We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

after a lot of research I decided to stay in Belvedere in Wengen in a Jungfrau view triple room and the view from the hotel room was amazing and ive included a photo to share it .
the hotel was a easy walk from Wengen station and they offer a free pick up and drop off of your luggage .The staff was great
The half board dinner was very good .The area and hikes were excellent

Room Tip: Recommend choosing Jungfrau view rooms though they would be pricier .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vickicork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in Wengen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thanks to Dario and Vincenza + team for lovely stay July 2-12 2014.Lovely atmospheric,arts&crafts style hotel,talkative staff and guests and Dario had dining room working with real swing .Great food .... best bacon i've had in years,and all rest of food was just great .A great base for jungfrau, and the whole area ...... paddlesteamers from Interlaken were FAB......... + Sherlock Holmes phenomenomena ( ! ) just around the corner . !!!!!! Fab holiday ..... Thanks ............ Andrew & Katharine

Room Tip: ............. Get room with a view ........... glacial U-shaped valley truly impressive ..... especi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate very much your Kind feedback. It was great to welcoming you to our hotel and without doubt we hope to seeing you once more in Wengen! Have many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed at Hotel Belvedere twice - once in 2001 and once just a few weeks ago. It is a wonderful hotel with an old school feel to it - sitting rooms, dark wood interior, classic Swiss chalet appearance from the outside. Because it's up on the hillside a little above town, it has the MOST amazing views of the Lauterbrunnen valley and Jungfrau (if you're on the right side of the hotel, which you WANT to be, trust me).

On my most recent visit, the staff was fine. Not overly friendly or helpful, but not rude. The rooms are by no means modern, but that adds to the charm of the place. Upon our arrival at the train station we called the hotel to meet us and take our bags up the hill - they arrived promptly and were very helpful. The continental breakfast is decent, with lots of variety. But, again, it's the VIEW that makes everything worth it. On the Jungfrau side every room has a balcony with chairs. We spent a lot of time out there.

This is not a 5-star hotel with modern amenities. It's classic and charming. The next time we come to Wengen (and there definitely WILL be a next time) I have no doubt that we'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: You have to get a room with a Jungfrau view. Not worth it if you don't.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ehomburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear guest, we are very pleased to hear that you have the intention to return to our hotel whenever you are back to Wengen. Thank you very much for this feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for ten nights in June and had one of our best holidays ever. The Belvedere has all the charm of days gone by, but once you have stayed there, you will find that it is a real gem.
The hotel is situated at the top end of the village, and as the only access to the hotels from the railway station is by the hotels electric truck, a quick free phone call to the hotel, will dispatch the porter and transport to collect you.
We stayed in room 306, and the views were to die for. Straight down the Lauterbrunnen Valley to the waterfalls.
The room was a good size, and very comfortable, with an outside balcony. The bathroom had twin washbasins, a bath and a fantastic shower, which was very welcoming after a days hiking.
The dining room is large and bright. Breakfast and dinner are buffet style, with a good choice of food, which is freshly cooked. I needed a Gluten Free meal, and was accommodated without any problem. Each evening the chef would tell me what I could eat, and on one evening, he prepared a meal specially for me.
Talking about the staff, this is what makes this such an enjoyable place to stay. Each resident is treated as an individual. The staff all speak English, and are exceptionally friendly. Each and everyone from the reception desk, the dining room staff, the cleaning and portering staff, will not pass you without speaking. They are definitely the best.
On the ground floor, as well as the dining room, there is a Reading and Television Room, a large sitting area with an a Open Fire, which I assume is lit during winter months. Then there is a small lounge and bar with windows looking out onto Mannlichan and it's cable car. From the bar you can exit out to the sun terrace and soak in the sun and of course the views. It is a wonderful place to have a tea or coffee in the afternoon or perhaps drink a beverage from the bar.
This was our fourth stay at the Belvedere, will be return? Most definitely.
John & Lynn Williams.
Northern Ireland.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JOHNW1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear guest, how wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! We are very grateful for this appreciated feedback and of course we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you once more next year! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in a family room on the 4th floor that had an incredibly gorgeous view of the mountains and valley - it was unbelievably beautiful. The room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the hotel staff. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The wait staff in the restaurant were absolutely wonderful and the food was delicious. One of the best hotels we have stayed in and we cannot wait for the chance to return.

Room Tip: Jungfrau view is worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest, it is os great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Of course, we would very pleased to seeing you again in future! All the best and many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Started Swiss trip in Wengen and stayed here. Very nice hotel. Room looked at the Alps and was comfortable. Easy walk to downtown and to sights. Staff very accommodating and knowledgeable of happenings.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view...well worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noblehouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in beautiful Wengen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely hotel situated in the Murren Valley, Switzerland. Surrounded by Eiger, Jungfrau, Monch and Shiltorn as well as many other peaks this was an ideal location for our hiking hols. We stayed half board with packed lunch and 60 Swiss francs bar allowance per person.There was plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner and we could have all we could eat. The food was varied and of excellent quality and the service top class. Switzerland is very expensive to eat and drink out so I would recomend this sort of deal. In addition as part of the package we had half price Swiss Pasd which we used on cable cars and trains which saved us another £200 during the week. Sunshine and temps into the 30 s all week but watch out for early evening thunderstorms during the sumer months..we were out early and back to our hotel before then. There was a supermarket in the village which saved us buying drinks t extortionate prices on the mountain tops. All in all a fab holiday no hicups, the trains run like clockwork ..

Room Tip: Check you are not put on the top floor where sloping ceiling is a problem for taller folk ?
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest, we are very happy to hear that the stay you booked through an Agency did meet all your needs. Of course, we hope to seeing you again in Wengen and in our beautiful Jungfrau Region. Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#11 of 20 in Wengen
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#8 of 20 in Wengen
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £131 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing