We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New review of hotel Schoenegg”
Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New review of hotel Schoenegg”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Another year and a great visit at the Hotel Schoenegg. The hotel is in great physical shape. The service is terrific. Phillipe and Erika are doing a wonderful job. Wengen and the Hotel Schoeneg are our favorite place to visit. Hubert, the chef, is the best in the world.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
152
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Even the enchanting train ride to the town of "car free" Wengen let's you know something special is around the corner. The hotel is true Swiss Style with authentic beams, antiques and stonework. Rooms are very comfortable with understated elegance and all have a mountain view with balconies. Our meals were such a fun experience based on what was fresh that day and Chef Hubert's imagination. Alongside Manager Phillip is Erica who charmed us with her 5 languages and fantastic sense of humor. She and her laugh really added to the stay. I would recommend taking advantage of a slice of Swiss paradise, stay at Hotel Schoenegg and never want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night while we were in Wengen. The customer service during our stay was exceptional. The day we checked out, we were only staying about 5 minutes away in our next hotel. It was raining outside, so the owner gave us a ride to the other hotel. The dinner and breakfast service was also exceptional and the rooms were immaculate!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheerjoni05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Wengen is a perfect town to visit to experience the Swiss Alps. And, this hotel is wonderful - beautiful location, amazing views, delicious food and attentive staff. Our 4 nights at Hotel Schoenegg was very magical. I'd highly recommend staying here and getting the "Half Board". Each night we enjoyed an amazing 4 course dinner. It was easily the best food we had in Switzerland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cftravelerirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our stay at the Romantik Hotel Schoenegg was truly wonderful. Delicious breakfast in the morning, breathtaking views from our room, and the best part was really the staff. Phillip, Erica and Chef Hubert made it a truly memorable experience. Our 5 course "surprise" dinner was an experience! My husband and I would be privileged to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the friendly greeting at the railway station when we arrived in Wengen, to the delicious goodbye chocolates, Philip the Director of this Hotel has thought of everything.
His attention to detail and service is stellar.

We loved our room/the view/the food at the hotel/the staff and the decor.
Honestly, we could not asked for anything more.
Loved everything about it, especially the value.

Would definitely recommend to even my most critical NYC friends.

Room Tip: Every room has a view and every guest is treated like they are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LORENAGRIPPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Schoenegg. Our room (#31) was clean, spacious, and had beautiful views from its top floor location. One nice feature was the motorized awning that allowed us to sit outside while light rain was falling. The staff was always helpful, accomodating, and spoke perfect English ;-). The hotel was an easy walk to the train station.

The chef was excellent and the a la carte dining room is a must!!!! The a la carte dining room was small, charming, and has a surprise menu feature that we really liked. Although not extensive, the wine list was very balanced and moderately priced.

I highly recommend the Hotel Schoenegg for your Wengen visit!

Room Tip: As I mentioned in the review, room #31 is on the top floor and shares a balcony with the Jungfrau Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jody_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing