We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

From the arrival at Wengen station to leaving everything went like Swiss clockwork. A hotel with staff who care.
At first when we were shown our room I had concerns as we were next to the lift but, typically Swiss it was silent. We had north facing as all the south facing were full but the views are amazing from the terrace & garden anyway. A very comfortable room & well maintained.
Food is exceptionally good with plenty of choice. After 10nts we were not bored with the menus.
Hotel is in a very quiet position a little walk from the station, the most noise comes from the birds in the garden - bliss.
We certainly hope to return as the majority of the guests seem to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    63
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
149
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed one night at Wengener Hof, but due to traffic jams we arrived at midnight. Some hours before I wrote an email to the hotel and informed about our late arrival. When we arrived Wengen by train we were met by a friendly man with an electric trolley that gave us a ride to the hotel.

The room was cosy, wifi was high speed and the breakfast was very good. The hotel cant be reached by car but the trains from Lauterbrunnen are going untill late.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Wengener Hof, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear guests,
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, even if you arrived late. Therefore, we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you once again in Wengen and send you our best wishes.

Management hotel Wengener Hof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was our 11th successive visit to the Wengener Hof Hotel, and that surely speaks for itself. We always have an enjoyable holiday here, with excellent accommodation and restaurant facilities to match. The staff are always so helpful and attentive to detail, and to us, we almost regard the hotel as our second home, given the welcome that we receive. It is also a great pleasure to meet up with some old friends here, as so many of the hotel's clients are regulars like ourselves, in some cases for many more years than they can remember!

Room Tip: No way. We want to make sure our preferred room is saved for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was our first trip to Switzerland and we could not have asked for a better hotel in a perfect location. We will definately be visiting again and would recommend to friends and family. We did not buy the Swiss 6 day pass when we booked our trip, but would advise to do so. We bought one at the resort and probably paid a little more, even so it was good value as we saw more of the area than we thought we would.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear which was smaller than expected. We asked for a quiet room which it was. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

No hotel can be perfect for everyone but Hotel Wengerer Hoff must come pretty close. Judging by all the repeat clients it entangles you into its web of old fashioned charm in the nicest possible way. It is situated at the far end of the town about a 10 minute walk from the station and hence in a quite location with one of the best views. I was reluctant to pay the steepish extra for a balcony front view, but as I drunk my morning cuppa (kettle and tea/coffee provided) and watched the mist rise from the valley 4000ft below, and in the evening drunk my gin and tonic (only fridge provided) and watched the sun set on the Jungfrau (6000ft above) the balcony extra was well worth it. The staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast and evening meals were of a high standard. They also provided a packed lunch (what colourful eggs)which we were grateful for when away from civilisation but was quitely dumped if an alternative were available. Walkers buy the Jungfraubahnen pass and you have miles of terrific walks and excursions from doorstep. Are we entrapped? Wait and see next year!!

Room Tip: Views from the balconies at front are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Wengener Hof, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we do appreciate. Of course, we would be very pleased to welcoming you again next summer 2014! Thank you again for your visit!

Management hotel Wengener Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I am writing this on behalf of my parents who stayed here for two weeks and have just arrived back in Edinburgh today. They said that the room was massive, with windows on three sides and a lovely balcony to sit on. The staff were very friendly and the meals were absolutely wonderful. They thoroughly enjoyed this holiday, the staff made it extra special for them as it was a treat for my father's 80th birthday. They would both love to go back again sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lovely hotel. Friendly staff and superb food. Rooms at the front have stunning views and balconies to relax on after a hard days walking. People ,including us,visit the beautiful resort of Wengen time and time again. We have stayed in several hotels ,but this is our favorite.

Room Tip: we went on a package deal with Thomson Lakes and Mountains.We booked a standard room ,but emailed ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiptonWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Property: Hotel Wengener Hof
Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing