We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem, just perfect for a week's skiing over new year.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Falken Wengen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Falken Wengen
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, just perfect for a week's skiing over new year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Falken without doubt is a unique hotel; as soon as we stepped through the door we felt at home. We had the most perfect week, the food was excellent, New Year's dinner was outstanding. The rooms are light and airy and clean. We could not recommend it more highly.
The only very small issue was a little noise in one of our bedrooms on some nights, but this was understandable being on the first floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireKingQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    86
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
68
108
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in this old establishment a number of times during our ski trips to Wengen over the years, although most things seem to stay the same, charming as ever, however the food seemed to got saltier and saltier. Ski back straight to the ski rooms was great and the view of the village was magnificent.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor facing the mountain have big terrace to walk out to and cool the beer! Village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

First we didn't have the room for which we had made a reservation, so we had a small, dark and loud "superior" room on the south side - which I would say is not the best side. Then, we unexpectedly had to pay more than listed on the email confirmation. The tenant argued unequably and let us feel stupid. Anyway, the price is much too high, the food is poor (mostly outsourced or out of the can), the service is not very nice (we had to insist to get some simple and necessary information). Last but not least, if you stay in Wengen more than 2-3 days and do not like to play parlor games every night, you'd rather choose another place to stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors if you want to rest a bit in the morning... Corner rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

we stayed late august ,early September 2013 with a group of walkers/ ramblers.
the hotel was ideally situated for the station,shops and cable car.
all the staff were welcoming and efficient. the food was good .


he room we had gave a wonderful view of the alps,it was absolutely brilliant.
all in all it was a superb holiday in a great car free place and a comfortable
friendly hotel.
this is definateley one place we will go to again.

Room Tip: twin room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 and had a great holiday. The Falken is a lovely old Victorian hotel which is full of character and is just a couple of hundred metres from the centre of Wengen.
We received a warm welcome from Kristina, who does a great job and seems to run the hotel. Our room was a good size, clean and nicely decorated. The hotel has a large lounge area next to reception - most evenings guests are entertained by Dimitar who plays the grand piano.
Meals in the restaurant were nice and we were well looked after all week by Sarah and Hannah.
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Falken in October. It was lovely. They only had a few guests so gave us a larger room with a view of the mountains. We were welcomed warmly by the owner and her friends. The room was clean and large. Breakfast was wonderful and included in the price of the room. The owner and her friends gave us a number of tips on seeing the sights in the area.

Room Tip: I understand that some rooms can be very small. We happened to be in a larger room meant for 3 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Lovely hotel in Wengen, Switzerland.
The stay was great.
The lounge is wonderful to socialise in.
The service is extremely friendly.
The train station is not too far to walk from.
It is great in summer and even better in winter for the ski season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Falken Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Falken Wengen

Property: Hotel Falken Wengen
Address: Gruebi, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Falken Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Falken Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing