We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!!!”
Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gwynnedd
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday!!!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

A most memorable holiday! Hotel was charming, a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff were very courteous and friendly. Evening meal - exceptional quality and beautifully presented. A good choice of breakfast and excellent restaurant service. Fabulous location just on the outskirts of Wengen and a short pleasant walk to the Centre. We had a balcony south facing room - magnificent views of the valley and snow capped mountains. We certainly will be booking this lovely Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    64
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
65
152
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have now been to this Hotel for the last 8 years and 3 times this year. I think this will tell you all you need to know of my view of it. From the welcome of the staff, the quality of the meals, I was on half board,the location and the food,all add up to a very relaxing place. As for the surrounding country side and walks, just stunning.The holidays have become expensive over the last few years buy this is solely due to the strength of the Swiss Franc against the British Pound but I still consider the cost worth it for the tranquility and relaxation I get.I look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I am not sure how other travellers are rating this property but my experience is as follows:
Service wise the hotel standard is very good.
Room very small you cannot walk. Old furnitures, Broken toilets. Bed was very bad cannot sleep well.
Breakfast is less than average as well as dinner, Stayed with half board.
Location is not bad but 5 minutes walk from the station. But that walk is having positive energy because of nature.
In short booked for 3 nights but stayed only 2 nights because of above points.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuttan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay in this lovely, elegant hotel. Such a warm welcome, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed half board and enjoyed great buffet breakfasts and delicious evening meals. Our room was on the third floor with the most incredible view of the snow-capped mountains and the Lauterbrunnen Valley - breathtaking scenery.

The room was very comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space and attractively decorated.
A perfect base from which to explore this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerlinPadstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were introduced to the Wengener Hof by my parents-in-law as an excellent base to walk in the summer in the Swiss alps. After our first visit our teenage daughter chose it as a place for a post-GCSE family holiday. This recent two-week visit was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. There are only two hotels in the world we've ever revisited and this is one of them. (Minerva in Sorrento is the other one.)

Maybe it's the views that draw us? Maybe it's the staff? Both suit us perfectly.

It's important to get the full glory of the Wengener Hof by choosing a valley-view balcony room (we were happily on the 4th floor) and sitting on the balcony with a beer before dinner and looking down the enormous scar that is the Lauterbrunnen valley must be one of the greatest of eye-soothing sights.

Beds are comfortable, breakfast is plentiful, the dining room is run with Swiss efficiency but with eccentric flourishes that guarantee surprises, the staff are eager to get it right without being overly-pretentious. There is a bit of formality in staying there, but it is by no means stuffy. You can wear whatever you are comfortable in.

Wengen is a quiet town but all transport forms are very close for going up and down the various routes for fantastic trips - we spent 14 days in Wengen (using a Swiss Pass bought in advance meaning all boats and trains were included and all other forms had 25% or 50% discount) and very day we did something different. Every day was exciting and produced something memorable. The trips and walks are listed elsewhere but after three visits we still think there are routes and variations we haven't yet explored.

Would we go back? Like a shot! Switzerland's not cheap though so we need to save up again! But the fresh air, the invigorating exercise, the sound of cow bells and the stunning mountains and meadows are calling us back already!! Over-enthusiastic? Can't help it. It was the perfect place to connect and recharge.

Room Tip: Book a valley-view room as high in hotel as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyemha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Having worked in a clinic inSwitzerald and visiting for the last. 15 years mostly staying
In chalet/hotels frequented mostly by Swiss, I feel qualified to comment on the service
On a larger hotel. Personal service,usually of the bend over backwards level, was
Lacking - bigger is not better!
The smaller mom and pop types proved without a doubt to be preferable .One is almost
cosseted. The Service extends well beyond your
stay, to the point where often one can ask
for an item to be sent overseas.
However, with respect to the Wengerhof, having asked for a cheese bought in town to be
Kept in the hotel refrigerator as it. was shrink wrapped for to journey back to Canada
- it was agreed to BUT - never found and I was treated as a liar. Several accurately
Described details availed me nothing
Now if the (expensive) item in question were to have been lost with an explanation
It would be acceptable and understandable, but the cavalier dismissal of my claim
Brought to mind the Hitchcock film The Lady Vanishes - somewhat malevolent.
O.K. It could be melodramatic ; but sooo Unswiss, and lacking in service and class
That's my beef and why I won't be back!
",




At

Room Tip: Insist on service/care every step of the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schaffmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and would have loved to be staying for 2 weeks instead of one. This hotel is set in a very tranquil location with gorgeous views of the Lauterbrunnen valley and the mountains beyond. The staff in the restaurant were courteous and helpful but they were the same all through the hotel, whatever your concern. They couldn't do enough for us. The manager is a very charming guy.
We found a high standard of cleanliness throughout and the food was excellent - 5 courses but as they were modest portions it was just the right amount of food.
Our room was very pretty with a balcony. I haven't given 5 stars because as another reviewer said the decor could do with some updating, but after saying that I think it would take away some of the charm.
If we ever return to Wengen we shall definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Cash permitting ask for a south facing rm/balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyeleanor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Property: Hotel Wengener Hof
Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing