We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Untrustworthy reservation system” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Untrustworthy reservation system”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Do not trust the reservation procedures at this hotel. Having enjoyed a stay there in 2012 I enquired by e-mail about room availability for a weeks stay in June this year. When I was ready to make a firm reservation I was advised by e-mail that the two twin rooms I had enquired about were still available for Sunday 22nd June to Sunday 29th June - just book your flights and we will e-mail our confirmation.

Within half an hour I had booked flights costing over £800 and e-mailed the hotel. The promised e-mail confirmation for my room reservation was not sent and all my e-mails to the management of the hotel in the following week were ignored.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cpickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Wengener Hof, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,
we regret very much that you have not received our several e-mails which we did send you. As we did mention as well directly to you, we did really always reply (the proofs have been sent to you) and it is very regrettable to hear that it seems that you have not received our feedbacks.

We send you our best wishes,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    61
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
148
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Let me start of by saying that the customer service at this hotel is outstanding in terms of recommending local restaurants, and activities (although you should probably have some in mind when in SUI). The only hiccup was at check in where another guest who was just checking in was negotiating a rate for the spare rooms at the hotel (man they took a long time w/o giving due consideration to me as a person who already had a reservation). The breakfast is has a fantastic variety of pastries, breads, cereals, fruits, and cold cut meats. However, the rooms are extremely dated and are in dire need of a refurbish. I am not exactly a guy who likes classy or dated hotels, but I felt that this particular place was extremely old starting with the room fixtures and bed sheets, all the way to the bathrooms. Even understanding that it is in Europe does not forgive the hotel from sprucing up its accommodation since there are a lot of other hotels out there with more modern rooms. The views at the hotel were also average at best from the rooms and fairly decent when being seated in the front foyer or living area. The hotel is in no way convenient in terms of getting to and from the train station. In fact the day we came in, it was pouring outside and despite calling for a ride up to the hotel, there really wasn't a cart available for the ride up. I really do hate lugging my carry on up the hill. If you don't have a swiss phone and you have baggage, call the hotel from the lower part of the village.

As always, this is Switzerland and so no air conditioning, just a dainty old fan above the bed. I know I can't expect this amenity at this altitude, but it got pretty hot the night we were there.

Room Tip: Stay for the breakfast and great customer service. Make sure to call hotel so that you can get a rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grabamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Wengener Hof, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest
We are wondering whether you did stay at our Hotel, there are few Points which we have to explain: From our Lobby we have an amazing view overlooking the mountain Panorama and from our garden with Long chairs and full of flowers you can enjoy a great view to the Jungfrau. Also we provide splendid views from our Hotel rooms.
As well, in None of our rooms we never had any fans above the bed. Our porter is always at disposal to pick up our guests at the Train Station. If that was not the case we do very much regret.
We are glad to be at your disposal at any time, Management Hotel Wengener Hof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good choice in Wengen. Helpful in recommending ski rental shop. Call from train station for porter to get you. Good breakfast. If you don't want multi-course meal for dinner, visit the sister hotel for a la carte menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel and staff were great from the word go. They could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. I was travelling with my son who is 12 and they were always checking to see he was ok with everything which made him feel very comfortable with his surroundings. The views from the room were breathtaking in the early evening when the sun went down it was beautiful, the patio was great for sitting out as we were fortunate to have wall to wall sunshine and fantastic snow. The rooms were very comfortable , the shower was great with ample hot water. The food was 100%, couldnt be faulted for anything other than too much! The menus each day were suited to most palates.The hotel has everything that you need , a lovely sitting room, beautiful restaurant and bar. It is only a short walk to the Mannlichen lift up the mountain for the mornings.
Wengen itself was one of the most beautiful traditional towns I have seen. There is loads to do if you have time, for us the most memorable would be our first time curling, the ice rink was great well worth a visit. Too much to do for 1 trip will definately be back to the Wegerner Hof hopefully next year.
Thanks to all the staff for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is a gem. The staff were highly professional, as one would expect in a good Swiss hotel, but also very warm, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and well furnished and, although the bathroom was small, the water was hot and the shower was good. A south-facing balcony was a bonus and afternoon tea with a view of the sun setting behind the mountains was a great way to finish a day's skiing.

The public rooms are elegant and the log fire in the lounge welcoming. The dining room is very splendid, with a view of the mountains at breakfast from some tables. The food is excellent, if traditional, and the wine list very reasonably priced. The house wine is very quaffable and good value and the list has an extensive range of Swiss wine at fair prices. Swiss wine is rare in the UK - and expensive - but that's because they sensibly drink it all themselves!

The Wengen ski area is the most scenic I have visited and the facilities are excellent. I would therefore have no hesitation in returning to the Wengener Hof.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have balconies and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wader01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fantastic resort with loads to do and wide variety of skiing for all levels.
The hotel is tucked away from the main village so is very quiet.
Food is brilliant and the service levels from all the staff could not be better.
We will certainly be back again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite on the fourth floor. Well worth the upgrade. I would recommend a south faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel for a skiing trip, and a very pleasant experience it was. The hotel was comfortable, clean, smart and yet unpretentious. The restaurant service was excellent and was complimented with delicious food and an impressive wine list. I was particularly impressed with the staff who were courteous and efficient, and contributed greatly to the friendly atmosphere (they could teach us a thing or two here in the U.K.!). I hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_C_R4460IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Property: Hotel Wengener Hof
Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing