We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful !”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UAE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful !”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Amazing place to stay. My room had a wonderful view of the valley. Room was absolutely wonderful; not too big but wonderfully decorated. The hotel was exactly as I wanted it to be as if someone had read my mind. the view from the balcony was breathtaking. I was there when it was full moon and I could see the valley in the moonlight. The experience is beyond words !

Its fantastic place to stay if you are looking for a historic and cultural feel but not for you if you are used to hotels with contemporary look.

Breakfast was wonderful and the restaurant also has a nice view of the valley. Staff is absolutely great. Will definitely go back and stay at stay there.

Room Tip: Choose room with view of the valley and even if you spend the full day skiing, you can still have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    151
    39
    11
    1
See reviews for
131
168
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Belvedere was quaint, old fashioned and absolutely charming and ALL the staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and professional in how they carried out their duties. There was plenty of choice of food for both breakfast and evening meal, and the fact that you could revisit the buffet as many times as you wanted and mix 'n' match meant that you always got to eat what was right for you. Our room was huge compared to most chalets and hotels we have stayed in previously. Well worth paying that tiny bit more for a south facing aspect. The en suite was clean and modern. The boot room was great, with heated spikes, but would recommend paying for a locker in town to save having to carry skis, etc. up and down the hill.
The only improvements we'd like to see would be tea/coffee making facilities in our room and perhaps tea and cake around 4pm as with many other places we've stayed. We were furnished with a packed breakfast/lunch on departure which was great, but we'd have given anything for a hot cup of tea or coffee as well at that time in the morning!

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room if possible, and on a high floor so you can get the benefit of the amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was a package skiing holiday booked by my sister-in-law who was a little worried about the hotel. Without doubt the photo in the brochure does not do it justice as it has been lovely! Everything from the friendly and helpful staff, the large bedroom with lovely en-suite, the bar and lounge has been great. Plenty of food to chose from at breakfast and Dinner not as posh as sister hotel but we had no complaints! If skiing might be worth getting a locker near the gondola as could be a bit tiring carrying skis up the hill at night! A 3 star hotel but with 5 star staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

we took our 4 year old skiing for the first time in February 2014 and stayed at this hotel. everything about it is fantastic. The staff in the restaurant are especially good with children. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We cannot fault our weeks stay at Belvedere, the hotel itself is traditional and charming, complete with open fires and sun rooms. Our bedroom was spacious and comfortable with a powerful shower and deep bath, perfect for relaxing after coming down from the slopes.
Food is served buffet style with plenty of variety to cater for all tastes and lots of healthy options to boot. But what really stood out was the impeccable service from all of the staff, nothing is ever too much trouble and you are always greeted with a genuine smile.
I celebrated my birthday whilst we were there and the housekeeping staff noticed my cards in our room, that night, I was greeted with a birthday card on our dining room table and a cake with candles for dessert. I lovely touch. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVinaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly staff and management. The hotel retains its old fashioned decor and offers fantastic views on the south facing rooms. It's about 5 minutes walk to Wengen village centre so location good.
Food very good and lovely dinning room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our 5th visit to the hotel but this year due to the ages of our children had to have two rooms, I e-mailed the hotel three weeks before our stay to ask if we could have rooms next to each other, on arrival not only had we rooms next to each other they were also interconecting and on the coffe table was a welcome back card .... what a nice touch. The hotel had not changed much since our last stay they have intoduced boot warmers in the ski rooms and there is also now free internet. The staff were very weloming with nothing too much trouble. The food if anything was better, well cooked and plenty of it. The evenings were spent around the lovely open log fire. Although the hotel is a short walk from the centre of the village we would reccomend it to anyone wanting a clean and friendly hotel for a relaxing winter or summer holliday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wengen
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing