We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful New Year break”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful New Year break”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have just had a fabulous holiday at our favourite hotel - The Caprice in Wengen. It was a wonderful way to see in the New Year - with the warmth of a friendly boutique and the service of a 5 * hotel. We had many memorable experiences - but to name a few... the lunch on the terrace (yes in Decemeber!) which must have one of the most dramatic mountian views you will ever see, the 7 course New Year dinner was delicious and included a visit from the local bellringers (a swiss new year tradition I believe) and the laughter by the open fire at the end of day are all very happy memories to keep for ever....
It is also worth noting that a new Chef arrived this season who is a notch above the rest.... dinners get fully booked up so be sure to make your reservations early!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    79
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
71
187
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I were looking for a weeks skiing with our two girls before Christmas and decided on the stunning ski village of Wengen. We were lucky enough to secure a suite at the centrally located Hotel Caprice. The suite was extremely comfortable with south facing balcony and incorporating a double for us and a twin room for the children along with space to sleep a further two. The Caprice is everything you would expect of a 4 star hotel and more, but without any of the ostentatiousness. The staff are warm and friendly and it is really like a home from home experience. I always think the main test of a high quality Hotel is the food and we were not disappointed - John Patrick (the head chef) while young in looks has Michelin star experience and produced the most delicious variety of food nightly and across meat, poultry and fish, with my favourite being fillet of beef with truffle jus, which was just "melt in the mouth" - some credit must go to the butcher also ! The wine list was more than adequate with some fantastic reds and whites - one of our favourites was the white "Cuvee Madame Rosemarie Mathier 2011 - ask Carlos (the head waiter) for a bottle of this and tell him we recommended it ! The Caprice owner has a suite of his own in the hotel and was around for the first few days of our stay and gave us some great tips on navigating the ski area from Wengen to Grindelwald. He also arranged for us to have a guide for a day from the "Downhill Only Club"(DHO), to take and guide the four of us from Wengen to Murren and up to Schilthorn, the spot for the mountain scene where the James Bond Movie "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" was filmed. Caprice for us was a truly great experience, the only problem being that the week went past too quickly. We will be back !
Chris Woods.

Room Tip: any south facing rooms - all stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Last time we were getting married and everything was fabulous as a couple but on returning with the family it just got better. In particular, the new Michelin trained chefs created the most delightful meals. We will return, we need to see the superb view of the Jungfraujoch in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 478BHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel hits most of the buttons but also misses quite a few. It does has a great location with spectacular views of the Lauterbrun valley. But when we stayed, you can tell that they were ready to close for mid season. The rooms were nice but badly in need of an upgrade. The staffing was minimal although adequate for the guests needs but not much more. The waiter that served us for breakfast was also the waiter that served us for dinner. You can tell that he was tired and cranky some times. This being a Small Luxury hotel of the world, I expected more. Like I said, this could have been due to the fact that we stayed at the property shortly before mid season break, but as a paying guest, I should not have noticed to the extent that we did. They had a nice bar/lounge area with a fire place, not it once during our three days' stay! The hotel also really needs to address its' lack in spa facilities. After a long day of hiking, it would have been great to be able to relax in a Jacuzzi. They did try however. Perhaps would recommend hitting this place in high season (winter) to fully experience it.

Room Tip: valley views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajnmail, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear patten36,
Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Caprice SLH, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel and the spectacular views. I am however sorry that you found your room disappointing; we do have a policy of continuous upgrade and will be carrying out some room refurbishment before the Winter Season, which opens on 13th December.
I also appreciate your comments about staffing, however being a "boutique" hotel we offer a personal service, and operate a roster system so it is not unusual for a member of the serving staff to be on duty at breakfast time, and again in the evening. Thank you for your kind comments about the bar/lounge area with fireplace, but it is not usually necessary for us to light the fire during the Summer Season.
The hotel does have a sauna/steam room, and I apologise if you were not informed that during the Summer Season we operate the facilities on a “request basis”. However during Winter Season the sauna/steam room is available continuously from 3.30pm until 9.00pm, and the fire in the lounge is lit in the late afternoon, providing a warm welcome for guests returning from skiing or hiking, and throughout the evening.
I very much hope that you will decide to return to Hotel Caprice, perhaps during the Winter Season, when I would be very pleased to invite you to enjoy a glass of Champagne with me in front of the roaring log fire.
Alan J Norris – Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stunning views of mountains and waterfalls, great food, owner operated very helpful, the decor is fabulous. When we arrived after a long journey, the owner gave us a beverage and sat us down at the balcony overlooking the most stunning view in Switzerland overlooking lauderbrueten valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of mountains and waterfalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynB4832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajnmail, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear MarilynB4832,

Thank you very much for your very favourable Review of Hotel Caprice SLH.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed the stunning views of the mountains and the valley waterfalls from the terrace, and from your room balcony. The views are indeed very special, my Swiss friends tell ne they are "the best in Switzerland", and I hope that you agree!
I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the food so much, and I will pass your kind comments on to the staff, who all enjoyed serving you.
We all look forward to your next visit to our beautiful hotel.
Thank you once again,
Kindest regards,
Alan J Norris - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is in a handy location close to the railway station. The staff are helpful and the room we had was spacious and really nice. I would have given the place 5 stars but for the food! I am not sure whether the normal chef had gone on holiday but the evening meals were not good. It reminded me of food in the UK 30 years ago! Breakfast was fine although they tended not to re fill plates of food so if you arrived late there could be slim pickings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our stay couldn't have been more perfect....the management was very accommodating to our change in plans and upgraded us to a suite with the most magnificent view! The hotel is very convenient to the town and the train station, yet very quiet at night. Wengen is the ideal spot for touring Jungfrau and the rest of the valley, make sure to buy the train pass that works for a week, a big savings. The food and staff at the hotel are definitely 5 star, the breakfast was something to look forward to as well, and wifi with no charge. Definitely a high recommendation.

Room Tip: Request a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Property: Hotel Caprice
Address: Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Family Hotel in Wengen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprice 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning, 4-star, Hotel Caprice is privately owned and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group (since 2007). A luxury hotel constructed in charming Swiss chalet style, Hotel Caprice boasts lavishly appointed, spacious rooms with natural wood decor and large picture windows. Most rooms have incredible south-facing balconies with spectacular views of the Jungfrau massif and Lauterbrunnen valley. The fine dining restaurant at Hotel Caprice is renowned for its elegant style and delicious gourmet cuisine served with regional and International influences. Hotel Caprice is conveniently located in Wengen enjoying a prime position for easy access to the slopes in the morning and 'ski-in' status for guests returning at the end of the day. Our vibrant bar and sun terrace areas are perfect for apres ski, whilst our cosy lounge, with open log fire, welcomes guests looking for a more relaxed environment. We also offer a massage service and a FREE Finnish sauna! With over 200km of downhill ski runs and 500km of hiking trails on its doorstep, Hotel Caprice is an excellent choice for both winter sports and summer adventure holidays. At Hotel Caprice we strive to deliver excellence in hospitality, accommodation and food standards with minimum impact on the environment and our beautiful surroundings. Hotel Caprice is the proud recipient of the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" for 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing