We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

An excellent holiday in a "definate" 2 star hotel---All previous comments from others are accurate---If you are more than 6 feet tall the shower would be rather constricted but fine for smaller persons--Bedrooms very cleanly kept and views to die for more than make up for the occasional curtness of the staff .There is a kettle provided in the room but you have to get your own tea /coffee etc from local Co-op ! Food is varied and tasty though service is variable at busy times..Nicely furnished small lounge area with bar and tv etc though one evening slightly spoiled by the staff vacuuming whilst guests still relaxing !
The receptionist was efficient sorting out baggage on departure as we used the fly rail service but very rarely saw reception staff on duty during the rest of the week.
I would recommend this hotel if you wanted a basic room and were not too fussed on its interior etc and were on holiday for the simply wonderful country that is Switzerland

Room Tip: First floor with a balcony as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    34
    16
    12
See reviews for
35
47
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Our stay in July was in the self catering Residence located next to the hotel section of the Bernerhof. I had booked (family of four) the two room studio which was basically interconnecting rooms, one with kitchen facilities and one without.
Both rooms were spacious, providing two bathrooms with showers, two large flat tv's, plenty of wardrobe space, small table and chairs and a small kitchen area with fridge, microwave and two hot plates. The accomodation is basic and the decor is dated however the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our room opened up to a small patio area with table, chairs and a lounger offering amazing views overlooking the church and valley.
I knew when I booked this holiday that I wasn't going to get luxury accomodation, however in my opinion because of the location, the views from the room, excellent value for money to stay in such an expensive part of the world and the size of the rooms together made it ideal for us. There is also a pizza restaurant attached to the residence which is open over the weekend.
I loved everything about Wengen, the views all around are spectacular and it is truly an idyllic place to stay with plenty of things to do. I can see why so many people return year after year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The location cannot be beat. Its right in front of park, mountains, gandola etc. Beautiful views form balcony of room.

Some things that one may not like:
- Bathrooms are tiny (build in closet in our room) - not kidding...
- Room size was ok, not to big, but not crumpy.
- No elevators
- Creeky wood sound when walking on upper floors (old house, did I say)
- Wifi not free

Good points:
- Clean
- Very nice location (small car free vilage)
- Very easy access to Jungfraujoch
- Good breakfast

Some tips. We booked through priceline. Later found out, rates on hotels own site are better (http://behof.ch/home/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=16&Itemid=40). So call in to book.

Room Tip: Call Hotel directly to book room instead of priceline/booking.com or anything else. http://behof.ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Kind of a dumpy place, but the food was to die for... And inexpensive for the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bernerhof with our two friends for 10 days from 25th June.
This was our second visit (first one about 40 yrs ago) and our friends first trip to Switzerland.
The Bernerhof looks wonderful and traditional from outside and inside.
The staff were lovely and the food on the whole was quite tasty. I was really looking forward to the huge bowl of Swiss muesli which you helped yourself to at breakfast but unfortunately it was no longer on the menu. The soups were really nice but the portions a little sparse as was most of the deserts. However by the time you had eaten all 4 courses you were quite full.
The bedrooms were not very big but spotless and pleasant with everything you needed including a really small bathroom. The beds were really comfortable and the pillows wonderful. We had a small balcony with lovely views and the train station was 5 minutes down the road along with the local Coop shop. Very hand for sandwiches(we were half board) and wonderful huge tarts.
We were on the 3rd floor and along with other guests found the climb up the stairs harder work then some of the walks. A lift would have been wonderful after coming home happy but weary.
All in all good value for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shootingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We, My wife & I, stayed for 3 night at Bernerhof in June 2012.
Location is great, just 3-4 mins walk from the rail station, 2mins from the cable station, cafes & grocery stores are just around the corner.
The reception area is mostly deserted. kind of self service. If you have booked online, the confirmation mail (print out) & the room key would be kept on the desk. Else you ring the bell, a staff will show up in sometime.
Room is ok, clean & comfortable. WC was quite small, wash basin inside the room. But the scoring point was the balcony, an amazing view of the Männlichen hills, the wengen village, on your right the view of the Jungfraujoch. simply amzing! Can't comment about the room service, never asked for one.
The breakfast was included. good breakfast, lots of variety, available from 7am to 10am. But nothing to rave about.
We had dinner once. the staff was kinda rude, partly due to the language problem & because he was single handedly serving some 10 tables. Food was ok. But there are muct better resturants & cafes at equal or cheaper price.
Overall it's just an average hotel to have a good sleep but don't worry.
Wengen is beautiful. Trekking, hiking, cable rides, train trips to the mountain tops, other villages & valleys will keep you busy through out the day & the evening!
Or better, don't get busy, just enjoy the nature at your own leisure!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arunangshu_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel in late May of 2012. Great location and extremely nice staff. Breakfast was very good too.

We did run into an issue as we did not have hot water in the a.m., but it was because the hotel had a filter issue that had to be fixed. They jumped on the issue as fast as they could. When we checked out, without our even asking, they reduced the cost of our room because of the water issue. That's great customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Traveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#18 of 20 in Wengen
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#10 of 20 in Wengen
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof & Residence

Property: Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernerhof & Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing