We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Berghaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Berghaus
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

location is fantastic
staff is friendly to guests
room is a little bit small but stilll good
price a little high but acceptable
not very far from the Train station and the cable car station
view is fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ouyang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice holiday at hotel Berghaus. The staff (a family) is really friendly and helpful. They made a cake for the birthday of someone in our group. There is a very nice living room with sofa, chimney, good wifi, chairs and tables, and it's very quiet. The rooms are simple and clean. The only point that could maybe get better if I can say is the food. We booked half board and we didn't really like it but other people seemed to be happy with that (other reviews). I think it would be better if they would cook more simple and lighter things. I highly recommend this hotel which is in addition located right in front of the ski slopes and 5 minutes walking from the shops and train station.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Sorfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here with my family over the new year. Couldn't have picked a better place. The location is just outside the main town with lovely view. The rooms are well equipped, the restaurant food was gorgeous, and Martina and staff couldn't do more to help out, especially when my wife injured her leg skiing.

Absolutely would pick this hotel again for any return back to Wengen, summer or winter.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank M.Pickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just returned from family trip to Wengen staying in the Berghaus. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was terrific and plentiful! The standard rooms were smallish but great for a ski trip when you are pretty much out of them most of the time so you don't want more than a comfortable, warm, clean place to sleep. But one of our groups stayed in the suite in the top of the hotel which was really roomy and would be great for hanging around in if that was wanted. The views from the rooms were spectacular and one of the nursery slopes was literally right outside the hotel. Staff were lovely and so accommodating to the children (and me as a vegetarian). The atmosphere was so relaxed and really added to the enjoyment of our trip. Everything within easy reach including the fabulous Sina's bar which became our favourite happy hour haunt!

Room Tip: If you're wanting time to lounge around go with the suite but for an active "out of hotel&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for six nights and didn't want to leave. The family who runs this gorgeous mountain house is extremely accommodating and always on hand, ready to assist your every need or request. The hotel is simply beautiful with the best views in Wengen, with exception of the gondola, of course, which passes overhead.

I had a south view room with a lovely balcony which offers the tranquil scenes of the small village, surrounded by all those magnificent snow-capped mountains and the valley far below. One can never ever grow tired of that phenomenal view.

I chose not to do the half-board, did the bed and breakfast option and thoroughly enjoyed the abundant selections offered each morning. Various local alpine cheeses, deli meats, all kinds of beads, eggs, fresh fruit, juices, milk, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereals and jams...what more could you possibly hope for? Martina and Marcella always greeted me with a cheerful 'good morning' and happy smiles, while they attended their hungry guests.

Mr. Fontana and Martina was superb with advice, always checking the weather forecast and offering hints with which days to do the Jungfraujoch and Schilthorn, what trails to hike and which villages to visit and the best ways to get back and forth i.e.; bus, gondola, train, trails. They aim to keep their guests content and satisfied and they do an awesome job of it.

By the way, if you take the gondola to Mannlichen, it is a very easy, but rewarding hike to Kleine Sheidegg, where you can catch the train to Jungfraudoch, saving you some big bucks. For a more challenging climb, you can hike to Kleine Sheidegg directly from Wengen.

Before I booked my trip here, I was contemplating staying in different villages and moving every other day. After taking some very good advice from another well-seasoned traveler, I chose to base myself in Wengen and am so glad that I did! Out of all the villages I visited in the Jungfrau region; Grindelwald, Gimmelwald, Stechelberg, Murren, and Lauterbrunnen, I am so thrilled that I went with Wengen.

One last thing I do want to add, Wengen has very limited free-wifi available. Rock's Bar offers free unlimited wifi, you only have to purchase one drink. The Tourist Center offers free-wifi also, if you have a guest card which you can ask for at your hotel. Other than that, most hotels do charge for wifi. Hotel Berghaus offers free landline internet service, but I needed wifi to upload my photos to my tablet for my family (just to rub it in a bit)...it was a simple solution and a quick, easy walk to the local bar and a cold, refreshing beer.

Room Tip: choose a room with southern exposure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stormbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have stayed twice in the Hotel Berghaus. Its hard to find words to describe the particular magic of the Berghaus. It feels like home, but a version of home where a glass of wine is brought to you as you sit by a roaring fire and then move on to a wonderful 3 course dinner which you didn't have to cook and go upstairs to your cozy, comfortable bed that you did not have to make and know you will wake up to a spectacular view of the mountains and a hearty breakfast and great cappuccino served to you by the kind staff. Best of all, if you bring your children, they will always find something they love on the menu and likely they will make friends with other kids and will be busy playing cards between courses so you and your spouse can chat over dinner. Herr Fontana-Fuchs and his daughter Martina are the magic makers and you will not find more friendly and helpful hosts in all of Switzerland and perhaps indeed the world :)

Room Tip: Pick a mountain view room. If traveling with kids the family room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 456jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Berghaus is family owned hotel, where guest are treated well. Martina and her father were always there to help and provide suggestions. Unfortunately we lost their hotel umbrella, but they didn't even charge us for it. Martina also provided with power adapters to charge our phones. Hotel had best breakfast and views were amazing. Thank you and we hope to return in future.

Room Tip: Book your rooms directly with hotels rather then online and get balcony room if you plan to spend mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#8 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berghaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghaus

Address: Am Wengi 1412A, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Wengen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £135 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berghaus 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berghaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghaus Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing