We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just supporting the many positive reviews of both the hotel and restaurant. Truly excellent, Phillip and all the staff are excellent and so friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic- really nothing to fault or improve, perfect !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulHof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We spend 5 days in Hotel Schoenegg and we loved it from the beginning to the end. The rooms are simple but with a good bed, a good shower and a great view what more does one need? Breakfast was fine, nothing exiting but dinner was excellent 5 evenings in a row. But above all the staff, from manager Philippe to the waitresses, were all very friendly, hospitable and helpful thereby creating a relaxed and warm atmosphere! With our family of six we had a fantastic stay and we promised ourselves to come back for more!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Vrijbuiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed with a family of 4 for 3 nights. We rented two rooms next to one another. Both rooms together were less expensive then the single room we got in Lucerne, and the price included breakfast and a fabulous dinner in a lovely dining room. The rooms are clean and cozy, the view is spectacular, the service was friendly, and the food was really wonderful. I did a lot of research before picking this hotel, and I was very glad we chose it. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveR-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in room #18 on 1 Sept for 3 nights. This was one of the most memorable hotel stays we have had. From Phillipe, the manager to Lena in the restaurant, everyone was fantastic. But the star was the restaurant chef. We purchased the half-board option which included breakfast and dinner. The dinners were utterly amazing and I dare say the best value in Switzerland. Each morning Phillipe would greet us in the restaurant and make sure our evening was satisfactory, and he and the chef would make sure our dinner exceeded expectations each evening. You really felt like being a guest in their home. We will venture back to Wengen in the future and Hotel Shoenegg will be on our itinerary.

Room Tip: Pay the upcharge for the Jungfrau view. It is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imartin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We decided to book a room at this hotel because of it restaurant.
Before arriving in Wengen we called the hotel and they picked us up in a very funny electric vehicle. Already a lot of tourist took out the camera to take us on picture.
Very quick registration process the luggage were immediately brought to the room.
All rooms have a fantastic view on the mountains. Recently renovated, the rooms are not so big but very nice with original balconies and details.
Dinner was special as well.
Everything is freshly made with local ingredients at highest standards (We had Pasta with fresh mushrooms collected by the kitchen team the same day). What we really liked is they way food was served (always explaining the dish) and wines recommended.
During the dinner the manager and the chef came to the dining room.
After dinner we had a drink at the bar. Here again we were recommended special drinks.
The next morning we had breakfast quite late and there was only 1 gipfeli (croissant) left.
The manager organised some from the bakery directly!
All Jams, again, are done by the Chef.
Excellent attention to details during our whole stay and fantastic food, we will certainlty come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Schoenegg for 4 nights... and what an amazing stay it was... apart from the service, classic swiss hospitality and professionalism...it is just 5 mins walk from the wengen train station... the place wengen is beautiful and picturesque on its own...you are surrounded by beautiful valleys and blissful weather... the hotel is just an icing on the cake sorts... we really enjoyed our stay at schoenegg.. we were welcomed by Phillip very warmly (who is the director of the hotel)... he was very helpful and sweet every time we spoke... the decor of the hotel is very classic swiss... with lots of wood... it is simple and charming... when you are staying at such a wonderful place like wengen one doesn't need glamour in the hotel room... there is enough of it the moment you step outside the hotel or if you are in the balcony... all you need is a simple and well equipped room to relax and unwind... Schoenegg perfectly fits the bill for that...

The Breakfast was really nice... nice variety and the quality was really good...all in all this is one of those hotels and places that you would like to go again and again... Nice and clean rooms, courteous and pleasing service, views to die for and amazing food... what else do you need from a hotel... my personal tip : do dine at their restaurant... it is fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WB_Travelog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated, rooms are spacious, comfortable and recently renovated. We had one of the best views on the mountains (room 21). This hotel is of very good standard. The dinner is just great (four course meal!), with fresh ingredients, including herbs from the hotel's garden. The chef really puts a lot of effort in each course and after dinner makes a tour around tables to ask the guests if everything was OK. The hotel manager, Philip is really one of the best and friendliest hotel managers we have ever met. I must admit that we are not the easiest guests and Philip never lost patience and tried to make us happy and fulfill our needs. He was really THE BEST and we very much appreciate that. We will certainly come back. Maria (Israel)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaGajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 20 in Wengen
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: £163 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing