We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Wengener Hof
Nearby Hotels
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel(Wengen)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Regina(Wengen)
US$360
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baeren(Wengen)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
265
74
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
74
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotellauterbrunnen valleyquiet locationsilver servicenothing is too much troubletrain stationclassic hotelsouth facingsuperb viewscable carfood is excellentskiing holidayweek stayother hotelshotel roomdining room isfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay in this lovely, elegant hotel. Such a warm welcome, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed half board and enjoyed great buffet breakfasts and delicious evening meals. Our room was on the third floor with the most incredible view of the snow-capped mountains and the Lauterbrunnen Valley - breathtaking scenery.

The room was very comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space and attractively decorated.
A perfect base from which to explore this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerlinPadstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were introduced to the Wengener Hof by my parents-in-law as an excellent base to walk in the summer in the Swiss alps. After our first visit our teenage daughter chose it as a place for a post-GCSE family holiday. This recent two-week visit was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. There are only two hotels in the world we've ever revisited and this is one of them. (Minerva in Sorrento is the other one.)

Maybe it's the views that draw us? Maybe it's the staff? Both suit us perfectly.

It's important to get the full glory of the Wengener Hof by choosing a valley-view balcony room (we were happily on the 4th floor) and sitting on the balcony with a beer before dinner and looking down the enormous scar that is the Lauterbrunnen valley must be one of the greatest of eye-soothing sights.

Beds are comfortable, breakfast is plentiful, the dining room is run with Swiss efficiency but with eccentric flourishes that guarantee surprises, the staff are eager to get it right without being overly-pretentious. There is a bit of formality in staying there, but it is by no means stuffy. You can wear whatever you are comfortable in.

Wengen is a quiet town but all transport forms are very close for going up and down the various routes for fantastic trips - we spent 14 days in Wengen (using a Swiss Pass bought in advance meaning all boats and trains were included and all other forms had 25% or 50% discount) and very day we did something different. Every day was exciting and produced something memorable. The trips and walks are listed elsewhere but after three visits we still think there are routes and variations we haven't yet explored.

Would we go back? Like a shot! Switzerland's not cheap though so we need to save up again! But the fresh air, the invigorating exercise, the sound of cow bells and the stunning mountains and meadows are calling us back already!! Over-enthusiastic? Can't help it. It was the perfect place to connect and recharge.

Room Tip: Book a valley-view room as high in hotel as possible.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyemha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Having worked in a clinic inSwitzerald and visiting for the last. 15 years mostly staying
In chalet/hotels frequented mostly by Swiss, I feel qualified to comment on the service
On a larger hotel. Personal service,usually of the bend over backwards level, was
Lacking - bigger is not better!
The smaller mom and pop types proved without a doubt to be preferable .One is almost
cosseted. The Service extends well beyond your
stay, to the point where often one can ask
for an item to be sent overseas.
However, with respect to the Wengerhof, having asked for a cheese bought in town to be
Kept in the hotel refrigerator as it. was shrink wrapped for to journey back to Canada
- it was agreed to BUT - never found and I was treated as a liar. Several accurately
Described details availed me nothing
Now if the (expensive) item in question were to have been lost with an explanation
It would be acceptable and understandable, but the cavalier dismissal of my claim
Brought to mind the Hitchcock film The Lady Vanishes - somewhat malevolent.
O.K. It could be melodramatic ; but sooo Unswiss, and lacking in service and class
That's my beef and why I won't be back!
",




At

Room Tip: Insist on service/care every step of the way
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schaffmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and would have loved to be staying for 2 weeks instead of one. This hotel is set in a very tranquil location with gorgeous views of the Lauterbrunnen valley and the mountains beyond. The staff in the restaurant were courteous and helpful but they were the same all through the hotel, whatever your concern. They couldn't do enough for us. The manager is a very charming guy.
We found a high standard of cleanliness throughout and the food was excellent - 5 courses but as they were modest portions it was just the right amount of food.
Our room was very pretty with a balcony. I haven't given 5 stars because as another reviewer said the decor could do with some updating, but after saying that I think it would take away some of the charm.
If we ever return to Wengen we shall definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Cash permitting ask for a south facing rm/balcony
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyeleanor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Just got back from staying here for four nights. You cannot go wrong with this hotel. Wengen is the best base point to explore this region if you are new to it and this hotel is perfectly situated in a beautiful spot on its own with amazing views . Staff is super friendly and helpful. I can't say anything bad . I look forward to visiting again somwtime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews