We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a first stay in Wengen.”
Review of Hotel Berghaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Berghaus
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It was a very pleasant stay at Hotel Berghaus exactly 1 month back. The staff, especially Martina, was extremely friendly and helpful. I bought a swiss pass which I found I would not be able to utilise well in the bernese oberland, and Martina suggested for me to get the mountain pass instead, and offered to help me call the train station to possibly ask for a refund, although it didn't work out. On top of that, she offered me a cheaper menu (meant for lunch) during dinner(which was fairly expensive) because she noticed I was more of a budgety traveller, and I really appreciated the thoughtfulness. On top of that, the single room i booked had sufficient facilities such as a mini fridge, towels and was very clean, with someone coming in to clean and tidy up the room every morning, doing a good job.
Hotel Berghaus is a lovely place to stay and is fairly good value for the money as compared to the prices for hotels around Wengen. I would definitely suggest this place to people who are staying in Wengen for the first time. Although I would have to mention that the place is fairly far from the train station, about a good probable 300m away, so carrying heavy stuff is not a very ideal situation to get to the hotel.
But still, definitely worth going back! I will be back Martina!
PS: Hope you still remember me! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgr126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just returned from 4 nights at the Berghaus. We stayed in the Superior Twin room with a stunning view of the cablecar to Mannlichen and the Jungfrau. The first two days were clear, and the second 3 were raining, but even in the rain, the views are stunning, and it didn't stop us from hiking. The hotel is small and the family that runs it is very helpful. They gave us very good advice on what to do with our time (mainly hiking).
Wifi is advertised only in the public areas, but we had great reception in our room 2 floors up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidZFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were looking for a hotel, on a half board basis, which was quiet and had views towards the Jungfrau. We booked directly with the hotel via email, and would recommend this over using any internet booking agent. A limited number of south facing (superior) rooms with balconies overlooking the Jungfrau are available at request.
The hotel is located around 10 minutes walk from Wengen train station, slightly away from the main street, so it was very convenient and peaceful.
Martine and team were fantastic; before we got there she advised us which train travel cards would be better for us in terms of flexibility and cost and during our stay, they advised on weather, which walking routes to take, and local attractions.
Breakfast was self service, generous and there was a good variety of local produce available. On request, breakfast times were flexible.
Dinner was different every evening, a four course meal, with seconds offered on main courses! Again, they were very flexible if there was something you didn't like.
The room was spacious and comfortable; you could lie in bed and look at the mountains!
We hadn't realised that Switzerland have different electrical adaptors/plugs, but were able to borrow some from the hotel.
We had a fantastic holiday and will definitely visit again and stay at Hotel Berghaus.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are South facing with balconies and a view of the Jungfrau, which is worth paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our return visit began with a delicious four course dinner at an attractively decorated table with the Jungfrau as a backdrop. The buffet breakfast included home made jams and butter and as always the staff were courteous and attentive. The bedroom faced south towards the high mountains and was very clean and comfortable with changes of bedding and towels during the week and a balcony from which to enjoy the alpenglow. Guests can relax in the large, comfortable and beautifully decorated lounge or on the terrace whilst their outdoor gear recovers in the drying room. If you are looking for homely atmosphere, imaginative menus and first class service then look no further than the Berghaus.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have balconies and uninterrupted spectacular views across meadows with singing Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for a week - admittedly as part of a Naturetrek flowers of the alps week - and the experience was great. The room, ask for one with a balcony at the front, was more than adequate in size with a bathroom, including shower and bath, that was of a good size. The staff were friendly and obliging, always ready to chat and offer advice and help. The views from the room balcony and the hotel patio were stupendous, must be one of the finest views in Switzerland. We had no problem in sleeping very soundly in the beds and the room was clean with the linen and towels changed regularly. All in all, one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danddsills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Popped into Wengen on way to Jungfrau...no reservations!

Looked for hotel with best view! For Berghaus, gave them a ring and the had a room. Within seconds they had a car down to get us at the station! Great service.

Room was perfect, and I swear while you may spend more at other hotels, the view from here is unbelievable! Steps from the gondola as well for a quick jump to alpine hiking!

Don't miss dinner here either! Martina will spoil you! :). We will be back!

Room Tip: Call from train station at kiosk if you don't want the short walk....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Star_Buck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

location is fantastic
staff is friendly to guests
room is a little bit small but stilll good
price a little high but acceptable
not very far from the Train station and the cable car station
view is fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ouyang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#14 of 20 in Wengen
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 20 in Wengen
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berghaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghaus

Address: Am Wengi 1412A, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Wengen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £161 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berghaus 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berghaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghaus Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing