We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel with Great Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Great Facilities”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have had a weekend break here with colleagues for the last two ski seasons and both times have had a great time. Good restaurant, good bar and exceptional facilities. Arosa is a lovely town and it is very easy to get around from this hotel as a base. Only down side is that it isn't ski in, but otherwise I can't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJAB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    42
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
46
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Sunstar Arosa, one of the most beautiful buildings in town ... real on the outside, but so fake on the inside.

This hotel is not worth to spend your time nor money.
So please don't do it and choose another one!

The staff is under qualified (mostly students or low paid eastern european), the management is rude, egocentric and not customer friendly.

The food is "extremely below average" for a 4* hotel.

If you wanna be riped off, know nothing about food and the Swiss Hotel business, go for it, you'll like it.

All others with brains and self respect: stay away from it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Leiter Vertrieb at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Google Translation
Zu diesem Eintrag erlauben wir uns folgende Kommentierung:

Wir sind sehr erstaunt über diesen Eintrag und können uns diese offensichtliche Erfahrung nicht erklären, umso mehr als wir seit einem Jahr (neues Management und Team) von allen Seiten überdurchschnittlich gute Reaktionen erhalten. Leider hat sich der Gast im Hotel nicht bemerkbar gemacht, sodass allfällige Unzulänglichkeiten hätten beseitigt werden können.

Das Sunstar Hotel Arosa **** wurde im Sommer 2011 umfangreich saniert. Die Preise sind für lokale Verhältnisse attraktiv, aber natürlich über die Festtage auf einem erhöhten Niveau. Zudem sind sämtliche Skilifte und Bergbahnen im Preis enthalten, ebenso die kostenlose Minibar, W-Lan, Thermeneintritt sowie die CO2-Kompensation.

Wir sind überrascht, dass Sie unser Essen sowie unsere Mitarbeitenden als ungenügend empfunden haben. In unseren, mit 41 % Rücklaufquote repräsentativen Gästebefragungen, werden fast immer die Qualität des Essens sowie die Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft der Mitarbeitenden speziell erwähnt. Unsere Mitarbeitenden im Service sowie an der Reception stammen ausschliesslich aus der Schweiz, Deutschland und Italien; alle werden gemäss schweizerischem Gesamtarbeitsvertrag entschädigt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We spent a week here in August on a timeshare exchange. Although the room was small, it was well laid-out, clean, modern, and efficient. We were on the south side of the building, had a balcony, and a million-dollar view of the mountains. Front desk staff were always helpful, professional, and courteous. Be aware that you will be charged approximately $40 per person per day (summer), but this covers your daily breakfast (from an excellent buffet), various activities offered by the hotel such as hiking tours and crossbow shooting, use of the local mountain gondolas, entrance to the local museum, free use of the ropes/zip line park, free use of the boats on the small lake near the train station, admission to the swimming lake in the center of town, and a few other benefits. Hotel offers a free shuttle bus service during the day, and Arosa also has a bus (running on a fixed loop approximately every 30 minutes) that is included with your daily fee. However, both the hotel shuttle and Arosa bus only operate during the day - you'll have to hire a taxi or walk if you're doing something in the evening (or early morning). You could spend your whole time at the hotel - it has a nice restaurant, and many people were on an all inclusive plan. There is a spa, indoor pool and fitness center, outdoor sun deck, and even a basement bowling alley and kids activity room. If you want to venture beyone the hotel, Arosa is for the fit and active - plenty of walking and hiking opportunities during the summer. Many restaurant choices in town, as well as bakeries, tea rooms, and even a couple of internet cafes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CalBeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Arosa its self is a fantastic place to visit/ski/snowboard, and we have visited many times over the years, a typical Swiss village with everything that you would expect, great atmosphere/Vibe
We have stayed in the Sunstar Hotel on three previous occasions, but recent management changes seam to have affected things adversely. so I would book with caution !
as the cost of the accommodation is excessive in relation to the service/food you might receive.
We checked out after two days of a 10 day booking and drove to Montgenevre, France and checked into the Hotel Le Chalvet, (A 2star) hotel ! that catered for us far better than the Sunstar (A 5 star !)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDickoDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Recently returned from a one week stay at the Sunstar Park. It is a very good hotel, not as far from the centre of Arosa as it at first seems and there is a hotel minibus if you need transport. We had a very large corner room and our teenagers had good sized singles. A real bonus of this hotel is the free minibar which is replenished daily.The food was very good, particularly the breakfast buffet, which had a wide selection of both hot and cold items. The hotel has many facilities, including a good sized swimming pool and a bowling alley - the bowling alley cost extra but it operated well. There are also spa facilities and some exercise classes, neither of which we used. Our one complaint is that occasionally there were meetings/events held in the bar area, which made access to the dining-room very difficult (we had to wait for a break in proceedings before we could get in). Otherwise the hotel was good.

  • Liked — Free minibar
  • Disliked — Access to the dining- room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Sunstar Park Hotel in Arosa for two weeks up to 9th March. It is a lovely hotel that catches most of the glorious sunshine of this excellent ski resort. The staff are - as one would expect in Switzerland - highly professional and welcoming. The bedroom that we were in was spacious and well equipped with a splendid south facing balcony and excellent bath accommodation. The restaurant was well laid out, tables not too close for comfort and the meals varied and always good, sometimes (as with our Italian buffet) ecellent. An extensive wine list included reasonably priced and very drinkable house wines Attentive staff ensured we were never kept waiting long and they always made one feel welcome. The swimming pool is an outstanding facility, far bigger than expected and immaculately maintained.
There is a not to be missed ski guide/teacher based in the hotel who is said to be the best teacher in Arosa and who is a delight to ski with.
Transport was the one factor that could be better, we were not met as our agent had promised on our arrival, and the bus from the hotel to the town centre is inadequate to cope with the demand, but, provided you did not have to carry your skis and boots, it was not too far to walk, even if the seven minute climb to the main road was breathless at that altitude.

  • Liked — professional taff
  • Disliked — transport
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tuggieEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

I stayed at The Sunstar this August for the sceond time, having had such a good experience here 2 years previously (booking with Kuoni both times). The location is excellent - very quiet (as it's tucked away off the main road) and with views either of the mountains or the lakes. One of my other reasons for choosing the hotel was that there was no single supplement during the summer, although this does mean haing a single room rather than sole occupancy of a double room.

On my previous visit I had paid a £50 supplement to have a "superior" room for the week, which is basically a room with a balcony, facing the mountains. That time the weather had not been good enough to use it so this time I had not paid the supplement. However, the hotel had allocated me a superior room anyway at no extra cost (maybe it was a Kuoni thing) which was marvellous this year as the weather was beautiful. The rooms had been refurbished since my last visit and although mine was small the bed was comfortable (pillow useless though) and there was a also a reasonably comfortable chair, plenty of storage space, good lighting and mirrors. There was a TV , which I didn't use much, which received BBC Prime and BBC World amongst other channels. The bathroom was great with a powerful shower and a full size bath (perfect for a soak after hiking all day). This year there was also bathrobe and slippers provided which were handy for getting down to the pool in. The complimentary minibar contained still and carbonated water, beer, juice and some other carbonated drinks. I definitely enjoyed a cold beer on the balcony after hiking but thought the brand of still water they provided tasted quite weird - I preferred the stuff from the tap. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is a bit of a shame when you want that cup of tea first thing.

Breakfast was a good spread including healthy options (home baked breads and interesting cereals) as well as the usual pastries and cooked items. I would recommmend getting there earlier rather than later if you want a guarantee of croissants though. I was on a half board deal which I would recommend in the summer as there are not many independent restaurants in the village and not a great deal of evening activities. This consisted of a salad bar, a soup, a main course with choice of meat, fish or vegetarian option, then either dessert or cheese board. I found the evening meals to be of a high standard if sometimes overwhelming. If you're drinking wine by the glass I would recommend the Swiss wines on the menu as being most affordable and very pleasant. If you're not holidaying with children I would advise getting to dinner later in the evening, say 8pm, as it's quieter in the dining room. There was a large lounge outside the dining room, with a bar, and this was pleasant for sitting and reading (or whatever takes your fancy) after dinner. There was musical entertainment provided, although to be honest it was a little "bontempi" for my liking. The chap was very happy to do requests, however, and plenty of older guests seemed to enjoy it and were waltzing away on the dance floor.

I used the pool (large enough for laps) and the steam room several times as these did not cost extra. Had the weather not been as glorious as it was I probably would have paid for some treatments. The quietest time to swim for adults seemed to around 6pm as most families had gone up to dinner as early as they could. I usually had the pool to myself. There are also pleasant grounds around the hotel if you want to sit out during the day. The hotel do organise several activites each day (you receive a newsletter each evening when your bed is turned down) although I was happy to hike each day instead. All in all, I found the staff to be extremely helpful, polite and friendly - right down to rescuing my suitcase when the railway station had checked it in under the wrong flight number!

A great experience. I will certainly return for a third trip.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigs_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonnenhalde
Sonnenhalde
#26 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altein
Hotel Altein
#19 of 34 in Arosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#21 of 34 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Address: Seewaldweg, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#7 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#9 Family Hotel in Arosa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family friendly Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa is idyllically located on the edge of the forest, 5 minutes' walk from the village centre.. Recently extensively renovated, the building is stylish and modern. The rooms are tastefully and comfortably decorated with light-coloured wooden furniture. Those on the south side are somewhat larger, and most of them have balconies. In the inviting dining room, with its open-plan kitchen, you can eat in a very stylish setting. After an enjoyable meal, the bar, Davidoff Lounge and spacious lobby with open fire are pleasant places to round off the day. For when you need to relax and unwind, there's also the spa centre, with a large swimming pool, steam bath and sauna. If you feel like some exercise, you can choose between the fitness centre, tennis courts, sports hall, gymnastics hall and bowling alley. With 1800 hours of sunshine a year, Arosa is a dream holiday destination that is always on the sunny side. Its numerous sporting, leisure and cultural opportunities and the magnificent scenery will enhance your relaxing stay in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Park Hotel Arosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing