daytime mountain trains. Everything in the hotel is clean and bright with tasteful decoration and discreet colour. Lifts come quickly.

Dinners: dining was excellent. All food was - without exception - precisely prepared and attractively presented. A limited dinner menu helps to keep costs down (to guests’ benefit) but the quality is consistently high. Those who occasionally criticize the dinners may be forgetting that when food has to be lifted about 4000 feet from the lowlands, more choice means more cost. The menus were particularly well balanced for quantity, nutrition and taste. The almost nightly salad bar was a varied and plentiful delight from which you may eat as much as you like; the similarly lavish weekly pudding bar was most delicately presented with a huge and free choice. Individual needs such as vegetarianism were recognized and remembered from day to day. All other requests were satisfied by giving the chef advance notice. We recommend the native Swiss wines as the best value, although the mark-up on wines generally is reasonable and not grasping.

Breakfast: The breakfast choice was as plentiful as ever – meat, cheese, smoked salmon, a top notch baked bread selection, fruit juice, diverse poached fruit and yoghurts, Muesli, waffles, sauces, fresh fruit, various eggs, nuts, help-yourself jams. The breakfast arrangements really cater extremely well for all tastes other than those few British who habitually demand artery-clogging fried food. A fine coffee machine gives good choice, unlimited quantity and swift delivery.

Facilities: The fitness and wellness area is clean and constantly staffed for your safety and peace. The large salt pool has amusing devices that stimulate and exercise all your body parts. The sauna is always very well ordered and the sun room offers glorious peaceful and sleepy views of the mountains, with free tea.

So what about staff? All were competent and diligent; the dining staff were particularly friendlily and thoughtfully attentive and warm-natured, despite occasional periods when there simply were not enough staff to cover all guests and groups quickly enough. We had a beautiful and unexpected wedding anniversary setting. These days, very intelligent and well qualified people from all over Europe now work in the hospitality industry; it was a delight to talk with them.

Would we go again? Yes we hope so. Even an accountant would appreciate the value of getting such an agreeable village, good hotel facilities, warm staff and excellent cuisine anywhere in Britain (for example) at a rate for dinner, wine, bed & breakfast of about £200 per day for two adults.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need. Staff are accommodating where it is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staying at the Victoria Lauberhorn was a great experience. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean and featured a balcony with a wonderful view of the Alps. So close to railroad station. We loved being there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked because it was in Wengen, opposite station, near main lift and most importantly close to nursery slope for six year old's first ski trip. Nearly as important was the pool and spa for wife who is not an avid skier and for child if she didn't take to skiing. Location therefore was perfect for what we wanted and it proved to be a good choice.Out of boot room, short walk to lift or station or nursery slope. Perfect.

It is a three star. Don't expect super luxury. Good points. Pool is brilliant before or after a days skiing. Just avoid the "dragon" who occasionally patrols it. Location. Perfect. It has a games room for kids, a gym, spa and on good days you can ski in and out.

The not so good points. They say all the rooms are " south facing"! Depends which compass you use and how far you can lean. No tea and coffee making facilities in room and if you want to cool your wine and emmental stick it outside on the little balcony. Rooms are pretty drab and functional and you wonder if it has changed since the 1930's. hence in these power hungry days if you want to charge two I pads and two mobile phones (sorry essential for business which pays for this holiday) you will have to unplug a lamp and charge in shifts.

Then there is the food. You are allocated a table with a number and a waitress. Breakfast is fine. It is the usual buffet affair. If you want a fry up forget it, but it is good enough. However, I have never had such a bizarre collection of dishes for dinner. Don't get me wrong, there is enough and the service is fine and friendly but the combinations are weird. According to the rep, the Swiss have an unusual take on fine dining and this was it. Unusual is a word which is appropriate.

Hey, it was warm, welcoming and good enough. A good refurb and it could be rather good. (If they changed the chef).

Room Tip: Didn't get a choice of room, but if you do, let me know how you do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ufillupmysenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn

Property: Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#11 Family Hotel in Wengen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Pasta & More Bed & Breakfast liegt im Dorfzentrum Wengen, 400 m von der Mannlichenbahn entfernt. Die Doppel- und Familienzimmer gehoren in der Sommer- und Wintersaison zum Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn. Ihre Mahlzeiten konnen Sie im Restaurant in der Unterkunft genießen. Alle unsere 23 Zimmer sind mit einem Flachbild-TV ausgestattet und bieten ein eigenes Bad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Lauberhorn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing