We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Mountain Village Views, Comfortable, Surprisingly Stable Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Mountain Village Views, Comfortable, Surprisingly Stable Wifi”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed in this property for 3 nights in May 2013. I wanted to stay in a mountain village with killer views and definitely was not disappointing. Surprisingly during my time of visit, staying in Wengen is about 20 percent cheaper vs staying in Interlaken for apple to apple ensuite single. Overall, would recommend it IF you're itinerary is mainly revolving around Berner Oberland area.

Pro:
- THE VIEWS!!! I got room 41 which is corner room on 4th floor, so I basically have views on 2 sides of the walls with (almost private) balcony.
- Surprisingly stable wifi (for a mountain village!) I can stream youtube videos relatively smoothly
- Warm water in the shower, there's also hangers if you want to dry your clothes. There's also radiator to keep the room warm
- Including breakfast (although its very basic)
- Electric buggy to take you to the station after check out (although its still within walking distance)
- Room is cleaned everyday

Cons:
- Bathroom and the tube TV is a bit outdated but all still works fine. Quite a lot of Deutsch and French channel.
- Wengen village itself "shutdown" outside peak season so when I was there, a lot of the shops and restaurants were closed (but the minimarket, bank, post office still open)

If you find my review to be helpful I would appreciate if you press that helpful vote. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for corner room at high floor; then you'll have views at 2 sides of your walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ti_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    26
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
26
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

Been beginning of November. Off season. Room was on the last floor view on the jungfrau and valley. Breakfast is quite basic. Bread butter jam coffee tea and some ham. Dinner was organised by the owner. Fixed menu, it was good. Negative is the overall price. Even if off season it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at hotel Alpenruhe. The owner Marian was very kind, helpful and spoke English very well.

I had a very clean single room on the second floor. It was small but all you need when traveling alone. The bathroom was a rather outdated but incredibly clean. I wish the shower had a glass screen though as it was very small and the curtain made it quite a lot smaller, good heat and water pressure though. I loved the bed, i found it really cosy with a nice big doona (duvet). The tv had lots of stations, not in english but thats to be expected. The free wifi was excellent. There was no kettle or fridge but there was a balcony... Ah the balcony! The south facing views were just beautiful, not to mention the fresh air and tranquility.

It was a short walk from the station, maybe 8 mins. It is quite uphill though but Marian picks you up with your luggage which makes life easy.

Overall I loved the place! I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X-Alice-the-Camel-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Choose this hotel for a fantastic/dreamlike view of Lauterbrunen (credits goes to the place though) and wengen with a peaceful room with shared balcony seperated with just a iron bar. Breakfast included in the price is average (cheeses are nice though) and no food after 8 PM, which should hardly matter. All and all quite a nice place with a good value for money, but requires a 10 mins uphill hike from station.
You can call for a pickup from station though to haul your bags and you on arrival, we missed it but is sure a great help.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of Lauterbrunen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajkul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A bit of a walk from the center of Wengen, this hotel is so Swiss, with just magnificent views of the surrounding valley and mountains. Breathtakingly beautiful. Our room was quite ample, with the deepest, coziest bedding, and of course a wrapped chocolate on the pillow. Typically Swiss service and hospitality. Just a very pleasant experience all around. We were there in early August, to watch the Switzerland Independence Day parade, watching costumed bands.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Far from train station, but they provide pick up and drop off at the start and end of your stay here. The room is very clean and balcony for south facing room gives excellent view!! yes, the best in wengen I believe. Hotels nearer the station is lower-hill and therefore doesnt offer views like this.. Breakfast is always good - quiet and cosy.. Bed was comfortable too. Madam Marion was helpful whenever we needed advice, otherwise we had alot of privacy here as there was no crowd. It did seem really quiet once it gets dark.

Room Tip: south facing room is a must if you are staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesng07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Perfectly fine for a short stay, walking distance from the town center, but get them to pick you up if you have luggage. The place is super clean, but the room was tiny. Like ridiculously tiny. If you have a lot of gear for a ski vacation, this is not the place to go. The staff is not particularly charming, but not unfriendly either. The hotel hasn't really been updated since the 70s. Which is kinda cool, if you want to take period photographs with instagram, but overall feels a little bit depressing. But, we stayed here after x-mas for a couple of nights, in the middle of high season and for a short stay in the mountains it does the job just fine. And Wengen is one of the nicest little villages in the Alps.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel

Property: Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenruhe Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing