We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & quirky hotel”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was our 2nd time in Wengen, we stayed at the Silberhorn last year. The rooms are lovely & large at the Belvedere, plenty of room for the ski gear. The bar and lounge area are really quaint & quirky with a lovely log fire, great for relaxing in the evening. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble & they were very friendly. The buffet meals were average having said that we could always find something to eat in the evenings. Breakfasts were good and plenty of it. The walk back from the Mannlichen Gondola in ski boots and carrying skis would have been a problem, but we were able to leave everything at Molitor Sports in their ski room and it was free of charge. If we return to Wengen we would definitely return to The Belvedere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayjayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our third visit. Consistent comfort and quality. Staff very pleasant. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Breakfast always plenty of choice. Evening meal- tasty selection buffet style,salad selection always good. Hot dishes could be better. Bar and lounge enjoy a big open fire.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JeanBryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I came to Wengen 45 years ago and the charm of this village is still the same.We had a great time in Belvedere hotel.The rooms are spacious,the beds are very comfortable.The staff was very kind and helpful .We enjoyed the silence and the nice surroundings and the clean and fresh air and hope to come again soon

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulettouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have just returned from a week’s skiing and stayed in the Belvedere and have to say both my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The Belvedere was obviously one of THE hotels to stay in during its heyday, things move on, but the Belvedere has a certain charm about it. Yes, it is over a hundred years old, but it has recently been refurbished to a good standard, and none of the old charm has been removed.

We stayed in a room on the top floor (504) which was also on one of the corners of the building, so headroom was a little compromised to say the least, but once you had bumped your head a few times, you remembered when to duck. The room was a little over populated with furniture for our likes, but after a little bit of moving around, things were as we liked it. The bed was firm, but very comfortable, not slept so well for ages. The bathroom had also been refurbished, again to a good standard, with plenty of hot to fill the bath to ease those aching legs after a day on the pistes.

Food was served buffet style for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was mainly continental style, with a very good choice on offer, plus bacon and scrambled eggs. Dinner was always a choice of meat, fish and vegetarian, some of the combinations listed on the menu were a little different, but we always managed to choose something we enjoyed. Drinks in the bar were not too expensive, 5.50 francs for a large (0.5l) beer, we are talking Switzerland here, a bottled cake was 4.50 Francs.

The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, and all spoke very good English.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we plan to come back to the Belvedere next year in the summer to do some walking.

If you are at Kleine Scheidegg, highly recommend the pizza made by the guy with the outdoor pizza oven by the wigwams at the station, excellent and not really expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wafto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I've stayed at many hotels in wengen during the years and this is definitely one of my favourites. Staff really helpful, good food and great rooms. Lovely feel to the place. Some may be put off if skiing due to the walk up a little hill but don't it's great! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elighnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. We visited there this week and stayed in room 207! The view was breathtaking. Everything about our stay was fantastic, the service was friendly and relaxed. It has rustic charm that the hotel staff take pride in and are proud of. It was great to see. We will stay here again...thank you for everything. You made our holiday!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellieb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Art Nouveau style with traditional Swiss feel, the Belvedere complements what Wengen is all about. From the beautifully engineered mountain railway to the historic Lauberhorn downhill, there is a timeless feel about the resort that hasn't changed from our first visit 25 years ago. The old chairlifts are all gone, replaced with fast 4 and 6 person ones, but the skiing hasn't been overdeveloped as with so many other resorts. Likewise the Belvedere is still the same elegant creation that it was when new in 1912, but the moment you walk in the door the relaxed atmosphere and welcoming staff dispel any old fashioned stuffiness. The buffet style dining has excellent choice and quality, and the 3 hour breakfast slot and 2 hour dinner cater for all preferences.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £142 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing