We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Bellevue in Wengen in June-July 2014. The hotel is a little gem, tucked away in a quiet part of town yet only a 5-7 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are cozy but very clean and well-looked after. And the views are simply spectacular - you step onto your balcony, and can look down 1,000 feet to the Lauterbrunnen valley, or look up 10,000 feet to the summit of Jungfrau, while taking in numerous waterfalls. The best views in town, I am sure. We opted for the half-board option, and I am very glad we did - the dinners every night were the best dinners that we've ever had in any hotel, period. The food itself is reason enough to stay here. Judith and Andi are welcoming hosts, and very caring. And the overall service is wonderful. We will come back to the Bellevue as often as we are able to, and would recommend it to all our friends to make their base as they explore the Jungfrau region.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    36
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Circumstances had it, our family had to celebrate Christmas 2013 abroad. We chose Switzerland, the most Christmasy we could think of in Europe apart from the Nordic countries, Wengen was recommended to us by a Swiss colleague. After some research in internet, looking at reviews and pictures, we decided upon Hotel Bellevue. Arriving somewhere new is always very exiting, as You never know what really expects You. Hotel Bellevue was even better than expected. Judith, Andi and their staff were very welcoming and helpful during all stages of our stay. Upon request, they even provided us a christmas three in our suite as this was very important for our daughter. We got a suite on top floor. Two spacious rooms connected with bathroom and toilet, plenty of cabinets and knobs on the walls to put clothes, one of the room with fantastic view of the valley. The view from the hotel is really fantastic, make sure You get a room with valley and/or Jungfrau view. Location of the hotel is great as it is very, very quiet during nighttime and still You are central. Really, no matter where in Wengen You stay, You are more or less close to the "centre" as it is a tiny, tiny little village. They have a deal with the Intersport shop close to the Bergbahn where You can rent Skigear and keep it there in between skiing so that You do not have to walk to and from Your hotel with ski boots on and carry Your skies around. They have an electric car to bring Your luggage to and from the Train. Another positive surprise to us was the food. We booked half-board but did not expect anything special in an alpine, traditional hotel like the Bellevue, but the food was actually really good. The only disappointment was that they were not able extend our stay with two days to over New Year as it was fully booked. If I go back to Wengen, I will stay at the Bellevue and even consider going back there in summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed there for 3 days to use it as a base for our Jungfraujoch trip and explorations ard the valley (Mannlichen, Kleine Scheidigg - accessible by cable car and train respectively). It's a very basic hotel - don't expect TVs and mini bars in the room. They have a lift but it stops, on the half-floors so you either have to lug up or down your luggage. The rooms are small, but everything is made good when you walk out of the room into the balcony and a whole new world opens up. The views from the rooms (we requested for the mountain view one) are amazing and a killer. The bathroom is tiny and pretty old, but is clean and functional. It is kind of obvious that people don't come here for sleep-ins and relaxation, but rather to use it as a base for their skiing trips and outdoor activities. The manager (owner as well, we believe) Judith is a lovely lady and goes out of her way to welcome you and answer your questions. We were welcomed with a glass of mulled wine and given detailed explanations of what we could do and see. Service is excellent, be it from Judith or any one of her team. On our 2nd night, we opted to have dinner in the restaurant but there was a problem with the set menu as we could not eat the pork steak. The staff very kindly offered to make us something else - we had an amazing beef steak instead. If you're there and they have the apple tart with vanilla cinnamon sauce on the menu, try it. It's delish! Location wise, they're not near the station and it's quite an uphill walk, made more tiring if you're dragging a suitcase (or more) and forcing your way through the snow. Call them and get a pick up - they offer that service, as well as a trip to the station when you leave. The breakfast is basic but enough to fill you up. If you're game, pls try the jacuzzi outside - I wimped out given the -15 degree weather and snow. We had a wonderful time and actually had a hard time leaving. I distinctly remember asking my husband to just leave me behind. The gorgeousness of the snow topped mountains, the pin drop silence and the killer views made it a fantastic location to stay in. Thanks, Judith and team. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get the mountain view ones with a balcony. Views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaImran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue W, Inhaber at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed comments. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay in our more than 120 years old hotel without TV and minibar in the room. There is a TV in our lounge and guests can order cool drinks all day. Our kitchen is flexible to change the menu if you have a special diet or you do not eat pork for example. We serve a cold Swiss buffet breakfast with local products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed there for 3 days in August for our first anniversary,stay was beautiful.. we booked the corner room so had the views of the mountains and also Lauterburren valley, view it waz amazing..very calm location, they have jaccuzzi out side.. you could just sit and enjoy the view.. great breakfast.. on the whole lovely experience.. beautiful stay..i would definetly recommend ...:)

Room Tip: Corner rooms have grt views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preethi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very friendly owners, who will greet you at the station. The hotel is a bit remote, especially with skis, but one can rent space at one of the many ski shops in the resort and therefore walk without having to carry skis. Very precious with children. Good rooms, even if the bathrooms are a bit old. Silence everywhere. Good living room to drink / play after ski. Good food at the restaurant. A very good place for a family holiday

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue W, Inhaber at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
You are right, the ski and boots can be left in the village centre offered by the hotel to make you free to walk from and to the hotel in your walking shoes.
As our hotel has been situated at the same place for more than 120 years, the rooms are not as big as it is used to be built today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

During a 10 night rush trip through Europe we stayed two nights. Without doubt this place was the pick of all the places we stayed. The level of attention and service was first class. I loved having to only make one decision,"are we eating in at night" We said yes both nights and had lovely meals. A birthday cake was provided and we were truly looked after. Thank you for providing a superb hotel.
You deserve the excellent rating.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.. Worth the exra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alott3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of Boston, MA USA
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Bellevue prior to our week's rental at a chalet in Wengen. We arrived after many long hours of travel and were greeted warmly by the host. The hotel is a little bit of an uphill walk from the train station, maybe 8-10 minutes. We were glad to see the Bellevue "trolley," which took our heavy bags to the hotel for us. We slowly walked to the hotel enjoying the views along the way. Our first-floor room faced south and had a shared balcony, which was very nice and had beautiful views. We had the balcony to ourselves in the evening, but the next morning a neighbor was smoking on the balcony, so we had to close our door and window. It was very, very warm in Wengen and the room was quite warm also. We would have liked to keep the door and window open all night, but didn't feel comfortable doing that with being on a lower level.
The bed and bedding was comfortable, but I wish we'd had sheets and not just the duvet with comforter. (I guess that's a Swiss/European custom?) The room was so overly warm that it was too hot to sleep under the comforter - a light sheet would have been perfect! The room was small and the bathroom "snug." However, everything was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast buffet was very good; there was good variety of meats, cheeses, breads, and juice, coffee, tea. Checkout was easy and our bags, to our delight, were transported back to the train station for us.
I would definitely recommend the Bellevue, mostly for its excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue W, Inhaber at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry about the hot weather you had during your stay. With pleasure we would have changed your comforter to sheets if you would have ask us and we would also have given you a room on a higher floor and other situation to avoid the smoke of another guest on the first floor.
We hope we can do better next time you visit us at the Bellevue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#13 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Wengen
Minotel Wengen
Wengen Minotel
Minotel Hotel Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing