We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and welcoming”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have stayed here 3 times and this is the first review...in part because they are very consistant in their service and delivery so I thought it was time to give them a review.
I rang 3 times to say change my estimated time of arrival was changing - during the evening I was due! This was because my car had problems. I finally arrived at 0130hr and they were there to welcome me and take me direct to the room without fuss.
I had a single room this time (33) and had a great balcony and view over Wengen and the valley. The room was simple, very clean and in excellent condition.
Despite the perhaps dated furniture etc, everthing was in great condition - no rips, marks, scratches etc as you might expect from a similar hotel.
The bathroom was spotless and not a hint of mould to be seen - unlike many a 4 and 5 star hotel I have stayed in!
The Breakfast is very good in terms of variety and quantity.
I would recommend the hotel and very likely to stay here again

Room Tip: get a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    26
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
26
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

It is said that a picture is worth a thousand words, so please take a look at the picture I have attached to this review. It's a photograph taken from the private balcony of our room at the Alpenruhe Kulm hotel in Wengen. Can there possibly be a more gorgeous view from any hotel room anywhere in the world? This view, alone, makes this hotel a clear first choice in Wengen.

The hotel is situated a short walk from the centre of the village. From the railway station it's a ten-minute uphill climb, but the hotel will pick you up (and take you back) in an electric buggy if arranged in advance. Other than the view, the hotel is fairly ordinary. The room was quite small, with a similarly small bathroom, but very comfortable and really all we needed. The breakfast buffet was fairly limited in the range of food available, but the quantities and quality were excellent.

It's difficult to judge whether the hotel offers value for money. Wengen is an expensive resort in a very expensive country, and prices in general can make your eyes water. The Alpenruhe was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our time in Switzerland, and by no means the best, but we felt that the view made the expense worthwhile.

Room Tip: It is only worth staying here if you request (and pay extra for) a room with a view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is a very cozy bed and breakfast. My wife an I stayed here for two nights in September 2011. The staff appeared to be just a nice lady and her husband. They spoke mainly German; however, the lady was able to speak English to us pretty fluently We weren't aware that the only way into Wengen was by rail. When we realized that, we called the hotel and asked where to park. We were given very clear directions of where to park in Lauterbrunnen.

She asked when our train was arriving to meet us. Wengen is a small mountain town with no cars! All of the hotels offer pickups at the train station on small golf carts with flat bed trailers. You can walk the ten minutes to the hotel, or you can ride on the cart. I chose to walk. The air is so refreshing and clear. You have an amazing view of Jungfrau and the town of Wengen from their balconies. The property is kept in immaculate condition. The rooms are a bit dated; however, they were more than adequate. I had some of my best sleep this year at this place. At night, I would open my balcony door and let the cool mountain air cool the room. It was so quiet that you can hear leaves on the trees in the wind. I would definitely stay here again if I ever went back to Wengen.

Room Tip: Incredible views of Wengen and Jungfrau from the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlabranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

the hotel provides beautiful views of the jungfrau..the rooms are small and basic..the breakfast is strictly ok..the staff answers to questions only that are asked and are not very friendly..the hotel is located at a ten minutes walking distance from the station and it involves some climbing but that is what gives the hotel an unrestricted view of the jungfrau..i found the hotel to be a little pricey for the kind of service and breakfast it offers..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetviv_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Wow! Picked hotel sight unseen from internet site, could not have been more astounded.
The mountain air is crisp, the gardens perfectly splendid, the hotel cozy and really welcoming. They don't even want to see your credit card...The view from the rooms has me gasping for breath:the Jungfrau is so close, the sky so blue, feels like being in a picture postcard. The beds are downy comfort all the way. Dinner is the next amazement as the charming owner prints a menu each day, four courses of good Swiss dining-all included in the reasonable half-pension price, had not expected that. Breakfast another delight of crusty bread, chunks of Swiss cheese, fresh fruits, cereals and other goodies.
The rooms were the cleanest I have encountered anywhere, each with a little balcony and chair to linger over the Alpine glory. Laundry was reasonable and returned within hours. Reading material in the lobby, refreshments on the first floor, a free ride to and from the station, a great location 10 minutes from the center of Wengen yet 5 minutes away from a bucolic herd of Swiss cows with bells around their necks and quiet pastures. Plenty of hiking trails, close to all excursions AND a really wonderful owner taking pride in her venue-no negatives except the sadness of leaving this pristine Alpine oasis.

Room Tip: all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This hotel is certainly fine for a stay. They are a bit up the hill, but not far at all. The view is very nice and the staff pleasant. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tyntema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in early January leaving on the day of the Lauberhorn race. We called from Lauterbrunnen and were met in Wengen at the station and taken to the hotel.
The Hotel is one of the further out from central Wengen, its only a 5 - 10 min walk, it did mean that we were away from the noise of central Wengen which had a lot of preparation for the racing happening.
- If you hire your ski's or board with Intersport in front of the gondola station, you can leave your ski's and boots there which saves lugging them back to the hotel.
The room was basic, with the main omission being a kettle. The free Wi-Fi worked well and was good enough for skype! Its typical mountain accommodation, the bed was to spongy, the TV was old (but it did have both a live feed from mountain cameras and english channels), the room was big with an awesome view we could see into the valley and watch the Lauberhorn racing on the other side of Wengen. Breakfast was nice with great coffee. At the end of our stay we checked out, left our bags with the hotel and walked into Wengen, we were met at the station with our bags at the agreed time a couple of hours later ready to catch the train back to Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrelljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Falken Wengen
Hotel Falken Wengen
#12 of 20 in Wengen
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel

Property: Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenruhe Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing